Croisières aventure - Raja Ampat

Les croisières à Raja Ampat explorent l’un des archipels les plus époustouflants d’Asie du Sud-est. Situé au large de la Péninsule Bird’s Head de Papouasie Occidentale, il comprend les quatre îles principales de Misool, Batanta, Waigeo et Salawati (les « Quatre Rois ») et des milliers d’îles et îlots plus petits recouverts de jungle luxuriante et bordés de falaises et de plages resplendissantes. Cette région ne peut être explorée correctement sans passer du temps au-dessus et sous la surface de l’eau. L’intérieur des îles est gorgé de grottes et de vestiges d’anciennes civilisations, y compris des peintures rupestres et des cimetières submergés, tandis que le royaume sous-marin garantit des rencontres avec des requins, raies-mantas et barracudas.

Meilleures activités à Raja Ampat

Une croisière en voilier à Raja Ampat offre un goût d’à peu près tout ce qui rend cette région unique, des peintures rupestres et îlots de karst de Misool aux oiseaux du paradis de Waigeo, randonnées et cascades de Batanta. Sans oublier la plongée tuba et bouteille fantastique de la région.

L’archipel de Misool inclut l’île de Misool et une douzaine d’îlots de karst. La base de ces petites îles s’est érodée avec le temps et l’eau qui passent, ce qui leur donne l’apparence de champignons géants sortant des eaux turquoise. À la baie Tomolo, les passagers d’une croisière à Raja Ampat peuvent nager dans les grottes cathédrales fascinantes de l’île. Une expérience inoubliable. Jouez à Indiana Jones et naviguez entre les îlots à la recherche de peintures rupestres et cimetières sous-marins.

Les petits bateaux de croisière à Batanta emmènent les visiteurs explorer la jungle luxuriante. Les guides locaux du village côtier d’Arefi mènent les voyageurs à travers les mangroves jusqu’à une série de cascades spectaculaires. Les plus aventureux pourront randonner dans les profondeurs de la jungle et voire des cascades encore plus hautes. Détendez-vous et nagez dans les piscines naturelles entourées de palétuviers aux sons des chants d’oiseaux.

La plus grande île de l’archipel est Waigeo, divisée en deux par l’immense baie Mayalibit. Ici, les visiteurs peuvent explorer les grottes incroyables menés par un guide du village Lopinol. Vous pourrez également randonner dans le village Sapoken et apprécier la faune locale de l’île tout en apprenant les efforts de conservation et communautaires de la région. C’est l’un des meilleurs spots pour voir des oiseaux du paradis.

Les îles Wayag sont idéales pour les visiteurs intrépides cherchant de l’aventure lors de leur croisière de luxe à Raja Ampat. Ces îlots de karst ont été érodés au fil du temps et forment des pics découpés et falaises abritant des criques secrètes. Les eaux turquoise et plages de sable blanc sont un régal pour les yeux, avant d’escalader les flèches rocheuses pour des vues panoramiques sur les environs.

Le snorkeling et le kayak sont des activités populaires dans les îles de Raja Ampat. La région est un hotspot de la biodiversité bien connu, principalement sous les vagues. Les récifs coralliens abritent une immense variété de vie marine, de requins, mérous, raies-mantas, hippocampes, barracudas et napoléons. Les eaux sont tellement transparentes que vous pourrez même observer les requins et les raies de la surface, à bord de votre kayak, du yacht de croisière ou d’une hutte au-dessus de l’eau.

Les visites de village de Raja Ampat offrent un aperçu sur la vie des tribus qui habitent ces îles. Chaque tribu a son lot de traditions culturelles, chansons et danses. Les peuples de Waigeo chantent des chansons rituelles en utilisant un suling tambur, une flûte de bambou traditionnelle. Les techniques de pêche des villageois sont assez intéressantes, et vous pourrez acheter de la nourriture et de l’artisanat locaux.

Conseils de croisière à Raja Ampat

  • Une torche étanche peut être utile pour explorer les grottes de Misool.
  • Si vous en avez un, amenez et utilisez votre appareil photo sous-marin.
  • Les visites de Batanta incluent de la randonnée, donc apportez de bonnes chaussures de marche.
  • Notez que la région connaît des microclimats, ce qui veut dire que même si le soleil brille sur une île, il pourrait pleuvoir sur une autre.
  • La mer peut être plus agitée en juin et en juillet, donc les voyageurs enclins au mal de mer devraient amener des cachets ou éviter cette période de l’année.

Meilleure période de croisière à Raja Ampat

Toute période de l’année est idéale pour visiter les îles de Raja Ampat. La météo et les conditions climatiques de la région sont généralement clémentes toute l’année, mais prévoyez en avance en fonction de la saison sèche et de la saison des pluies typiques de l’Asie du sud-est, et de la saison des vents particulière à Raja Ampat.

Entre octobre et avril, c’est la saison sèche à Raja Ampat, même s’il peut pleuvoir en décembre et en janvier (pluies fortes, mais généralement brèves et localisées) .

Entre mai et octobre, c’est la mousson à Raja Ampat, mais les pluies ne durent généralement que quelques heures, et sont moins puissantes que dans d’autres régions d’Asie du Sud-est.

Juin et juillet est une saison de vents forts à Raja Ampat, et de mer agitée. Ça ne devrait pas affecter les conditions de snorkeling, mais les petits bateaux de croisière pourraient être moins confortables pour les passagers enclins au mal de mer.

Il n’y a pas de meilleure période pour voir la faune sauvage ou pratiquer le snorkeling à Raja Ampat. Il y a quelque chose à voir toute l’année.

Ports de départ des croisières à Raja Ampat

Les croisières de luxe en Indonésie et à Raja Ampat démarrent généralement de Sorong, en Papouasie Occidentale. Les visiteurs atterrissent généralement à Jakarta ou à Bali (les deux aéroports internationaux principaux d’Indonésie) puis prennent un vol de correspondance vers Sorong via Makassar ou Manado sur l’île de Sulawesi. Il vaut mieux atterrir à Makassar ou Manado la veille de votre départ en croisière de Sorong.

La plupart des vols internationaux vers l’Indonésie atterrissent à l’aéroport international Soekarno-Hatta de Jakarta ou Ngurah Rai/Denpasar à Bali. Ces aéroports sont des hubs du transport en Indonésie et en Asie du Sud-est.

Réservez votre croisière aventure à Raja Ampat, en Indonésie sans plus tarder. Contactez notre équipe de réservation.

Raja Ampat Adventure Cruises

Ombak Putih

Ombak Putih

from US$ 326 / day
9.6 "Exceptional"

IndonesiaUS$6,950 from

The Ombak Putih is traditional Indonesian schooner liveaboard. She accommodates 24 guests in 12 en-suite cabins are equipped with AC. Explore Indonesia with many exciting adventure cruises on offer.

    Ombak Putih
    Katharina

    Katharina

    from US$ 373 / day

    IndonesiaUS$2,590 from

    The Katharina is traditional Indonesian Phinisi liveaboard yacht in length accommodating 14 guests with sundeck, spacious lounge & bar, TV & DVD. She offers amazing adventure cruises around Indonesia

      Katharina

      Raja Ampat cruises explore one of the most beautiful archipelagos in all of Southeast Asia. Just off West Papua’s Bird's Head Peninsula, and comprising the main islands of Misool, Batanta, Waigeo and Salawati, known as the Four Kings, Raja Ampat also includes over a thousand smaller islands and islets covered in lush jungle and ringed with towering cliffs and resplendent beaches. The area cannot be properly explored without spending time both above and beneath the water’s surface. The island interiors feature mysterious caves and remnants of ancient civilizations, including cave paintings and submerged cemeteries, while under the waves await encounters with sharks, manta rays and barracudas.

      Top things to do and see in Raja Ampat

      A sailing trip through Raja Ampat offers a taste of everything that makes this region so special, from the cave paintings and karst islets of Misool, to spotting birds of paradise on Waigeo, and hiking to the waterfalls of Batanta. Not to mention, the superb snorkeling and diving in the area.

      The Misool archipelago includes the main island of Misool along with dozens of karst islets. The base of these tiny islands has been eroded by water and time, giving them the appearance of giant stone mushrooms sprouting from the turquoise waters. At Tomolol Bay, visitors on Raja Ampat cruises can swim within the island’s fascinating cathedral-like cave, an unforgettable experience. To play Indiana Jones, drift among the islets in search of prehistoric cave paintings and undersea graveyards.

      Small boat cruises to Batanta take visitors into its lush jungle interior. Local guides from the coastal village of Arefi lead travelers through mangrove forests to a series of spectacular waterfalls. The more adventurous will hike deep into the jungle and see still taller and bigger falls, but all visitors will be given the opportunity to swim and relax in natural pools surrounded by mangrove trees and the sounds of island birds.

      Waigeo, the archipelago’s largest island, is nearly bisected by the massive, fjord-like Mayalibit Bay. Here, visitors explore the island’s awesome caves, led by a guide from Lopinol village. Visitors will also trek to Sapoken village where they will not only enjoy a close look into local life on the island, but may also learn about conservation and community-building efforts in the region. The village of Sapoken is also one of the best spots to see the Red Bird of Paradise and Wilson’s Bird of Paradise.

      The Wayag Islands are for those intrepid visitors in search of a little adventure on their Raja Ampat luxury cruise. These karst islets have been shaped by time into an otherworldly series of rocky cliffs, jagged peaks and secluded coves. Crystal clear waters lap at white sand beaches, while the stone spires can be climbed, offering panoramic views of the surrounding area.

      Snorkeling and kayaking are popular activities among the islands of Raja Ampat. The area is known as a biodiversity hotspot, with much of its wildlife found beneath the waves. The coral reefs here are host to an enormous variety of marine life, from sharks, grouper and manta rays, to seahorses, barracudas and Napoleon wrasse. The waters here are so clear that even those visitors who prefer to stay dry can spot cruising sharks and rays from the comfort of a kayak, their cruise ship or an overwater hut.

      Village visits in Raja Ampat offer insight into the lives of the various tribes inhabiting the islands. Each tribe has its own set of cultural traditions, often expressed through song and dance. The people of West Waigeo, for example, perform ceremonial songs using the suling tambur, a traditional bamboo flute. Visitors may also witness the villagers’ unique Papuan fishing techniques and will have the chance to purchase local handicrafts and foods.

      Top Tips for visiting Raja Ampat

      • A waterproof flashlight can be useful for exploring the caves of Misool.
      • If you have one, prepare to put your underwater camera to work,
      • Visits to Batanata include a fair amount of trekking, so wear good walking shoes.
      • Note that the region has microclimates, meaning that, even as the sun shines on one island, a nearby isle could be experiencing showers. Be prepared for the occasional shower, regardless of the time of year.
      • Waters can be rougher in June and July, so travelers susceptible to seasickness will want to pack extra medication or avoid visiting during this time of year.

      Best time to cruise Raja Ampat

      Anytime is the best time to visit the islands of Raja Ampat. Weather and water conditions in the area are generally good year round. However, visitors should always plan ahead, given that, in addition to the usual wet and dry seasons of Southeast Asia, Raja Ampat also has a windy season.

      Raja Ampat in October to April is the dry season, though there can be some heavy rains in December and January. That said, these rains are usually brief and localized.

      May to October in Raja Ampat bring the wet season, but again, the rains usually do not last more than a few hours and are less dramatic than in other parts of Southeast Asia.

      June and July in Raja Ampat is unofficially known as the windy season, when waters may be rougher. This should not affect snorkeling conditions but may mean that small boat cruises will be moderately less comfortable, especially for travelers prone to seasickness.

      There is no best time to see wildlife or enjoy the snorkeling in Raja Ampat. There is something to see all year round

      Where do Raja Ampat cruises depart from?

      Indonesian luxury cruises to Raja Ampat typically depart from Sorong, on West Papua. International visitors will usually fly into Jakarta or Bali (the sites of Indonesia’s two main international airports) then connect with domestic flights to Sorong possibly through Makassar or Manado, on Sulawesi Island. It is recommended that visitors fly to Makassar or Manado the day before their Raja Ampat departure from Sorong.

      Most international flights to Indonesia fly into Jakarta’s Soekarno-Hatta International Airport, or Bali’s Ngurah Rai International Airport, also known as Denpasar International Airport. Both these airports operate as hubs within Indonesia and Southeast Asia.

      Book your next adventure cruise to Raja Ampat, Indonesia today. Contact our reservations team.

      Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

      Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook