Elphinstone Tauchsafaris

Red Sea Aggressor

von US$ 197 / Tag
9,2 "Hervorragend"

ÄgyptenUS$2,099 von

Das Rote Meer Aggressor bietet das ganze Jahr \u00fcber Tauchen zu den fantastischen Sehensw\u00fcrdigkeiten des Roten Meeres. Ein kostenloser Bier und Wein mit Ihrem Abendessen und ...

    Red Sea Aggressor

    Emperor Elite

    von US$ 100 / Tag
    9,0 "Hervorragend"

    ÄgyptenUS$645 von

    • Kostenloses Nitrox
    • kostenloses WLAN

    Die 38m lange Emperor Elite fährt die besten Tauchplätze in Ägypten an. Alle 12 Luxuskabinen haben eine individuelle Klimaanlage und Bad um ein einzigartiges Erlebnis zu garantieren.

      Emperor Elite

      Emperor Asmaa

      von US$ 94 / Tag
      8,6 "Klasse"

      ÄgyptenUS$752 von

      • Kostenloses Nitrox
      • kostenloses WLAN

      Tauchen Sie in das kristallklare Wasser des Roten Meeres von Bord der 30m langen MY Emperor Asmaa ein. Dieses Luxus-Safariboot kann 20 Gäste beherbergen und wurde 2015 komplett neu renoviert.

      Emperor Asmaa

      WAS SIE VON EINER TAUCHSAFARI AM ELPHINSTONE REEF ERWARTEN KÖNNEN

      Viele Taucher träumen von einer Tauchsafari zum legendären Elphinstone Reef. Das Riff liegt ungefähr 30km nördlich von Marsa Alam, und wurde nach dem britischen Admiral John Elphinstone benannt, welcher zu Zeiten Napoleons, einige Zeit in dieser Gegend verbrachte. Es liegt ganz nahe unter der Wasseroberfläche, und nur ein paar Wellen deuten darauf hin, dass sich hier ein Riff befindet. Elphinstone ist nicht länger als 300 Meter. Seine spektakulären Steilwände fallen weit unter 100 Meter auf beiden Seiten des Riffs ab. Starke Strömungen machen es zu einem perfekten Strömungstauchgang entlang von steilen Wänden mit vielen Arten von Fischen und Weichkorallen.

      Elphinstone ist für Tauchsafaris im Roten Meer, einer der beliebtesten Tauchplätze. Tagsüber sind hier meistens viele Tauchboote, allerdings auch nicht zu viele da der Tauchplatz wirklich nur für erfahrene Taucher ist. Wenn man Elphinstone mittels einer Tauchsafari bereist, kommt man in den Genuss als einer der Ersten ins Wasser zu springen, noch bevor die Tagesurlauber den Ort erreichen.

      Am Elphinstone Reef hat man fast immer kristallklares Wasser, Korallen und Gorgonien nur ein paar Meter unter der Wasseroberfläche und natürlich eine Unmenge an tropischen Fischen. Elphinstone ist bekannt für seine Großfische. An beiden Enden des Riffes befindet sich ein Plateau, das, während der Wintermonate, nicht selten von Weißspitzen-Hochseehaien und Hammerhaien besucht wird. Mantas und majestätische Tigerhaie sieht man eher in den Sommermonaten. Aber Elphinstone hat, egal zu welcher Jahreszeit, immer etwas zu bieten.

      Tagesablauf (Beispiel)

      Vormittag - um das Beste aus Elphinstone rauszuholen, lohnt es sich den ersten Tauchgang schon um 6 Uhr morgens zu beginnen. Das Briefing findet noch vor dem Frühstück statt, aber es ist immer genug Zeit für eine Tasse Kaffee und einen kleinen Snack, während man dem Tauch-Briefing zuhört. Die erfahrenen Skipper setzen die Taucher am richtigen Ende des Riffs ab, um mit der Strömung am Riff entlang zu treiben.

      Nachmittag - nach dem Mittagessen werden normalerweise noch zwei weitere, seichtere Tauchgänge gemacht. Tauchprofile sollten gut geplant sein, da manchmal bis zu fünf Tauchgänge am Tag statt finden. Der fünfte Tauchgang ist normalerweise der Nachttauchgang. Elphinstone ist einer der wenigen hot-spots in Ägypten, an denen Nachttauchen erlaubt ist. Tauchsafaris können auch Tauchgänge bei Sonnenuntergang anbieten. Diese Tauchgänge sind mit Sicherheit nicht für jeden, es ist wichtig, dass sich Taucher mit der Tiefe und den Strömungen wohl fühlen.

      ELPHINSTONE UNTER WASSER

      Das Riff ist lang und dünn, hat am Nord- und Südende jeweils ein Plateau, steil abfallende Wände auf der Ostseite, und weniger steile, aber dafür etwas sandigere Wände an der Westseite. Jede Ecke hat etwas anderes zu bieten. Das Nordplateau fällt Stufenweise ab, die erste Stufe ist in 5m, dann 20m bis runter zu 40m. Hier hat man eine sehr gute Chance kleinere Riffhaie und Riesenmakrelen zu finden.

      Das Südplateau beginnt auf 25m, fällt sanft auf 40m ab und verschwindet ab 45m in der Tiefe. Hier ist die berühmte Stelle von Elphinstone, um Weißspitzen-Hochseehaien zu begegnen, die mit ihren Pilotfischen vorbeiziehen. Diese imposanten Haie sind recht neugierig und kommen relativ nahe an Taucher heran. Für Fotografen ist das eine einzigartige Gelegenheit, atemberaubende Fotos zu schießen. In 60m Tiefe gibt es einen Bogen, den berühmten 'Elphinstone Arch', der die West- und Ostseite verbindet. Dieser Tauchgang ist nur für Technische Taucher, mit der richtigen Ausbildung und Ausrüstung möglich. Einer Sage nach enthält ein von Korallen geformter Sarkophag die Überreste eines ägyptische Pharaos!

      Die beiden Steilwände an der West- und Ostseite beginnen in 1m Tiefe und fallen tief in den Abgrund hinab. Es gibt hunderte von kleinen Kanten und Vorsprüngen, die von allen möglichen Kreaturen bewohnt sind. Wunderschöne Korallen, Drückerfische, Napoleon und große Barrakuda sind nur einige der Bewohner hier. Mit seinen vier speziellen Seiten, hat Elphinstone einfach alles zu bieten. Mit etwas Glück kann man hier auch Hammerhaien und Walhaien begegnen.

      TOP TIPPS FÜR DAS ELPHINSTONE REEF

      • Strömungen verlaufen hier normalerweise von Nord nach Süd aber das ist natürlich keine Garantie, und sie können circa 2 Knoten stark sein.
      • Da dieser Tauchplatz sehr beliebt ist, kann es etwas später am Tag belebter werden. Der Vorteil einer Tauchsafari besteht darin, dass man vor allen anderen Tauchern und Booten, im Wasser ist.
      • Stellen Sie eine Tiefengrenze auf ihrem Tauchcomputer ein. Niemand weis genau bis zu welcher Tiefe die Steilwände am Elphinstone Riff abfallen und durch das klare Wasser ist es sehr leicht, seine Tiefengrenze zu überschreiten.

      ANREISE

      Ägyptische Tauchsafaris die Elphinstone auf ihrer Reiseroute haben, starten meistens von Port Ghalib, in der Nähe von Marsa Alam, oder Hurghada. Beide diese Urlaubsorte haben internationale Flughäfen, mit Direktflügen von bedeutenden Städten Europas aus sowie Inlandsverbindungen nach und von Kairo. Der Transport zwischen Hurghada und Port Ghalib dauert vier Stunden und ist nicht im Preis mit inbegriffen.

      Reiserouten unterscheiden sich je nach Abfahrtshafen und Dauer der Safari, aber gewisse Tauchplätze werden von fast allen angefahren. Sollte Elphinstone auf Reiseroute liegen so steuern Sie höchstwahrscheinlich auf die Tauchgründe um stehen Daedalus und Brothers an. Manche Safariboote segeln über Nacht um am frühen Morgen in Elphinstone zu sein. Es gibt auch Tagesboote von Marsa Alam die zu Elphinstone fahren.

      Elphinstone Tauch-Bewertungen

      9,2
      Hervorragend (von 10) 10
      Durchschnitts-Punktzahl von 15 Bewertungen Nur wer bereits über Liveaboard.com gebucht hat und an einer Tauchsafari teilgenommen hat, kann einen Review schreiben.
      Melden Sie sich an und erhalten Sie wöchentliche Angebote per E-Mail

      Sie haben sich angemeldet - brauchen Sie mehr Infos? Folgen Sie uns auf Facebook

Elphinstone Liveaboard Diving

Red Sea Aggressor

from US$ 196 / day
9.2 "Superb"

EgyptUS$2,099 from

The M/V Red Sea Aggressor is a 36.5m world class liveaboard yacht scheduling year round seven and ten day Egyptian diving cruises. Aboard Red Sea Aggressor, divers will swim among hammerheads, dolphins and abundant reef fish.

    Red Sea Aggressor

    Emperor Elite

    from US$ 79 / day
    9.0 "Superb"

    EgyptUS$849 from

    • Free Nitrox
    • Free WiFi

    The custom built 38m Emperor Elite offers year-round diving to Egypt’s best dive sites. All 12 deluxe cabins feature individual climate control and en-suite facilities, delivering the best experience.

      Emperor Elite

      Emperor Asmaa

      from US$ 92 / day
      8.6 "Fabulous"

      EgyptUS$796 from

      • Free Nitrox
      • Free WiFi

      Dive the crystal waters of the Red Sea while aboard the 30m custom built MY Emperor Asmaa. This luxury liveaboard accommodates up to 20 guests and was completely refurbished in January 2015.

      Emperor Asmaa

      What to expect on an Elphinstone Reef Liveaboard

      Liveaboards to Elphinstone Reef take divers to one of the best loved dive sites in the Red Sea. Around 30 km/19 miles North of Marsa Alam the reef is named after the British Admiral, George Elphinstone due to his time spent in Egypt in the time of Napoleon. It lies just under the surface with only a few small waves to indicate it is even there. From the surface it looks like a long, yellow is oblong in shape under the surface, with a shallow reef and then deep drop-offs to the sides.

      Elphinstone is a very popular site for liveaboards running dive safaris in the Red Sea. There will normally be quite a few dive boats here during the day although not too many as this site is really only for advanced divers. Choosing an Egypt Liveaboard to visit Elphinstone will allow you to get the first dives of the day in before anyone else arrives.

      The site offers crystal clear waters, coral and gorgonia just meters under the surface as well as a host of beautiful tropical fish. As for the bigger aquatic life, down on the plateaus at either end of the reef you can encounter oceanic whitetips and hammerheads in the winter months. Mantas and the fierce tiger sharks are more common in the warmer season. Whatever the season though, Elphinstone is teeming with life and makes a fantastic dive.

      Daily Schedule (example)

      Morning - To make the most of the peaceful early mornings the first dive will be early around 6 am. The dive briefing will be before breakfast but you should be able to grab a quick coffee and snack while the guide fills you in on the reef. The dives will be from a small tender boat which will drop the divers according to the current direction.

      Afternoon - After lunch there will normally be another two shallower dives. Divers should be careful with their profile since they can be doing five dives a day which leads us onto the night dive! In many of the best dive sites in Egypt there is no night diving but at Elphinstone it is allowed. Liveaboards can offer sunset dives on the walls and reef. This is only for those who feel comfortable though the depth and currents are not for inexperienced divers.

      Elphinstone Underwater

      The reef consists of two plateaus at the North and South and one Eastern and one Western wall each good for seeing different life. The Northern plateau drops down like a set of steps only a hundred meters wide. They begin at 5 meters/16 ft. and sloping down to 20 meters/65 ft before a sharp fall to 40. This is a great place to see smaller pelagics such as giant trevally and reef sharks.

