Croisières plongée - Îles Brothers

Plonger en croisières aux îles Brothers, en Egypte

La seule manière de visiter ces récifs éloignés et reculés est à bord d’un safari plongée aux îles Brothers. Les deux îles de Big Brother et de Little Brother (appelées localement El Akhawein) sont éloignées d’environ un kilomètre et situées à 67 kilomètres de la côte d’El Quseir. Pour ceux qui connaissent bien Charm el-Cheikh, la région se situe à environ 200 kilomètres au sud du parc national de Ras Mohammed.

Ces deux îles sont minuscules vues de la surface. Little Brother est une île plate de quelques rochers en forme de larme. Big Brother est bien plus évidente grâce à son phare de 30 mètres installé par les britanniques à la fin du 19ème siècle pour avertir de la présence du récif affleurant. Le phare n’a pas suffi à sauver le Numidia et l’Aida, deux épaves qui se sont échouées sur ce récif, dont l’une directement sous le phare!

Sous l’eau, les îles Brothers sont bien plus impressionnantes. Elles offrent des tombants qui descendent presque immédiatement du bord de l’île, et les secs des deux îles sont recouverts de corail dur et mou. Ces récifs abritent d’énormes napoléons et barracudas, et une abondance de poissons tropicaux. Vous pourriez avoir la chance de rencontrer des requins gris de récif, requins longimanes, et même des requins-marteaux. De nombreux itinéraires de croisière en Mer Rouge incluent des plongées aux îles Brothers.

Horaire type d’une journée de plongée

Matinée – Une plongée à l’aube a habituellement lieu avant le petit-déjeuner, vers 6 heures du matin. Il est vivement recommandé de plonger au Nitrox car vous ferez quatre ou cinq plongées sur la journée.

La mise à l’eau et le retour en surface des plongeurs se fait à partir de petits hors-bords qui circulent entre le bateau et le site de plongée. La surface peut être agitée, et une entrée en flottabilité négative est recommandée si possible. Après le retour au bateau, vous pourrez savourer un bon petit-déjeuner et vous remettre à l’eau une deuxième fois avant le déjeuner.

Après-midi – Après le déjeuner, deux plongées sont prévues sur les portions les moins profondes du récif. Malheureusement, la plongée de nuit n’est pas permise sur les îles Brothers, qui sont situées dans une réserve marine, pour des raisons de conservation, mais également de sécurité. Sur place, les courants peuvent être forts et les conditions de surface agitées, ce qui ne convient pas vraiment à la plongée de nuit.

Faune et flore sous-marines des Brothers

Les îles Brothers sont réputées comme l’un des meilleurs sites de plongée en Mer Rouge. Les tombants de Little Brother sont un régal pour les yeux: gorgones, coraux durs et mous fantastiquement colorés.

Au nord se trouve l’exception à la topographie de tombant. Un plateau se trouve à 40 mètres, juste à la limite de profondeur de plongée loisir. C’est le meilleur endroit pour observer des requins gris de récif, des requins pointe blanche et même des requins-marteaux en pleine eau.

Big Brother se trouve à environ 1 kilomètre de Little Brother, et est l’endroit idéal pour voir des requins longimanes ou des grands requins-marteaux, ainsi que des requins de récif plus communs.

En plus des gros poissons, Big Brother abrite deux épaves au nord, juste sous le phare. Les bateaux gisent poupe à poupe sur la pente du tombant de l’île. Le Numidia est le plus grand des deux; le mât commence à 8 mètres de profondeur, la coque à environ 20 mètres, et la poupe se situe à environ 80 mètres de profondeur, ce qui donne une occasion aux plongeurs Tek d’explorer une section inaccessible à la plupart des visiteurs.

L’Aida est plus petite mais est également accessible aux plongeurs loisir et Tek puisqu’elle commence à faible profondeur et descend jusqu’à 60 mètres. Ces deux épaves sont couvertes de coraux et pleines de poissons. Ces sites sont fantastiques, mais attention au courant, qui peut être sévère.

Conseils aux plongeurs

  • Les courants peuvent être très forts et en raison des profondeurs importantes de tous côtés, un palier de sécurité à faible profondeur et à l’abri du récif est conseillé.
  • C’est une bonne idée de paramétrer une alarme de profondeur sur votre ordinateur pour ne pas vous faire leurrer par les tombants et la visibilité dépassant les 30 mètres.
  • Une protection thermique adaptée aux conditions est conseillée; les courants peuvent créer des thermoclines importantes.

Comment se rendre aux îles Brothers

Une croisière aux Brothers est nécessaire pour pouvoir atteindre ces îles reculées. Les itinéraires de croisière en Egypte visitant les îles Brothers démarrent d’Hurghada ou de Marsa Alam ou d’une combinaison des deux pour optimiser le temps passé sous l’eau et minimiser le temps de navigation. Les bateaux démarrant de Marsa Alam offrent des circuits visitant les récifs de Daedalus et d’Elphinstone. Les itinéraires d’Hurghada à Marsa Alam visitent souvent les épaves du nord avant de se rendre aux Brothers.

Hurghada et Marsa Alam disposent d’un aéroport proche du port de départ et desservi par des vols internationaux en provenance d’Europe et de plus loin (avec escale). Notez que le transfert entre ces deux villes prend environ 4 heures et peut impliquer des frais supplémentaires.


Îles Brothers Avis sur les plongées

  • 9,2 Superbe
  • 44 Commentaires Vérifiés

The Brothers Liveaboard Diving

Red Sea Aggressor

from US$ 197 / day
9.2 "Superb"

EgyptUS$2,099 from

The M/V Red Sea Aggressor is a 36.5m world class liveaboard yacht scheduling year round seven and ten day Egyptian diving cruises. Aboard Red Sea Aggressor, divers will swim among hammerheads, dolphins and abundant reef fish.

    Red Sea Aggressor

    Emperor Elite

    from US$ 79 / day
    9.0 "Superb"

    EgyptUS$850 from

    • Free Nitrox
    • Free WiFi

    The custom built 38m Emperor Elite offers year-round diving to Egypt’s best dive sites. All 12 deluxe cabins feature individual climate control and en-suite facilities, delivering the best experience.

      Emperor Elite

      Emperor Asmaa

      from US$ 92 / day
      8.6 "Fabulous"

      EgyptUS$797 from

      • Free Nitrox
      • Free WiFi

      Dive the crystal waters of the Red Sea while aboard the 30m custom built MY Emperor Asmaa. This luxury liveaboard accommodates up to 20 guests and was completely refurbished in January 2015.

      Emperor Asmaa

      What to Expect on a Liveaboard to The Brothers

      Liveaboards to The Brothers are the only way to visit these reefs due to it's remote location. The two islands, Big Brother and Little Brother or El Akhawein as they are known locally, lie less than a mile apart around 67 km/ 40 miles from the coast at Al-Qusayr. For those more familiar with Sharm el Sheikh area, that is around 200 km/ 125 miles South of the Ras Mohammed National Park.

      Both islands are tiny when viewed above water, the tear shaped little brother has nothing but a few rocks on its flat surface. Big Brother is made much more obvious only by the 30-meter-high lighthouse that was put there by the British in the late 19th Century as a warning as to what lay beneath. Although the lighthouse was not enough to save the two ships the Numidia and Aida which lie wrecked, one directly beneath the lighthouse!

      Underwater the Brothers are much larger, little brother has a few meters of shallows and then a huge drop-off into the blue. Big Brother drops straight down from the side of the island, the walls on both islands are covered in soft and hard coral. These reefs are home to huge napoleon wrasse and barracuda as well as hordes of reef fish. There is also a chance to see sharks with oceanic whitetips, grey reef sharks and even hammerheads hanging around. Numerous Red Sea dive liveaboards will offer a visit to The Brothers in their itineraries.

      Daily Schedule (example)

      Morning - A dawn dive will normally be offered before breakfast with a light snack and a briefing around 6 am before heading to the dive deck to prepare. These dives are definitely best on Nitrox especially since there will be four or more dives a day

      The divers will be dropped and picked up on the dive site by small tender boats with a small surface or underwater swim each way. The conditions can be quite rough on the surface so a negative entry is best if possible. After returning to the boat for a proper breakfast and a rest there will be a second dive before lunch.

      Afternoon - After lunch in the afternoon there will be two more dives, likely to the shallower areas of the reef. Unfortunately, there will not be night dives at The Brothers as it is not allowed inside the marine park area not only for conservation but also safety reasons. The currents and surface conditions at The Brothers can be quite rough so it isn’t really the best for night diving.

      The Brothers Underwater

      The Brothers have long been known to be among the best dive sites in the Red Sea. The tear shaped Little Brother is a wall dive with sheer drops on all sides. It is a feast for the eyes with Gorgonias and fantastic colourful hard and soft corals all around.

      To the North there is one exception to the underwater wall topography. A plateau sits right at the edge of recreational dive limits, 40 meters/130 ft. down. This is the place to see sharks. Grey reef sharks, silvertips and even the occasional hammerhead can be seen coming out from the blue.

      Big Brother is only 1km away from Little Brother is one of the best places to see oceanic whitetips and great hammerheads as well as the more common reef sharks.

      In addition to the big fish, Big Brother has two shipwrecks sitting to the North ironically just beneath the lighthouse. Lying stem to stern on the sloping walls of the island Numidia is the larger of the two. The wreck starts at 8 meters/26 ft. with the stem of the boat but the main body of the ship starts around 20 meters/65 ft. The Stern is around 80 meters/260 ft. giving technical divers the opportunity to explore an area not accessible to most other visitors.

      The smaller Aida also provides a dive for recreational and technical divers starting shallow and reaching 60 meters/196 ft. Both wrecks are covered in corals and fish and make fantastic dives although divers should be aware that the currents on both wrecks can be severe.

      Top Tips for the Brothers

      • The currents here are very strong and with very deep waters on every side a safety stop on the slightly sheltered shallow reef is a wise move.
      • A depth alarm on your computer is a good idea given the tremendous drop-offs and 30 meter plus visibility.
      • Plentiful thermal protection is a good idea since the currents here make for some serious thermoclines.

      Getting to The Brothers

      Only accessible by diving from a liveaboard the Brothers are an overnight sail from land. Egyptian liveaboards depart from either Hurghada or Marsa Alam, some depart from one and disembark at the other, the advantage being less time spent sailing back so more time diving. Those departing Marsa Alam are typically part of an itinerary that also takes in Daedalus and Elphinstone reefs. Hurghada to Marsa Alam itineraries on the other hand often visit the Northern wrecks before heading down to The Brothers.

      Both Hurghada and Marsa Alam have their own airports close to the departure ports offering international flights from mainland Europe and connections further afield. It is worth noting that transfer between the two resorts is around 4 hours and can involve an extra charge.

      The Brothers Diving Reviews

      9.1
      Superb (out of 10) 10
      Average score from 16 Verified Review(s) Only people who have booked through Liveaboard.com and joined the Liveaboard can write a review.
      Saudi Arabia
      6.4
      Review score

      Awesome

      Diving The Brothers in November on the Emperor Asmaa
      Canada
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Amazing dive site...many sharks!! Two nice wrecks...Aida and Humidia!

      Diving The Brothers in October on the MY Seawolf Dominator
      Netherlands
      9.6
      Exceptional

      clear water, lots of wildlife. Not many boats around.

      Diving The Brothers in September on the Sea Serpent
      Brazil
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Perfect, thresher shark and hammerhead at the same day!

      Diving The Brothers in August on the Blue Melody
      Switzerland
      7.6
      Good

      Nice dives, and not too many boats

      Diving The Brothers in August on the Sea Serpent
      United States
      9.2
      Superb

      Best corals found here I think maybe because of visibility. Oceanic white tip

      Diving The Brothers in July on the Red Sea Aggressor
      Greece
      9.6
      Exceptional

      excellent

      Diving The Brothers in July on the Sea Serpent
      Canada
      9.2
      Superb

      Amazing

      Diving The Brothers in July on the Red Sea Aggressor
      Italy
      10.0
      Exceptional

      very interesting

      Diving The Brothers in July on the Emperor Superior
      Netherlands
      8.0
      Very good

      Brothers was definitely my favorite diving spot! Great reefs and mixture between corals and big fish.

      Diving The Brothers in July on the Red Sea Aggressor
      United States
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Two words: whale. shark.

      Diving The Brothers in June on the Blue Seas Liveaboard
      Netherlands
      9.2
      Superb

      Complete!! Sharks, current and we could dive the Numidia while there was no current.

      Diving The Brothers in June on the Blue Pearl Liveaboard
      India
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Excellent . Best of all

      Diving The Brothers in June on the Red Sea Aggressor
      France
      9.2
      Superb

      Amazing, little brother is beautiful, and we saw a few hammerheads, thresher shark.

      Diving The Brothers in May on the Red Sea Aggressor
      Norway
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Good

      Diving The Brothers in April on the Emperor Superior
      United Kingdom
      9.2
      Superb

      We missed Brothers because of weather.

      Diving The Brothers in March on the Emperor Superior
      Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

      Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook