St. Maarten Tauchsafaris

1 Lifeaboard Tauchreisen inSt. Maarten Taucher in St. Maarten und St. Martin können das warme karibische Wasser, eine lebhafte Unterwasserwelt und eine Vielzahl an bunten, tropischen Fischen genießen.

Tauchsafaris zu St. Maarten beinhaltet üblicherweise Stopps an mehreren Tauchplätzen und verkehren zwischen St. Maarten und St. Kitts. Gelegen in den kristallklaren Gewässern der karibischen See bietet diese historische Insel nicht nur die besten Einkaufsgelegenheiten in der Karibik, sondern ebenfalls atemberaubende Tauchplätze. Die Insel ist umgeben von National Parks die zum Ziel haben die natürliche Schönheit der Unterwasserwelt zu beschützen, erhalten und fördern, wodurch sie ein wahres Paradies für Taucher und besonders Unterwasser-Fotografen kreieren.

Die Mehrheit der Tauchplätze befindet sich im südlichen, niederländischem Teil der Insel St. Maarten. Der größte Teil der Tauchregion bietet Tauchen in flacheren Gewässern um 18 m und flacher und besteht aus Riffen die künstlich auf Wracks entstanden sind, alten Korallenriffen und Felsen bedeckt mit dynamischen Schwämmen und fantastischen organischen Korallen. Vor der Insel liegen 11 Wracks zum Tauchen, darunter die Proselyte Reef.

Im Norden befindet sich die französische Hälfte der Insel St. Maarten. Hier können interessante Felsformationen bestaunt werden, die labyrinthartige Strukturen bilden. Mit reichlich Überhängen, Tunneln und Felsvorsprüngen, ideal um diese bei einem Tauchgang zu erkunden. Ammenhaie werden hier regelmäßig beobachtet, da dies eines ihrer Rastplätze ist.

Als Resultat der großzügigen Investierungen in die Marine National Parks, wie die Nature Foundation of St. Maarten und die Reserve Naturelle de St. Martin, ist die Artenvielfallt in dieser Region, mit über 700 Spezies, eine der besten und reichhaltigsten in der ganzen Karibik. Die unberührten Fels- und Korallenformationen bilden ein abgestimmtes Ökosystem das viele Arten hier unbeirrt gedeihen lässt; darunter Seesterne, Hummer, Blaukrabben, Seepferdchen, Doktorfische, Zackenbarsche, Trompetenfische, Tarpune, Feilenfische, Barrakudas, Muränen und Kofferfische. Suppenschildkröten werden regelmäßig gesehen und gelegentlich kann sogar ein Blick auf eine Karettschildkröte erhascht werden. Buckelwale und große Delfine können während der Paarungszeit etwas weiter Seewärts gesichtet werden.

1 Tauchsafari in St. Maarten

    Caribbean Explorer II

    von US$ 225 / Tag
    9,3 "Hervorragend"

    Saba St Kitts und St. MaartenUS$1,795 von

    Die Caribbean Explorer II hat Platz für 18Gäste in 9 Kabinen und bietet 5 spektakuläre Tauchgänge pro Tag an. Entdecken Sie kristallklaren Gewässer im Nordosten der Karibik.

      Caribbean Explorer II

      TAUCHSAFARIS IN ST. MAARTEN

      Die Caribbean Explorer, gebaut in 1987, bietet momentan als das einzige Liveaboard der Insel, die besten Tauchplätze mit Fahrten nach Saba und St. Kitts. Beides kleine Inseln südlich von St. Maarten und ebenso geschützt durch Marina National Parks. Das tauchsafari, die Caribbean Explorer II, nimmt Sie mit auf eine 8 Tage/ 7 Nächte Tauchsafari mit ca. 25 Tauchgängen. Das 35 m lange Boot bietet Platz für bis zu 18 Passagiere in 9 luxuriösen Kabinen. Jede davon ausgestattet mit Klimaanlage und private Badezimmer.

      Das tauchsafari wird Sie in Bobby's Yachthafen in Philipsburg einsammeln, von wo aus es am Abend Richtung Saba in See sticht. Die ersten 3 Tage beginnen mit Tauchgängen rund um Saba, gefolgt von einer Nachtfahrt zu der Insel St. Kitts. Dort verbringen Sie weitere 3 Tage mit Tauchgängen in dieser wundervollen Tauchregion. Am 7ten Tag endet der Tauchurlaub an Board mit der Ankunft am Hafen Zante auf St. Kitts und einem Abendessen an Land. Bei Interesse können weitere Reisen durch die Insellandschaft organisiert werden, allerdings sollten Sie beachten, dass die Routen aufgrund von Wetter und logistischen Bedingungen abweichen können.

      TAUCHPLÄTZE UND –REGIONEN UM ST. MAARTEN

      Charlie's Shoal ist ein selten beliebter Korallenriff-Kamm direkt vor St. Maarten, im Süden der Insel. Die maximale Tiefe beträgt 20 m mit meist großartiger Sicht. Da diese Region seltener Besucht wird ist, besteht eine große Chance auf Schildkröten, Stachelrochen, Barrakudas, große Zackenbarsche und Steinfische.

      Big Mama's reef ist das Zuhause von Haien, gelegen ebenfalls im Süden von St. Maarten. Hier leben überwiegend karibische Riffhaie die bis zu 3 m lang werden. Die maximale Tiefe liegt bei 12 m. Wie die meisten Tauchplätze um St. Maarten ist auch diese gut geeignet für beginnende Open Water Taucher. Die Tauchführer stellen sicher, dass alle Sicherheitsmaßnahmen eingehalten werden.

      Saba ist eine wundervolle kleine Insel, gerade 13 km² groß, die das Meer mit aufragenden rosa und violetten Kliffen begrüßt. Die Insel war bis zu den 70iger Jahren beinahe unzugänglich, bis der kleine Hafen Fort Bay gebaut wurde. Das Tauchen hier ist eine sehr besondere Erfahrung. Tauchplätze mit Seebergen und Zinnen, Saumriffen und echten Korallenriffen (komplett bestehend aus Korallen ohne Felsen oder andere Strukturen als Grundlage). Pelagische Arten, wie die gemeine Goldmakrele können hier gesichtet werden, da viele Tauchplätze im offenen Ozean liegen. Genauer geht es um die Tauchplätze Twilight Zone, Louís Ladder, Third Encounter, Hot Springs und Man of War Shoals.

      St. Kitts ist eine, 24 km lange und 8 km breite Insel, die bisher vom Massentourismus verschont ist. Regenwälder bieten ein gutes Terrain für Wanderer, mit einem steilen Mittelgebirge mit bis zu 1.143 km Höhe. Die Strukturen unter Wasser geben, durch Korallenriffe und Schwämme auf gehärteter Lava, Einsicht auf die Geschichte der Insel mit den dortigen Vulkan. Bekannte Tauchplätze hier sind Sandy Point, St. Peters, Coconut Tree Reef, Black Coral Reef und Brimstone Hill Shallow.

      DIE BESTE ZEIT ZU REISEN

      Tauchen ist hier das ganze Jahr über möglich, da die Wasser- und die Lufttemperatur relativ konstant bleiben. Im Winter sinkt die Lufttemperatur auf ca. 28 °C und die des Wassers liegt bei 26 °C, während im Sommer die Luft um die 32 °C und das Wasser bei 29 °C liegen.

      In den Tropen herrscht Regensaison (auch bekannt als Hurrikan Saison) von Juni bis November. Aber nur selten sind die Wetterbedingungen in einem Ausmaß, das Ausflüge negativ beeinflusst werden.

      TIPS FÜR REISENDE

      Die Zertifizierung als Open Water Taucher, oder vergleichbares, sind für die meisten Tauchplätze ausreichend.

      St. Maarten und Saba akzeptieren US Dollar, während auf St. Kitts der Ostkaribische Dollar benötigt wird. Englisch, Französisch und Niederländisch sind die meist verbreiteten Sprachen auf den Inseln.

      Die Spannung in den Steckdosen liegt bei 220 bis 240 Volt, 60 Hz und Type C Europlug Anschlüssen auf St. Maarten und St. Kitts und für Saba werden Type A oder B Stecker benötigt.

      ANKUNFT UND ABFAHRTSHÄFEN

      Der internationale Flughafen liegt in Simpson Bay, St. Maarten. Von hier aus können Sie jeden Teil der Insel mittels einer kurzen fahrt erreichen.

      St. Maarten Tauchsafaris fahren ab Bobby's Yachthafen in Philipsburg, St. Maarten.

      WEITERE INFORMATIONEN

      Bitte erkundigen Sie sich über die evtl. anfallenden Marine Park Gebühren und Regeln. Die Gebühren sind nicht im tauchsafari Preis enthalten und müssen zusätzlich gezahlt werden.

      Beachten Sie auch weitere ggf. für Sie anfallende Kosten.

      Die meisten Länder verlangen das Sie einen Reisepass mit sich führen, der bei Ankunft noch mindestens 6 Monate gültig ist, ein Rückreiseticket und genügend Geld für den Aufenthalt. Reisende aus Australien, Kanada, den USA und der EU benötigen kein Touristen-Visa, dies kann sich allerdings jederzeit ändern. Vergewissern Sie sich daher vor Ihrem Urlaubsantritt, über die für Sie aktuellen Visabestimmungen.

      Es wird greaten einen Arzt ca. 8 Wochen vor Ihrer geplanten Reise, über mögliche benötigte Impungen und Reisemedizin zu konsultierenIt. Eine ausreichende Reise- und Tauchversicherung wird ebenfalls nahegelegt.

      St. Maarten Tauch-Bewertungen

      9,6
      Exzellent (von 10) 10
      Durchschnitts-Punktzahl von 1 Bewertungen Nur wer bereits über Liveaboard.com gebucht hat und an einer Tauchsafari teilgenommen hat, kann einen Review schreiben.
      Melden Sie sich an und erhalten Sie wöchentliche Angebote per E-Mail

      Sie haben sich angemeldet - brauchen Sie mehr Infos? Folgen Sie uns auf Facebook

St Maarten Liveaboard Diving

1 liveaboards in St Maarten Scuba divers in St Maarten and St Martin enjoy warm Caribbean waters, vibrant underwater landscapes and an abundance of colorful tropical fish.

Liveaboards to St.Maarten/Martin will usually incorporate numerous local dives sites in the area and operate dive itineraries between St. Maarten & St. Kitts. Located in the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea this historic island offers not only the best shopping experiences in the Caribbean, but has become renowned for its amazing diving as well. The island is surrounded by national parks that aim to protect, preserve and enhance the stunning natural beauty of the marine environment, creating an absolute paradise for divers, especially underwater photographers.

The majority of dive sites are found on the southern, Dutch half of the island, St. Maarten. Most sites around the entire island are fairly shallow, around 60 feet (18 m) or less, and consist of artificial reefs made by wrecks (the island boasts 11 wreck sites, including the Proselyte Reef), old coral reefs, and rocks encrusted with vibrant sponges and fantastic gorgonian corals. As well as helping to improve lighting conditions for your photography, the shallow depth also helps to maintain the islandís strong record of safe diving.

To the north, you will find the French half of the island, St. Martin. Here you will discover interesting rock formations that create maze-like structures for divers to explore, with plenty of overhangs, tunnels and ledges. Nurse sharks are a common sighting, who use these as resting areas.

As a testament to the strong investment in Marine National Parks, such as The Nature Foundation of St. Maarten and The Reserve Naturelle de St. Martin, the diversity of fish is some of the best in the Caribbean with over 700 species. The pristine rock and coral formations create an intricate ecosystem that allows many beloved species to thrive, from starfish to lobsters, blue crabs, seahorses, surgeon fish, grouper, trumpetfish, tarpon, filefish, barracuda, moray eels, and trunkfish. Green sea turtles are a frequent visitor on dives and the loggerhead turtle also likes to make an occasional appearance. Humpback whales and large dolphins too can be seen further out to sea between February and June, during their mating season.

1 liveaboard in St Maarten

    Caribbean Explorer II

    from US$ 224 / day
    9.3 "Superb"

    Saba St Kitts and St MaartenUS$1,795 from

    The Caribbean Explorer II accommodates 18 passengers in 9 staterooms. She offers 5 spectacular dives per day, including night dives. Explore the crystal clear waters of the Northeastern Caribbean

      Caribbean Explorer II

      Liveaboard Dive Trips In St. Maarten/Martin

      Currently the only liveaboard available on the island, the Caribbean Explorer which was established in 1987, cherry-picks the best sites in the area by providing dive cruises to Saba and St. Kitts. Both are small islands to the south of St. Maarten/Martin and are also protected by Marine National Parks. The current liveaboard, the Caribbean Explorer II, will take you for an 8 day/7night dive tour, upon which you will complete approximately 25 dives. The 115 feet (35 m) boat can accommodate up to 18 passengers in 9 luxury staterooms, each equipped with air conditioning and a private en suite bathroom.

      The liveaboard will pick you up from Bobby's Marina in Philipsburg, St. Maarten (the southern half) before departing for the island of Saba late in the evening. 3 days will be spent diving the picturesque sites of Saba, followed by a night crossing to St. Kitts for an additional 3 days of diving. On Day 7, you will return to Port Zante on St. Kitts for an island tour and onshore dinner. For those interested, further island tours can be arranged to explore Saba and St. Kitts, although be aware that itineraries can change due to weather and logistical conditions.

      Dive Sites and Areas of St. Maarten/Martin

      Charlie's Shoal is a seldom dived coral reef ridge just off St. Maarten to the south. Maximum depth is 65 feet (20 m) with great visibility most of the time. Being quieter, turtles are frequently seen here, as well as stingray, barracudas, big grouper, and stonefish.

      Big Mama's reef is the resident shark reef, again located just off St. Maarten to the south. Most commonly, the sharks are Caribbean reef sharks and can measure up to 10 feet (3 m) in length. The maximum depth of this site is 164 feet (50 m) although the average depth is 40 feet (12 m). As with most sites in St. Maarten/Martin, this site is also suitable for Open Water divers. Dive guides will ensure all safety measures are adhered to.

      Saba is a beautiful little island, only 5 square miles, which meets the sea with towering red and pink cliffs. The island remained almost inaccessible until the 70s when a small harbour, Fort Bay, was built. Diving here is a very special experience, with sites consisting of seamounts and pinnacles, fringing reefs, and true coral reefs (structures made up entirely by coral, rather than coral upon rock structures). Pelagic species, such as Dorado can also be seen as some of the dive sites are open-ocean. Specific sites include, Twilight Zone, Louís Ladder, Third Encounter, Hot Springs, and Man of War Shoals.

      St. Kitts is a 15 mile long, 5 mile wide, island that has yet to see any tourism on a mass scale. Rainforests provide a different terrain for hikers, with a steep, central mountain range that rises to 3750 feet. Dive sites to the east of St. Kitts are usually very calm, as they are protected by the island. The underwater structures here give a clue to the island's volcanic history, with lava flows that are now encrusted with coral reef and sponges. Specific sites include Sandy point, St. Peters, Coconut Tree Reef, Black Coral Reef, and Brimstone Hill Shallow.

      When To Go

      Diving is available all year round since both air and water temperatures remain fairly constant. During winter, air temperatures may dip to 82F (28C) and water temperatures 79F (26C), with summer air and water temperatures a toasty 89F (32C) and 85F (29C) respectively.

      Being tropical there is a rainy season, which is sometimes known as hurricane season. Normally this lasts from June to November, but rarely is weather strong enough to halt or disrupt outings.

      Tips For Travellers

      Although you don't need to show proof of your dive experience, it's always a good idea to bring your dive certifications even if they are available online (and you may want to bring your log book with you anyway to note your awesome experiences during the dive cruise!). An Open Water certification, or equivalent, fulfils the minimum requirements for most sites.

      St. Maarten/Martin and Saba all accept the US Dollar, while St. Kitts accepts the Eastern Caribbean Dollar. English, French and Dutch are the main spoken languages.

      Electricity runs at 220 to 240 Volts at 60 Hz on St. Maarten/Martin and St. Kitts and typically a Type C Europlug socket; but 110 Volts at 60 Hz on Saba utilising Type A or B sockets. Double check the labels on your electrical gadgets, as you may need an adapter and a step-down transformer or voltage converter.

      How To Get There & Ports Of Departure

      The international airport is located in Simpson Bay, St. Maarten. From here, it is a short drive to anywhere on the island.

      St. Maarten/Martin liveaboard dive cruise leave from Bobby's Marina in Philipsburg, St. Maarten.

      Considerations

      Please check the Marine Park Fees as these will be payable in addition to the trip. Take note of the Marine Park Rules.

      Please also ensure you check any other fees or costs that may be applicable to you.

      Most countries will require that you hold a passport with at least 6 months validity from the date of entry, a return ticket home, and sufficient funds for your trip. Australian, Canadian, USA, and EU citizens are not required to apply for a short-stay visa, but this may be subject to change. Ensure you obtain the latest visa requirements well in advance of your intended date of travel to avoid disappointment.

      It is advised to contact your doctor 8 weeks before your dive trip to ascertain whether you will need any vaccinations or medications. It is strongly advised that you arrange comprehensive travel and diver insurance.

      St Maarten Diving Reviews

      9.6
      Exceptional (out of 10) 10
      Average score from 1 Verified Review(s) Only people who have booked through Liveaboard.com and joined the Liveaboard can write a review.
      Czech Republic
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Sites around Saba had a lot of silt that makes it very challenging for photographer.It is quite enjoyable to dive without large crowds and boat traffic. Generally plenty of life underwater and corals were nice.

      Diving St Maarten in November on the Caribbean Explorer II
      Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

      Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook