Croisière plongée à Saint John’s

Red Sea Aggressor

Red Sea Aggressor

dès US$ 196 / jour
9,0 "Superbe"

EgypteUS$2,099 dès

Le superbe Red Sea Aggressor offre des croisières plongée toute l'année aux meilleurs sites de la Mer Rouge. Bière et vin gratuits au souper, et un Jacuzzi pour se détendre entre les plongées.

    Red Sea Aggressor
    Emperor Elite

    Emperor Elite

    dès US$ 121 / jour
    9,1 "Superbe"

    EgypteUS$1,387 dès

    • Nitrox gratuit
    • Wifi gratuit

    L'Emperor Elite construit sur mesure fait 38 m de long et explore les meilleurs sites de plongée d'Egypte. Les 12 cabines de luxe climatisées avec douche offrent une expérience merveilleuse.

      Emperor Elite
      Blue Seas

      Blue Seas

      dès US$ 118 / jour
      8,9 "Fabuleux"

      EgypteUS$1,245 dès

      • Nitrox gratuit
      • Wifi gratuit

      Le bateau de croisière de luxe Blue Seas long de 37m offre des itinéraires variés pour explorer le meilleur de la Mer Rouge, de St John's aux Brothers, Elphinstone et Daedalus dans 12 cabines de luxe.

      Blue Seas

      Plonger en croisière à Saint John’s Reef, en Egypte

      Un itinéraire de croisière à St John’s Reef, en Egypte, explore la région située au sud de la Mer Rouge, à plus de 200 kilomètres au sud de Marsa Alam. L’île de St John’s est située dans la crique de Foul Bay et fait partie d’une série de petites îles offrant certains des meilleurs sites de plongée sous-marine de la région. L’île et les récifs environnants font partie du parc national d’Elba, qui couvre une importante région terrestre et marine proche de la frontière soudanaise. Bien que les deux nations soient intéressées par la beauté naturelle et l’attrait international de la région, celle-ci est actuellement protégée par les parcs nationaux égyptiens. De ce fait, la région est bien protégée sur terre et sous l’eau. Un certain nombre de bateaux de croisière en Egypte organisent des circuits de safari plongée à Saint John’s, populaires toute l’année.

      Saint John’s Reef est en fait constitué de plusieurs récifs entourant l’île du même nom. Ils couvrent environ 290 kilomètres carrés et offrent un large éventail de sites de plongée. En raison de son éloignement, Saint John’s ne peut être atteint autrement que lors d’une croisière de plongée. Ces récifs en bon état abritent de nombreuses espèces de coraux durs et mous, de poissons tropicaux et de requins. Il y a également un grand nombre de grottes et cavernes, passages et tunnels, tombants et secs où patrouillent de plus gros poissons.

      Horaire type d’une journée de plongée

      Matinée – la toute première plongée de la journée se fait aussi tôt que possible pour profiter un maximum de la journée de plongée. Après un en-cas et un café, le guide vous donnera le briefing du site et des conditions. Bien que ce soit un seul réseau récifal, les plongées sont très variées, donc écoutez bien les conditions et avertissements durant le briefing.

      Après le briefing, les plongeurs vont préparer leur matériel sur le pont de plongée et analyser leurs gaz s’ils plongent au Nitrox, avant de s’équiper. Les mises à l’eau et retours en surface des palanquées se font à partir de petits hors-bords.

      Après-midi – Après un bon petit-déjeuner, vous aurez l’occasion de replonger trois fois dans l’après-midi, avec une pause déjeuner durant l’intervalle de surface. Vous aurez peut-être l’opportunité d’effectuer une plongée de nuit ou de crépuscule sur certains sites du récif.

      Faune et flore sous-marines de St John’s

      Les récifs de Saint John’s varient en profondeur, en topographie et en faune et flore. Habili Ali, à l’extrémité sud de St John’s, est un plateau immergé à faible profondeur entouré d’immenses tombants de tous côtés. Ces secs spectaculaires sont colonisés par des gorgones, coraux noirs et anémones, et fréquentés par des requins gris de récif, des barracudas et des napoléons. Des raies mantas, requins longimanes et autres requins-marteaux passent parfois en pleine eau. Des bancs de dauphins viennent parfois rendre visite, sortant de nulle part et venant jouer près du récif. La visibilité peut atteindre 35 mètres mais les courants peuvent être forts, donc ces plongées de tombant profonds conviennent mieux aux plongeurs expérimentés.