      The South Plateau starts around 25 meters/80 ft and slopes gently to 40 meters/130 ft before dropping off at around 45 meters/150 ft. This is the place to see oceanic whitetips which are passing by with their Pilot fish followers. These beautiful sharks come surprisingly close making this a unique opportunity for stunning photographs and close encounters. For technical divers with the right training around 60 meters there is a tunnel that passes between the two walls called the Elphinstone Arch. The arch is home to an intriguing old fable that a sarcophagus shaped outcrop of coral contains the remains of an Egyptian pharaoh!

      The two walls on either side start at 1 meter and go down into the abyss with hundreds of little ledges and hiding places for all kind of creatures. Beautiful corals, trigger fish, napoleon wrasse and great barracuda are just some of the inhabitants here. Elphinstone seems to have it all between the four sides and if luck is on your side there have been sightings of hammerheads and whale sharks there too.

      Top Tips for Elphinstone Reef

      • The current here is fairly regular North to South but that isn't guaranteed and it is strong around 2 knots or more so be prepared.
      • The site is very popular and later in the day it can get a little busier, a liveaboard is best as you will get in the water before anyone else.
      • Set a depth warning on your computer. No one knows how deep the waters around Elphinstone go and the clear water makes it easy to go deeper than you intended.

      Getting to Elphinstone

      Egypt Liveaboards that go to Elphinstone normally depart from either Port Ghalib near Marsa Alam or Hurghada. Both of these have international airports with flights from most major European airports and connecting flights from further afield. Transfer between the two is normally around four hours and will be an additional charge.

      Itineraries vary depending on the departure and length of sailing but there are certain sites the majority visit. If your trip includes Elphinstone and other sites most likely you will also be heading to Daedalus and the Brothers as well. In some cases, you will transit to Elphinstone overnight and arrive early morning at the site. Alternatively, there are day boat trips to Elphinstone leaving from Marsa Alam.

       

      Elphinstone Diving Reviews

      9.2
      Superb (out of 10) 10
      Average score from 15 Verified Review(s) Only people who have booked through Liveaboard.com and joined the Liveaboard can write a review.
      Canada
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Excellent diving!!

      Diving Elphinstone in October on the MY Seawolf Dominator
      Netherlands
      9.6
      Exceptional

      windy with high waves. Every dive was with the Oceanics. The crew (dive guides) had a good eye for safety!

      Diving Elphinstone in September on the Sea Serpent
      Kuwait
      8.8
      Fabulous

      Excellent

      Diving Elphinstone in September on the MY Seawolf Soul
      Italy
      8.8
      Fabulous

      Super adventure with a lot of current

      Diving Elphinstone in August on the Emperor Asmaa
      Brazil
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Perfect! Oceanic white tips around the boat! Unforgettable!

      Diving Elphinstone in August on the Blue Melody
      Switzerland
      7.6
      Good

      Great experience with sharks

      Diving Elphinstone in August on the Sea Serpent
      United States
      9.2
      Superb

      beatiful corals and a nice way to finish the trip

      Diving Elphinstone in July on the Red Sea Aggressor
      Canada
      9.2
      Superb

      Amazing

      Diving Elphinstone in July on the Red Sea Aggressor
      Italy
      10.0
      Exceptional

      exciting (we saw the white teep reef shark)

      Diving Elphinstone in July on the Emperor Superior
      Netherlands
      8.0
      Very good

      Elphinstone had some beautiful relief. Nice dives there overall

      Diving Elphinstone in July on the Red Sea Aggressor
      United States
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Beautiful, healthy reef!

      Diving Elphinstone in June on the Blue Seas Liveaboard
      United Kingdom
      8.8
      Fabulous

      Lucky with the low current, made it nice and easy - for a iconic dive.

      Diving Elphinstone in June on the Red Sea Aggressor
      Spain
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Beautiful one last dive

      Diving Elphinstone in May on the Blue Pearl Liveaboard
      Denmark
      9.2
      Superb

      A bit on the boring side on the way back

      Diving Elphinstone in June on the Blue Melody
      Denmark
      10.0
      Exceptional

      good

      Diving Elphinstone in March on the Emperor Elite
      Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

      Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook