Croisières aventure - Passage Intérieur

Une croisière sur l’Inside Passage (ou Passage intérieur) emmènent les passagers le long des côtes. L’Inside Passage s’étend au-delà de l’Alaska, jusqu’en Colombie Britannique au Canada. En Alaska, il s’étend sur 800 kilomètres du nord au sud et mesure 160 kilomètres d’est en ouest. L’Inside Passage est une succession de paysages somptueux : montagnes immenses, glaciers gigantesques, fjords, îles isolées, forêts luxuriantes, plages tranquilles... Il y a toujours quelque chose devant quoi s’émerveiller lors d’une croisière sur l’Inside Passage. Que vous soyez amateurs de nature, d’aventures, ou que vous aimiez découvrir de nouvelles cultures, l’Inside Passage fait partie des plus belles croisières en Alaska.

Que faire et que voir à bord d’une croisière sur l’Inside Passage

On peut vivre tellement d’expériences différentes sur une croisière sur l’Inside Passage : observer la faune, améliorer ses compétences en photo, admirer le paysage, rencontrer les communautés locales, et toute une myriade d’autres activités en plein air. Voici quelques-unes des plus belles activités qu’il est possible de faire sur une croisière en Alaska et au Canada sur l’Inside Passage :

Le Parc National de Glacier BayClassé au patrimoine mondial de l’Humanité, le Parc National de Glacier Bay est l’un des joyaux de l’Alaska, qui s’étend sur 105 kilomètres. Les glaciers John Hopkins, Marjerie et McBridge sont les plus connus. Les petits bateaux de croisière de l’Inside Passage vous permettent d’observer de nombreuses espèces sauvages. Au programme : phoques, lions de mer, loutres, élans, ours, cerfs, mais aussi des espèces plus petites comme les oiseaux. Vous pourrez également faire du kayak et de la randonnée.

Tracy Arm et Endicott Arm sont deux fjords situés dans le Fords Terror Wilderness. Ne manquez pas le glacier Sawyer où il est fréquent d’observer de gros blocs de glace se détacher du glacier pour s’écraser dans l’eau. Des forêts et quelques cascades décorent ce paysage montagneux et rocailleux. Au cours de votre croisière, vous aurez peut-être la chance d’observer des baleines, des phoques, des ours, des cerfs et des loups. Gardez l’œil bien ouvert, vous pourriez trouver des chèvres de montagne, assez rares à cette altitude.

Frederick Sound est un passage qui sépare l’île de l’Amirauté de l’île Kupreanof. C’est l’endroit idéal pour admirer les baleines en été, avec, en toile de fond, l’île de Five Fingers trônant devant un paysage de glace.

Les Misty Fjords. Votre croisière dans l’Inside Passage vous permettra d’admirer ces gigantesques falaises de glace et le monument national des Misty Fjords. Sur un bateau de croisière plus petit, vous pourrez vous rapprocher des nombreuses cascades et sentir toute la puissance de l’eau. Vous apercevrez également l’impressionnant roc d’Eddystone.

Le passage Stephens. Dans la partie sud-est de l’Alaska, le passage Stephens est connu pour ses paysages et sa faune sauvage magnifiques : baleines, lions de mer, goélands et guillemots apportent leurs lots de chants et d’odeurs uniques. Les eaux profondes se mélangent aux montagnes, aux prairies et aux forêts pour créer un paysage enchanteresque.

Une grande palette d’activités. Sauter à bord d’un skiff (petit bateau à une place) ou d’un kayak et ressentez cette liberté sur les eaux d’Alaska au milieu de paysages magnifiques. Participez à une randonnée guidée pour en apprendre davantage sur cet environnement unique, sur son évolution, mais aussi sur les communautés et la faune locales. Découvrez les traditions et les coutumes de ces communautés, comme les Tlingit et les Haida.

Rencontre avec la vie sauvage. Une croisière dans les Inner Passages (passages intérieurs) permettent de rencontrer beaucoup d’espèces sauvages qui vivent sur ou à proximité de l’eau. L’écosystème des eaux glaciaires est très riche, tout comme la faune terrestre. Il n’est pas rare d’observer des ours, des loups, des cerfs, mais aussi des plus petites créatures comme des belettes ou des hermines.

Nos conseils pour votre croisière sur l’Inside Passage

  • N’oubliez pas votre appareil photo pour ramener de magnifiques images de Glacier Bay et des glaciers de Marjerie et de John Hopkins en particulier.
  • Prenez aussi votre caméra vidéo pour filmer la chute de blocs de glace du glacier Sawyer ainsi que les baleines à Frederick Sound.
  • Il est conseillé d’apporter une paire de jumelles pour pouvoir observer la faune sauvage de loin.
  • De bonnes chaussures de marche sont nécessaires pour participer aux randonnées.
  • Pour faire face au climat rigoureux, habillez-vous avec plusieurs couches et prévoyez des vêtements de pluie pour votre croisière. Pensez également au petit sac étanche qui peut être fort utile pour vos excursions sur terre. Cela permettra de garder votre appareil photo, votre argent et autres accessoires au sec et en sécurité.

La meilleure période pour une croisière sur l’Inside Passage

Prévoyez et réservez votre croisière sur l’Inside Passage en fonction de ce que vous souhaitez voir et faire. La meilleure période pour naviguer sur l’Inside Passage d’Alaska et celui du Canada va du printemps à la fin de l’été. Les températures sont clémentes et en été, les jours peuvent être ensoleillés. Gardez tout de même à l’esprit que même si les mois pluvieux sont généralement octobre et novembre, la région est connue pour ses averses tout au long de l’année.

Au printemps, vous pouvez observer la nature se réveiller et les animaux migrateurs de retour après l’hiver. L’été est la saison des amours et des naissances pour plusieurs espèces endémiques, comme les phoques et certaines espèces d’oiseaux. Pour partir en randonnée aux abords des Inner Passages, partez à partir du milieu de l’été, lorsque le sol n’est plus gelé.

D’où les croisières pour l’Inside Passage partent-elles ?

Les croisières aventures en Alaska qui se rendent dans l’Inner Passage partent généralement des ports de Sitka, Juneau ou Ketchikan. Chacune de ces villes possèdent un aéroport international (Sitka Rocky Gutirrez Airport (SIT), Juneau International Airport (JNU), et Ketchikan International Airport (KTN)) . Il existe plusieurs vols directs entre l’Alaska et le continent américain mais avec une connexion en plus, il est très facile de rejoindre le départ de sa croisière depuis presque partout aux Etats-Unis. Sinon, vous pouvez monter à bord d’une croisière qui part de Seattle, cela vous évitera de devoir vous rendre en Alaska avant le départ de votre croisière. La plupart des vols des Etats-Unis (continentaux) vers l’Alaska arrivent à Juneau, Anchorage et Fairbanks. Il est rapide de prendre un vol de connexion depuis Anchorage et Fairbanks.

Réservez votre prochaine croisière d’aventures en Alaska maintenant et partez découvrir l’Inside Passage. Contactez notre équipe de réservation.

LiveAboard

Inside Passage Cruises

Our guests rated adventure cruises in Inside Passage as 8.7

  • 100% Best Price Guarantee
Inside Passage Cruises

Adventure Cruises in Inside Passage

An Inside Passage Cruise carries passengers along various stretches of the long coastal route. Reaching beyond the USA’s state of Alaska along the coast of Canada’s British Colombia, Alaska’s section of the Inside Passage runs for around 800 kilometres (500 miles) north to south and can span 160 kilometres (100 miles) across. Awash with spectacular scenery that encompasses towering mountains, gleaming glaciers, deep fjords, remote islands, lush forests, and tranquil beaches, there’s never a dull moment when you cruise the Inside Passage. A haven for wildlife fans, adventure junkies, and people who love to learn more about different cultures, Inside Passage cruises really are amongst the top adventure cruises in Alaska.


Top things to do & see on an Inside Passage cruise

From observing plentiful wildlife, bird watching, and trying an array of active activities and outdoor pursuits to honing your photography skills, sightseeing, admiring the dramatic landscapes, and meeting members of local communities, there is so much to experience on an Inside Passage cruise. Some top things to do when cruising Alaska’s and Canada’s Inside Passages include:

Glacier Bay National Park - A UNESCO World Heritage Site, Glacier Bay National Park is one of Alaska’s real gems. Stretching for 105 kilometers (65 miles), the many beautiful glaciers are a wondrous sight. The John Hopkins, Marjerie, and McBridge Glaciers are especially popular. Small ship cruises of the Inside Passage let you observe a range of wildlife from close quarters, including whales, seals, sea lions, otters, moose, bears, wolves, deer, and a host of smaller land-living creatures and birds. Kayaking and hiking are among the activities you can enjoy.

Tracy Arm and Endicott Arm - Two long and scenic fjords in the Fords Terror Wilderness; a highlight of the area is seeing the Sawyer Glaciers, glaciers that frequently calve, sending large icy blocks crashing into the waters below. The rocky and mountainous landscapes are punctuated by verdant patches of forest and cascading waterfalls. Wildlife you may spot while on your cruise includes whales, harbor seals, bears, deer, and wolves. Keep your eyes peeled for mountain goats, a rather unusual sight at such lower elevations, and watch birds bobbing on the waters and soaring overhead as you kayak through the clear waters.

Frederick Sound - The scenic Frederick Surround separates Admiralty Island and Kupreanof Island. A great place for summer whale watching, the Five Fingers Island Light can present an attractive sight in front of the icy landscapes behind it.

Misty Fjords - A sublime wilderness area and a national monument, be awed by the gigantic glacial cliffs as your Inside Passage Cruise makes its way through Misty Fjords. A smaller cruise ship might pass close enough to the many waterfalls for you to feel the spray from the powerful water. You can see the volcanic Eddystone Rock and listen to the calls of seabirds that musically fill the air.

Stephens Passage - In southeastern Alaska, Stephens Passage is known for its marvelous sights, sounds, and smells, with the resident whales, sea lions, gulls, and guillemots breathing life into the majestic surroundings. Deep waters and soaring mountains blend to create a visual dream, with rolling meadows and lush forests further adding to the appeal.

A range of Activities - Climb into a skiff (small one-person rowing boat) or kayak to feel completely free on the waters, soaking up the air of tranquility as you lose yourself in the many magical sights. Unleash your imagination as you explore. Join a guided hike to learn more about the magnificent landscapes and how they were formed over the years and discover more about the cultural groups and animals that occupy the remote areas. Discover the traditions and customs of different groups, including the Tlingit and the Haida, see intricate totem poles, visit cultural centers and much more.

Wildlife Encounters - A cruise of the Inner Passages offers wildlife encounters galore. Whether you’re an avid bird water or more interested in the creatures big and small that live in a watery home, there is no shortage of chances to be wowed. The icy waters are ecologically diverse, from enormous hales to small fish and everything in between. Myriad animals roam dry land, from bears, wolves, and deer to smaller creatures like weasels, ermine, and rodents.

Top Tips for Visiting Inside Passage

  • Don’t forget to take your camera for some spectacular shots of Glacier Bays’ gems, particularly the Marjerie Glacier and the John Hopkins Glacier.
  • Take a video camera to film the frequent calving of the Sawyers Glaciers and the whale activity at Frederick Sound.
  • Binoculars are advised for spotting wildlife from a distance.
  • Sturdy walking boots or shoes are required if you want to join hiking excursions.
  • Due to the typical climate and weather, dress in layers to combat the cold, and take wet weather clothes on your cruise. You might also want to invest in a waterproof bag for shore trips; keep your camera, money, and other essentials safe and dry.

Best time to cruise Inside Passage

Plan ahead and book your cruise of the Inside Passage for the relevant months that best fit the things you are most interested in seeing and doing. The best time to visit both Alaska’s Inside Passage and Canada’s Inside Passage is from spring to the end of summer. The temperatures are pleasant, especially in the summer; the days can be sunny and bright. Do be aware though that, although the rainiest months are generally October and November, the area is known for lots of rainfall all throughout the year.

You can watch migrating animals returning in the springtime and wildflowers bursting into bloom in the forests. Summer is several local species' main mating and birthing season; watch as seal pups drift on large blocks of ice and birds teach their offspring to fly and swim. There are also increased chances of seeing whales in the summer. The best time for hiking in the Inner Passages is from mid-summer onwards when the terrain has thawed.

Where do Inside Passage cruises depart from?

Alaska adventure cruises of the Inside Passages typically depart from Alaska’s Sitka, Juneau, or Ketchikan. Each is served by an international airport, with direct flights available to and from a range of Alaskan airports. Several direct flights connect Alaska with the mainland US. Still, if you add a connection, reaching the cruise departure points from almost anywhere in the USA is incredibly easy. Alternatively, you can also take an Alaska cruise from Seattle, removing the need to get to Alaska before your cruise adventure begins.

The closest international airports for an Inside Passage cruise are Sitka Rocky Gutirrez Airport (SIT), Juneau International Airport (JNU), and Ketchikan International Airport (KTN). Most flights to Alaska from the US mainland arrive in Juneau, Anchorage, and Fairbanks; connecting flights are readily available from both Anchorage and Fairbanks.


Inside Passage Reviews

  • Rating 8.7 out of 10
  • 8.7 Fabulous
  • Rating 7.6 out of 10
  • 7.6 Good
  • Edward M
  • Flag of United StatesUnited States

Whale watching during passage was really fun. Many pods to view and captain did a great jump keeping them in fairly close view for our enjoyment. Wilderness Bay/Kake hike to rainbow falls and totem viewing was nice.

Cruising Inside Passage in September on the Alaskan Dream
  • Rating 9.2 out of 10
  • 9.2 Superb
  • William G
  • Flag of United StatesUnited States

Overall, I took more than 800 photos and videos, many from the deck of the Alaska Dream. The waters, the whales and otters, the extraordinary mountains draped in snow, ice, and clouds, and the sunrises and sunsets were perfect. Many great art subjects. We loved the opportunities to hike the beaches and interiors.

Cruising Inside Passage in August on the Alaskan Dream
  • Rating 9.2 out of 10
  • 9.2 Superb
  • Janet L
  • Flag of United StatesUnited States

Beautiful - whale watching in particular

Cruising Inside Passage in August on the Alaskan Dream
  • Rating 8.4 out of 10
  • 8.4 Very good
  • Joanne H
  • Flag of United StatesUnited States

Some kayaking on glassy waters.

Cruising Inside Passage in July on the Alaskan Dream

See all Cruise Ships from $2,996 to $12,710 per trip

We’re here to help, 24/7.

Connect with our expert travel consultants to plan your next trip.

  • Mylene Issartial
  • Ester Canali
  • Andrea Martinez
  • Oksana Kovaleva
  • Laura Babahekian
  • Nicole Laughlin
  • Josue Zarco