      En plus des récifs entourés de tombants comme Habili Ali et Habili Gafaar, il existe également des sites plus faciles comme le curieusement nommé Dangerous Reef. Ici, les courants sont beaucoup moins forts et le fond est plat à 20 mètres. Il y a des passages faciles et des tas de calamars et murènes, idéal pour une plongée de nuit.

      Les grottes sont également une des attractions de la région. St John’s Caves est la plus grande et la plus populaire. Des passages et cheminées incrustés de coraux complémentent les grottes superbement illuminées. Sans surprise, des murènes et grands bancs d’apogons sont habituels, en plus des jardins de coraux durs et mous et de toutes sortes de poissons tropicaux.

      Conseils aux plongeurs

      • Un parachute de palier est un must; la présence de nombreux bateaux en surface sur ces sites très populaires rend la remontée dangereuse sans parachute.
      • Gardez votre profondimètre à l’œil ou paramétrez une alarme de profondeur sur votre ordinateur, surtout si vous plongez au Nitrox, qui est très populaire sur de nombreux bateaux.
      • En plongeant dans les grottes et passages, faites attention aux coraux durs et rochers pointus qui sortent de partout.

      Comment se rendre à St John’s Reef

      La plupart des bateaux de croisière en Mer Rouge se rendant à St John’s démarrent de Port Ghalib, à une heure de la ville de Marsa Alam. Marsa Alam dispose d’une aéroport international desservi par de nombreuses destinations européennes. Alternativement, l’aéroport d’Hurghada est encore mieux desservi, mais se situe à environ 4 heures de route de Port Ghalib. Sachez que la plupart des tours opérateurs factureront un supplément pour le transfert entre Hurghada et le port de départ.

      Le récif est situé à environ 14 heures de transit de nuit de Port Ghalib. Les bateaux de croisière peuvent effectuer ce trajet en une étape et arriver à Saint John’s Reef tôt le matin. Mais ce récif fait habituellement partie d’un circuit de croisière incluant Daedalus et Fury Shoals; votre bateau pourrait s’arrêter là d’abord avant de rejoindre St John’s. D’autres itinéraires de croisière au sud de la Mer Rouge visitent aussi les sites de Rocky Island et Zabargad. Les bateaux de croisière s’amarrent à distance et utilisent habituellement de petits hors-bords pour la mise à l’eau et le retour en surface des plongeurs.

      St. Johns Avis sur les plongées

      9,1
      Superbe (sur 10) 10
      Note moyenne pour 11 Avis vérifié(s) Seules les personnes ayant réservé et voyagé à travers Liveaboard.com peuvent écrire un avis.
      Gagnez du temps! Inscrivez-vous et nous vous enverrons les meilleures offres de la semaine

      Merci pour votre inscription - vous voulez encore plus d'offres? suivez-nous sur facebook

St. Johns Liveaboard Diving

Red Sea Aggressor

from US$ 197 / day
9.2 "Superb"

EgyptUS$2,099 from

The M/V Red Sea Aggressor is a 36.5m world class liveaboard yacht scheduling year round seven and ten day Egyptian diving cruises. Aboard Red Sea Aggressor, divers will swim among hammerheads, dolphins and abundant reef fish.

    Red Sea Aggressor

    Emperor Elite

    from US$ 79 / day
    9.0 "Superb"

    EgyptUS$850 from

    • Free Nitrox
    • Free WiFi

    The custom built 38m Emperor Elite offers year-round diving to Egypt’s best dive sites. All 12 deluxe cabins feature individual climate control and en-suite facilities, delivering the best experience.

      Emperor Elite

      Emperor Asmaa

      from US$ 92 / day
      8.6 "Fabulous"

      EgyptUS$797 from

      • Free Nitrox
      • Free WiFi

      Dive the crystal waters of the Red Sea while aboard the 30m custom built MY Emperor Asmaa. This luxury liveaboard accommodates up to 20 guests and was completely refurbished in January 2015.

      Emperor Asmaa

      What to Expect On A St John's Reef Liveaboard

      Liveaboards to St. Johns, Egypt will visit this area located in the southern Red Sea, more than 200 km/ 124 miles South of Marsa Alam, St. John's island sits in the inlet of Foul Bay. It is one of a number of small islands inside the bay which, despite its ominous name, is home to some of the best waters for diving in the region. The island and the surrounding reefs are part of the Elba National Park which covers a very large area of land and islands close to the Sudanese border. Though both nations have expressed great interest in the region because of its natural beauty and international appeal the area is currently under the protection of the Egyptian National Park. This means that fortunately, the area is well protected on land and underwater. A good selection of Egyptian Liveaboards run popular itineraries to St.Johns throughout the year.

      The St. John's 'reef' is actually a number of reefs all around the island. They cover around 290 square kilometres with a wealth of diverse dive sites on offer. Due to their remote location St.Johns is recommended to be visited on a liveaboard dive cruise. These reefs are home to a huge selection of beautiful hard and soft corals and numerous reef fish and sharks. There are also a huge number of atmospheric caves and caverns, swim-throughs and tunnels and deep drop-offs for spotting the bigger fish.

      Daily Schedule (example)

      Morning - The very first dive of the day will be as early as possible to enjoy as much time underwater as possible. After a quick snack and a coffee on board there will be a briefing from the guide on the site and conditions. Although it is one reef system the dives vary substantially, so be sure to keep a good ear out during the briefing for conditions and warnings.

      After the briefing everyone will head to the dive deck and prepare, many of these dives are perfect depth for Nitrox so most people will have to analyse before kitting up. The groups will be dropped and picked up by small tenders at the dive site.

      Afternoon - After a proper breakfast there will be another three dives in the afternoon with a lunch break in between. There will often be an opportunity for night or sunset dives later in the day in certain areas of the reef.

      St. John's Underwater

      The reefs of St. John's are varied in depth, topography and wildlife. Habili Ali to the East end of St. John's is a submerged shallow plateau with huge drop-offs on all sides. The walls are spectacular for gorgonias and black coral and anemone as well as grey reef sharks, barracuda and napoleon wrasse. There are also passing visitors with the occasional manta, oceanic whitetips and even occasional hammerheads. There is also a chance to see pods of dolphins which can appear from nowhere and take over the reef. The visibility can be up to 35 meters on a good day but the currents here gets very strong which considering the sheer drop-offs makes it a site for advanced divers only.

      In addition to reefs with all-round walls like Habili Ali and Habili Gafaar there are also slightly more relaxed dives like the strangely named Dangerous Reef. Here the current is much less and Dangerous Reef benefits from a flat bottom at 20 meters instead of a deep drop-off. There are some easy swim throughs and lots of squid and eels, perfect for a night dive.

      Caves are also a big attraction with St. John's Caves being one of the best. Coral encrusted swim throughs and chimneys are everywhere along with beautifully lit caverns. Unsurprisingly, eels and huge shoals of cardinal fish are a common sight here along with soft and hard corrals and all kinds of reef fish.

      Top Tips for St. John's Reef

      • An SMB is a must, with so many boats around these very popular sites surfacing without one can be very hazardous.
      • Keep an eye on your depth gauge or consider a depth alarm on your computer especially since a lot of boats use EANitrox.
      • Be very careful when diving in caverns and swimthroughs as there is hard coral and sharp rocks all around these spaces.

      Getting to St. John's Reef

      Most Egypt Liveaboards going to St. John's depart from Port Ghalib, 1 hour from the resort of Marsa Alam. Marsa Alam has its own international airport with connecting flights to most major European destinations. Alternatively, Hurghada airport has a wider range of departure ports but is around a four-hour transfer from Port Ghalib. Be aware that most companies will charge extra for a transfer from Hurghada to the departure port.

      The reef itself is an overnight sail, around 14 hours in transit from Port Ghalib. It is possible for liveaboards to make the journey in one sailing and arrive in St. John's early morning. However, this reef is often part of an itinerary that includes Daedalus and Fury Shoals so they may stop of there first, before moving on to St. John's. Other Southern itineraries take in St. John's and the neighbouring Rocky Island and Zabargad dive sites. Liveaboards will often anchor a little further away and drop and pick up divers at the dive sites by small tenders.

      St. Johns Diving Reviews

      8.9
      Fabulous (out of 10) 10
      Average score from 6 Verified Review(s) Only people who have booked through Liveaboard.com and joined the Liveaboard can write a review.
      United States
      9.2
      Superb

      St. Johns has nice beautiful caves.

      Diving St. Johns in November on the MY Seawolf Dominator
      United Kingdom
      8.8
      Fabulous

      Easy diving but interesting caves.

      Diving St. Johns in June on the Red Sea Aggressor
      Italy
      8.4
      Very good

      Wonderfull

      Diving St. Johns in April on the Emperor Elite
      Sweden
      8.4
      Very good

      Good . Very nice corals but no big life at all

      Diving St. Johns in December on the Emperor Elite
      Sweden
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Awesome caves!

      Diving St. Johns in October on the Emperor Asmaa
      United Kingdom
      8.8
      Fabulous

      St John's caves were outstanding and stands as one of my top 3 dives.

      Diving St. Johns in February on the Emperor Asmaa
      Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

      Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook