Croisière plongée à Daedalus

Red Sea Aggressor

Red Sea Aggressor

dès US$ 196 / jour
9,0 "Superbe"

EgypteUS$2,099 dès

Le superbe Red Sea Aggressor offre des croisières plongée toute l'année aux meilleurs sites de la Mer Rouge. Bière et vin gratuits au souper, et un Jacuzzi pour se détendre entre les plongées.

    Red Sea Aggressor
    Sea Serpent

    Sea Serpent

    dès US$ 118 / jour
    9,0 "Fabuleux"

    EgypteUS$1,186 dès

    • Nitrox gratuit
    • Wifi gratuit

    Le MY Sea Serpent à la coque unique et long de 34 m assure un voyage tranquille aux meilleurs sites de plongée de la Mer Rouge, y compris les spectaculaires îles Brothers, Elphinstone et Daedalus.

      Sea Serpent
      Blue

      Blue

      dès US$ 151 / jour
      10,0 "Exceptionnel"

      EgypteUS$1,275 dès

      • Nitrox gratuit
      • Wifi gratuit

      Construit en 2016, le MY Blue long de 43 m offre aux plongeurs toutes les qualités requises pour un séjour fantastique en Mer Rouge, Egypte. Chaque cabine climatisée dispose d'une douche, TV et DVD.

      Blue

      Plonger en croisière sur le récif de Daedalus

      En raison de son éloignement, le site de plongée sous-marine de Daedalus ne peut être exploré qu’à bord d’un bateau de croisière. Le récif de Daedalus, également appelé Abu Kizan, est situé à environ 80 km au large de Marsa Alam et est une réserve marine protégée. Au centre du récif, la marine égyptienne a construit un phare sur une île artificielle dans les années 1860, qui a été reconstruit dans les années 1930. Une longue jetée fixe s’étend du phare au bord du récif, et c’est là que les bateaux de croisière peuvent s’amarrer pour rester stables en pleine mer. Le site de Daedalus est inclus dans l’itinéraire de croisière plongée en Egypte de nombreux bateaux.

      Un safari plongée à Daedalus offre un récif peu profond et des tombants, le tout en eau très claire. Sa profondeur varie entre la surface et 40 mètres, la profondeur maximale pour les plongeurs loisirs. Daedalus offre ainsi le meilleur des deux mondes: un récif peu profond en très bon état avec d’épatants coraux, poissons tropicaux et immenses napoléons; et, plus en profondeur et en pleine eau, des grands pélagiques qui défilent (requins, mantas, bancs de thons).

      Horaire type d’une journée de plongée

      Matinée – La première plongée a habituellement lieu à l’aube. Après un en-cas et un café, vous écouterez le briefing avant d’aller vous équiper sur le pont de plongée. La journée commence par la plongée la plus profonde, et les plongeurs se mettent à l’eau du bateau principal ou d’un canot pneumatique. Une deuxième plongée aura lieu après le petit-déjeuner. Le temps fond varie en fonction de la profondeur des plongées et de la consommation des plongeurs.

      Après-midi – Après le déjeuner et un intervalle de surface à bord, il est possible de faire deux ou trois plongées supplémentaires à faible profondeur sur le récif, pour explorer le jardin de corail et d’anémones. Malheureusement, la plongée de nuit n’est pas autorisée dans la réserve marine protégée. Ce n’est pas seulement une question de sécurité; les courants et conditions peuvent être difficiles même durant la journée.

      Faune et flore sous-marine du récif de Daedalus

      Le récif fait moins d’un kilomètre de long et 100 mètres de large, et est entouré de tombants de tous côtés. La profondeur maximale du site est d’environ 40 mètres, et les courants peuvent être forts. La visibilité est excellente malgré les conditions difficiles fréquentes (entre 20 et 30 mètres). La température de l’eau varie entre 24 et 30°C.

      Heureusement, parce que le récif de Daedalus est moins souvent visité par les plongeurs, il est en très bon état et abrite des coraux durs et mous, ainsi qu’une importante variété de poissons tropicaux. ‘Anemone City’ est une section du récif recouverte par des anémones de mer; le rêve du photographe à la recherche de macro.

      Plus en profondeur, la position au large de Daedalus favorise les rencontres avec des grands pélagiques de passage. Les requins-marteaux et longimanes font partie des espèces que vous pourriez rencontrer en safari plongée à Daedalus. Il est parfois possible d’apercevoir le requin-renard solitaire au sud du récif, qui peut facilement être distingué par sa longue queue pointue. En été, les requins-baleines peuvent défiler en pleine eau.

      Les plongeurs Tek peuvent explorer d’autres sites qui ne peuvent être plongés que par des plongeurs brevetés avec un matériel spécialisé. L’épave du bateau à vapeur Zealot, ainsi que les débris de fer disséminés sur le récif, sont très populaires pour la plongée Tek, la plongée en recycleur et la plongée sidemount. Située entre 80 et 120 mètres de profondeur, cette épave a coulé dans les années 1980 en raison d’une faute de navigation.

      Conseils aux plongeurs

      • Les courants peuvent être forts à Daedalus, mais leur direction est souvent prévisible. Utilisez une boussole pour vous orienter.
      • Veuillez respecter les règles du parc marin car de nombreuses choses sont interdites, comme par exemple porter des gants lors de la plongée.
      • N’oubliez pas de porter une protection thermique adéquate car les courants peuvent vous donner l’impression que l’eau est plus froide.
      • Les réserves marines telles que Daedalus ne peuvent être accédées gratuitement. Le prix des entrées aux parcs dépend du nombre de réserves que vous allez explorer et devrait être payé à bord du bateau de croisière.

      Comment se rendre au récif de Daedalus

      Les bateaux de croisière en Mer Rouge démarrent de Port Ghalib près de Marsa Alam, qui est le port le plus proche. Le port est proche de l’aéroport de Marsa Alam, qui est desservi par des vols réguliers en provenance de nombreuses destinations européennes. Alternativement, l’aéroport d’Hurghada est situé à environ 4 heures de route de Marsa Alam.

      Le récif est situé à 9 heures de navigation, qui se fait habituellement de nuit du port de départ. L’itinéraire de croisière à Daedalus diffère de bateau de croisière en bateau de croisière, mais inclut habituellement les sites des îles Brothers, Elphinstone et St. Johns. Le nombre de plongées effectuées à Daedalus dépend de l’itinéraire choisi.

      La distance entre le site de Daedalus et la côte signifie qu’il ne peut être plongée qu’à bord d’un bateau de croisière plongée. Le récif est donc en très bon état et vous ne serez pas entouré de centaines d’autres plongeurs tous les jours. La mise à l’eau peut se faire directement du pont du bateau, qui s’amarre au bord du récif, ou d’un canot pneumatique.

      Daedalus Avis sur les plongées

      9,0
      Fabuleux (sur 10) 10
      Note moyenne pour 19 Avis vérifié(s) Seules les personnes ayant réservé et voyagé à travers Liveaboard.com peuvent écrire un avis.
      Gagnez du temps! Inscrivez-vous et nous vous enverrons les meilleures offres de la semaine

      Merci pour votre inscription - vous voulez encore plus d'offres? suivez-nous sur facebook

Daedalus Liveaboard Diving

Red Sea Aggressor

from US$ 197 / day
9.2 "Superb"

EgyptUS$2,099 from

The M/V Red Sea Aggressor is a 36.5m world class liveaboard yacht scheduling year round seven and ten day Egyptian diving cruises. Aboard Red Sea Aggressor, divers will swim among hammerheads, dolphins and abundant reef fish.

    Red Sea Aggressor

    Emperor Elite

    from US$ 80 / day
    9.0 "Superb"

    EgyptUS$855 from

    • Free Nitrox
    • Free WiFi

    The custom built 38m Emperor Elite offers year-round diving to Egypt’s best dive sites. All 12 deluxe cabins feature individual climate control and en-suite facilities, delivering the best experience.

      Emperor Elite

      Emperor Asmaa

      from US$ 93 / day
      8.6 "Fabulous"

      EgyptUS$802 from

      • Free Nitrox
      • Free WiFi

      Dive the crystal waters of the Red Sea while aboard the 30m custom built MY Emperor Asmaa. This luxury liveaboard accommodates up to 20 guests and was completely refurbished in January 2015.

      Emperor Asmaa

      What to Expect on a Daedalus Reef Liveaboard

      Due to it's remore nature choosing a liveaboard to Daedalus Reef is necessary to fully apprecaite this amazing dive area. East of Marsa Alam about 80 km/50 miles offshore, Daedalus reef, also known as Abu Kizan lies within a marine protected zone. At the centre of the reef the Egyptian Navy has built a lighthouse on a small man-made island originating in the 1860's which was then rebuilt in the 1930's. A long fixed pier stretches from the lighthouse out to the edge of the shallows. This is where most liveaboards moor to keep stable in the open sea. Daedalus is included in numerous Egypt liveaboard itineraries that visit this area.

      Daedalus has a large shallow reef with drop-offs at the sides. It varies from a few meters of beautifully clear water to the deepest point for recreational divers at 40 meters/ 130 ft. This means Daedalus has the best of both worlds. On the largely unspoiled reef there are stunning corals, tropical fish and huge napoleon wrasse for divers to enjoy. In the deeper sections, out in the blue, the pelagics: sharks, mantas and tuna shoals can be seen passing through.

      For technical divers there are other areas that are only accessible to those with experience and equipment for going deep. The wreck and debris of the Zealot steamer is very popular for rebreather and side mount diving.

      Daily Schedule (example)

      Morning - The first dive will normally be a dawn dive. After a quick snack and coffee, you will have a briefing before heading to the dive deck. The deeper dives will be first and divers will enter from the liveaboard directly or by tender boat. After breakfast there will be a second briefing followed by the second dive. The dive times will vary depending on the depth of the dives and air consumption.

      Afternoon - After lunch and a break on board, there will be another two or three dives in the afternoon. These will likely be shallower reef dives to look at the coral and anemone city. Sadly, there is no night diving within this marine protected area. This is not only for conservation but also safety, the currents and general conditions can be difficult even during the day.

      Daedalus Reef Underwater

      The reef is less than a kilometre long and 100 meters wide with a drop offs all around. The deepest areas of the site are around 40 meters/ft. and currents can be very strong. Visibility is very good despite often rough conditions. Divers can expect between 20 to 30 meters 65 to 100 ft. The water temperature varies from 24 to 30 degrees 75 to 85 Fahrenheit.

      Fortunately, because Daedalus is less frequently visited by divers, it is in pristine condition with soft and hard corals and a huge variety of tropical reef fish. 'Anemone City' an entire section of the reef covered with anemone is a macro photographer's dream.

      In deeper waters the position of Daedalus reef so far offshore makes it ideal for encounters with passing pelagics. Hammerheads and oceanic whitetips are just some of the big sharks you can hope to encounter around Daedalus. There is also a chance in the south of the reef to see solitary thresher sharks, easily distinguished by their long pointed tails. There is also a chance in the summer to see whale sharks passing by in the blue.

      There is also a wreck at Daedalus reef, the Zealot which lies in between 80 and 120 meters of water. Not only is there the wreck but the cargo of iron is scattered all the way down the reef lost as the ship sank. This steamship, sank due to poor navigation in the 1980's, is perfect for technical divers to explore.

      Top Tips for Daedalus Reef

      • Currents can be strong at Daedalus but the directions are fairly predictable. Take a compass to stay orientated.
      • Do remember to check the rules of the marine park, many things such as wearing gloves while diving are prohibited.
      • Be sure to take adequate thermal protection as currents can make the water feel colder than it is.
      • Be aware that there will be a charge to enter the marine parks such as Daedalus depending The price will depend on how many you will be visiting. It should be paid on the liveaboard.

      Getting to Daedalus Reef

      Most Egypt liveaboards depart from Port Ghalib near Marsa Alam which is the closest mainland harbour. These liveaboards are easily accessible from Marsa Alam airport which receives frequent flights from a number of major European airports. Alternatively, Hurgada airport is a four-hour transfer away from Marsa Alam.

      The reef itself is an 9-hour sail, normally done overnight from the port of departure. Daedalus is part of a number of different itineraries which can also include the Brothers, Elphinstone and St. Johns. The number of dives at Daedalus will vary depending on which itinerary you chose.

      The distance from shore makes this site exclusively for liveaboard dive boats. This means the reef is in very good condition and you won't be surrounded by hundreds of other divers every day. Dives can be done directly from the liveaboard which moors close to the edge of the reef or from a tender.

      Daedalus Diving Reviews

      9.1
      Superb (out of 10) 10
      Average score from 14 Verified Review(s) Only people who have booked through Liveaboard.com and joined the Liveaboard can write a review.
      Saudi Arabia
      6.4
      Review score

      Awesome

      Diving Daedalus in November on the Emperor Asmaa
      Canada
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Hammerheads!!!! The highlight of the trip!!

      Diving Daedalus in October on the MY Seawolf Dominator
      Netherlands
      9.6
      Exceptional

      big school of hammerheads (over 25). Oceanic White Tips

      Diving Daedalus in September on the Sea Serpent
      Kuwait
      8.8
      Fabulous

      Beautiful

      Diving Daedalus in September on the MY Seawolf Soul
      Switzerland
      7.6
      Good

      Very good dives and visibility

      Diving Daedalus in August on the Sea Serpent
      United States
      9.2
      Superb

      Best things here are encounter with hammerheads, and whatleshark, Manta

      Diving Daedalus in July on the Red Sea Aggressor
      Greece
      9.6
      Exceptional

      more than we expected

      Diving Daedalus in July on the Sea Serpent
      Canada
      9.2
      Superb

      Amazing

      Diving Daedalus in July on the Red Sea Aggressor
      Italy
      10.0
      Exceptional

      exciting (we saw the hammer head shark)

      Diving Daedalus in July on the Emperor Superior
      United States
      10.0
      Exceptional

      SO MANY HAMMERHEADS!

      Diving Daedalus in June on the Blue Seas Liveaboard
      India
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Very good

      Diving Daedalus in June on the Red Sea Aggressor
      Switzerland
      8.0
      Very good

      great

      Diving Daedalus in May on the Red Sea Aggressor
      France
      9.2
      Superb

      Excellent, beautiful coral, some hammerheads and a Manta

      Diving Daedalus in May on the Red Sea Aggressor
      Spain
      9.6
      Exceptional

      The best, with hammerheads although not the school

      Diving Daedalus in May on the Blue Pearl Liveaboard
      Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

      Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook