Croisière Plongée au Costa Rica

4 croisières plongéeCosta Rica Sanctuaires marins et îles reculées visitées par des raies géantes, requins et baleines; une croisière plongée sous-marine au Costa Rica est l'aventure ultime.

C’est souvent pour explorer l’incroyable spot de l’Île Cocos que les plongeurs optent pour une croisière plongée au Costa Rica, car cette île est un haut lieu de rassemblement de bancs de requins. Entre les eaux riches de l’océan Pacifique et de la mer des Caraïbes, le Costa Rica est un petit pays d’Amérique Centrale regorgeant d’incroyables forêts tropicales humides, d’une faune diverse et de spots épatants de plongée sous-marine. Un safari plongée au Costa Rica permet aux plongeurs de s’aventurer dans des eaux reculées et de découvrir un environnement sous-marin rare et unique au monde. Étonnamment, et contrairement aux pays voisins dont les meilleurs sites de plongée sont situés du côté Caraïbes, les meilleurs spots du Costa Rica sont concentrés côté Pacifique.

Costa Rica - 4 croisières plongée

    Okeanos Aggressor

    Okeanos Aggressor

    dès US$ 230 / jour
    9,0 "Superbe"

    Costa RicaUS$4,899 dès

    Le MV Okeanos Aggressor long de 33 m offre des croisières toute l'année à l'île Coco. 22 plongeurs peuvent profiter de 10 cabines de luxe avec bain et douche, hublot et climatisation.

      Okeanos Aggressor
      Argo

      Argo

      dès US$ 435 / jour
      9,3 "Superbe"

      Costa RicaUS$6,305 dès

      • Nitrox gratuit

      Découvrez l'île Coco reculée et inviolée à bord du MV Argo, un yacht de luxe de 40 m de long. 18 passagers sont hébergés en tout confort dans 9 cabines de luxe à climatisation individuelle.

        Argo
        Okeanos Aggressor II

        Okeanos Aggressor II

        dès US$ 247 / jour
        8,6 "Fabuleux"

        Costa RicaUS$5,299 dès

        Le MV Okeanos Aggressor II dispose de 11 cabines de luxe hébergeant 22 plongeurs pour explorer l'île Cocos. Chaque cabine dispose d'une douche et de climatisation.

        Okeanos Aggressor II

        Le Costa Rica offre des tas d’opportunités pour tous les niveaux de plongeurs, mais pour atteindre la crème de la crème des sites, vous devrez embarquer sur un bateau de croisière de plongée durant au moins dix jours. Plusieurs plongées par jour sur des sites différents rendront votre voyage inoubliable – la plongée requins à l’Île Cocos est un favori des plongeurs, en particulier grâce aux nombreux requins marteaux de Bajo Alcyone. Ces sites, en plus de ceux de l’Île Cano et des îles Bat (Chauves-souris) de Guanacaste, classent le Costa Rica au sommet de la liste des meilleurs spots de plongée sous-marine.

        Plonger en croisière au Costa Rica

        Liveaboard.com propose de nombreux bateaux de croisière plongée différents, chacun garantissant le confort, la sécurité et, bien sûr, une fabuleuse expérience de plongée. Les bateaux sont de toutes formes et tailles, allant de grands yachts de croisière à des bateaux de soutien reconvertis, et offrent tous des itinéraires convenant à tous les goûts. Les circuits durent de 11 à 18 jours, ce qui signifie que vous pouvez ajouter de nombreuses plongées à votre carnet, tout en vous autorisant si vous le désirez un jour ou deux de détente sur le pont sans rater trop de temps passé sous l’eau.

        Les croisières de plongée démarrent habituellement tôt le matin et certains opérateurs offrent un service de navette à partir de votre hôtel. Quelques itinéraires de croisière incluent également la nuit d’hôtel la veille du départ. Atteindre les sites plus reculés du Costa Rica prend presque 2 jours, mais votre patience sera récompensée par des plongées dans certaines des réserves naturelles les plus isolées et immaculées sur Terre. Habituellement, une plongée de réadaptation est organisée au tout début afin que les guides puissent évaluer votre niveau et personnaliser le séjour plongée pour convenir au mieux à tous les plongeurs. La plongée de réadaptation se fait sur un magnifique récif offrant des conditions idéales pour se remettre dans le bain avant de passer aux choses sérieuses!

        La biodiversité offerte par les eaux Pacifiques du Costa Rica est incroyable: des récifs intacts qui regorgent d’un large éventail de faune marine, d’une abondance de requins et d’autres grands pélagiques tels que raies manta, dauphins et baleines.

        L’arc-en-ciel de couleurs des poissons tropicaux et des coraux est éblouissant, créant un épatant paysage sous-marin.

        Sites de plongée au Costa Rica

        La côte Pacifique offre certainement un grand nombre d’excellents sites de plongée, abritant un spectre complet d’espèces de poissons et coraux tropicaux. Les itinéraires de croisière au Costa Rica permettent d’explorer la plupart de ces sites lors d’un seul voyage.

        L’Île Cocos est sans doute le meilleur spot de plongée du Costa Rica. Elle est située à plus de 500 kilomètres au large du continent et une croisière plongée est la seule option pour l’atteindre. L’île reculée est une réserve sous-marine depuis plus de vingt ans, offrant un environnement sous-marin en excellent état. Les résidents les plus célèbres sont les requins marteaux très abondants, ainsi que de nombreuses autres espèces de requins et de grands pélagiques.

        L’Île Cano, située au large de la côte Pacifique sud du Costa Rica, offre une eau cristalline et est une véritable plaine de jeux tropicale pour toutes sortes d’espèces, en particulier pour certains requins de récif qui fréquentent la zone en permanence.

        Les îles Bat sont accessibles à partir de la baie de Guanacaste, située au nord-ouest du pays, et offrent les meilleures conditions de plongée sous-marine au Costa Rica. Il est possible d’y plonger toute l’année, et leur position reculée fait qu’elles sont rarement visitées, ce qui permet aux plongeurs de rencontrer des raies manta, tortues, requins, dauphins et baleines en toute tranquillité.

        Bajo Alcyone est LE site de plongée incontournable au menu de tous les itinéraires de croisière au Costa Rica. Ce site est situé à l’Île Cocos et est caractérisé par les rassemblements en masse des célèbres requins marteaux halicorne – probablement votre meilleure chance au monde d’observer ces créatures étranges mais magnifiques.

        Meilleure période pour plonger au Costa Rica

        En raison de sa position à proximité de l’équateur, il est possible de plonger aux meilleurs sites du Costa Rica toute l’année. Les différences saisonnières sont minimes – la saison sèche s’étend de décembre à mai, offrant une meilleure visibilité et une mer plus calme. Lors de la saison des pluies de juin à décembre, la visibilité est un peu moins bonne (atteignant tout de même les 25 mètres!), mais le bloom planctonique peut attirer de nombreux requins, baleines et autres créatures. La température moyenne de l’eau est un agréable 28 degrés Celsius.

        Conseils aux voyageurs

        L’espagnol est la principale langue parlée dans le pays, mais l’anglais est bien compris, surtout dans l’industrie du tourisme. Les distributeurs automatiques de monnaie locale (colon costaricain) sont nombreux et la plupart des cartes de crédit principales sont acceptées. Les prises sont similaires à celles des USA (2 broches), avec une tension de 110V et une fréquence de 60Hz.

        En ce qui concerne le matériel de plongée, la plupart des bateaux de croisière ont de l’équipement disponible à la location; veillez à les contacter lors de la réservation. Les plongeurs peuvent également apporter leur propre matériel et devraient se munir de leur brevet et de leur carnet de plongée.

        Comment s’y rendre et ports de départ

        Les bateaux de croisière au Costa Rica peuvent démarrer de différents ports en fonction du tour-opérateur. La plupart mettent les voiles à Puntarenas, un port situé à 90 minutes en voiture de San José, la capitale. Consultez votre itinéraire puisque certains simplifient les choses en incluant le transfert de San José à Puntarenas. D’autres circuits démarrent à San José, donc le transport vers le port de départ est inclus. San José dispose d’un aéroport international bien desservi par de grandes compagnies aériennes. La plupart des vols transitent par les USA, et il vaut toujours mieux vérifier les exigences de visa de transit. Si vous embarquez à bord d’un bateau de croisière dans la région de Guanacaste, vous pouvez prendre un vol direct de l’étranger atterrissant à l’aéroport international Daniel Oduber proche.

        Un petit nombre de bateaux de croisière explorant les eaux du Costa Rica démarrent en fait du Panama – du port Puerto Pedegral situé près de la ville de David, qui peut être atteinte en bus (environ 7 heures) ou par vol intérieur à partir de la ville de Panama. L’aéroport de la ville de Panama est bien desservi par des vols internationaux.

        Considérations

        Liveaboard.com offre un vaste éventail de bateaux et tour-opérateurs de croisière plongée couvrant tous les budgets entre 250$ et 500$ par personne par nuit. Chaque bateau de croisière est différent, mais vous devrez souvent payer les frais d’entrée aux parcs marins, plans d’évacuation d’urgence, taxes d’aéroport et de carburant en supplément. Suivant votre nationalité, vous pouvez entrer au Costa Rica sans besoin d’un visa avec un passeport ayant une date de validité d’au moins 6 mois à la date du voyage, mais veillez à vérifier ces exigences bien à l’avance.

        En raison de l’isolement de certains sites de plongée du Costa Rica, de nombreux tour-opérateurs exigent que les plongeurs soient brevetés Advanced Open Water avec un minimum de 30-50 plongées.

        Comme toujours, il est vivement recommandé de se munir d’une assurance voyage adéquate.

        Costa Rica Avis sur les plongées

        9,0
        Fabuleux (sur 10) 10
        Note moyenne pour 15 Avis vérifié(s) Seules les personnes ayant réservé et voyagé à travers Liveaboard.com peuvent écrire un avis.
        Gagnez du temps! Inscrivez-vous et nous vous enverrons les meilleures offres de la semaine

        Merci pour votre inscription - vous voulez encore plus d'offres? suivez-nous sur facebook

Costa Rica Liveaboard Diving

4 liveaboards in Costa Rica

With marine sanctuaries and remote islands harboring giant rays, sharks and whales, scuba diving in Costa Rica is the ultimate liveaboard adventure.

Liveaboard diving in Costa Rica is the big draw to divers who wish to explore the amazing dive area Cocos Islands - where it's become known as a hotspot for large schools of sharks. Lying between the marine rich waters of the Pacific Ocean and Caribbean Sea, Costa Rica is a small but bold Central American country, blessed with stunning rainforests, diverse wildlife, and incredible scuba diving. Liveaboard diving in Costa Rica will allow the adventurous to travel far out to sea, exposing themselves to an underwater world rarely matched across the globe. It may surprise some to learn that unlike several of it's neighbouring countries whose diving is concentrated around the Caribbean, Costa Rica's best sites are mostly found in the Pacific.

There really are endless opportunities for every level of diver, but by far and away the best sites are accessible only via liveaboard dive tour which often last more than 10 days and allow multiple dives per day. Several different sites will make for an unforgettable dive trip - shark diving at the Cocos Islands is a diver's favourite, particularly with the high the numbers of Hammerheads at Bajo Alcoyne. Combine these with the likes of Cano Island, Guanacaste and Bat Island, Costa Rica is well up there in the scuba diving hierarchy.

4 liveaboards in Costa Rica

    Sea Hunter

    from US$ 514 / day
    8.5 "Fabulous"

    Costa RicaUS$5,645 from

    • Free Nitrox

    The purpose built 35m liveaboard, the MV Sea Hunter, is an extremely stable platform for divers, offering comfortable voyages to Cocos Island, Costa Rica. The 10 cabins feature AC and an en-suite.

      Sea Hunter

      Okeanos Aggressor

      from US$ 351 / day
      9.3 "Superb"

      Costa RicaUS$4,735 from

      The 33m MV Okeanos Aggressor offers year-round dive cruises to Cocos Island. Up to 22 divers can be accommodated within 10 luxury staterooms, each with a private bath and shower, port window and AC.

        Okeanos Aggressor

        Okeanos Aggressor II

        from US$ 275 / day
        8.9 "Fabulous"

        Costa RicaUS$5,135 from

        The MV Okeanos Aggressor II is fitted with 11 deluxe staterooms that cater up to 22 guests on their voyage to Cocos Island. Each is equipped with a private bathroom and shower, and climate control.

        Okeanos Aggressor II

        Liveaboard Dive Trips in Costa Rica

        Liveaboard.com features many different diving boats, each one ensuring comfort, safety and of course fabulous underwater experiences. Vessels come in many shapes and sizes, from large cruising yachts, to converted submarine support boats, all offering itineraries to suit everyone. Tours range from anything between 11 to 18 days, obviously meaning that you can log a large number of dives, but also allowing the odd day of relaxation on deck if you want, without losing out on a significant proportion of available dive time.

        Diving cruises normally depart early in the morning with some operators offering a pick up service from your choice of accommodation. A few liveaboard itineraries will include a hotel stay for the night before the tour sets sail. Getting to the remote dive sites of Costa Rica can take nearly 2 days, but your reward for this voyage involves jumping into some of the most isolated and unspoilt marine reserves on the planet. Generally the crew will arrange a 'check' dive to begin with so the guides can assess the general level and tailor the dive safari to best meet the needs of all the guests. This test dive will be on a beautiful reef, offering gentle, easy conditions to get into the swing of things prior to a busy few days!

        The biodiversity afforded by the Pacific waters of Costa Rica is incredible, with pristine reef systems that support a wide range of marine life. There are sharks here in abundance, with other large animals such as Manta Rays, Dolphins and Whales.

        The array of colours on show from the huge variety of reef fish and corals are dazzling, creating a stunning underwater landscape.

        Dive Sites and Areas of Costa Rica

        The Pacific coast in particular boasts a number of great dive sites, home to the full range of tropical coral and fish species. Liveaboard cruises allow exploration of a vast majority of these during a single trip.

        Cocos Islands is perhaps Costa Rica's best dive area. It's located over 500 kilometres from the mainland and so the only way to get here is by live aboard. The Island has been a marine reserve for more than 30 years, and so when combined with it's remoteness, means that the diving here is pristine. It's most famous residents are Hammerhead Sharks which are regularly seen in abundance, along with many other shark species and large pelagics.

        With some of the clearest waters in Central America, Cano Island, off the south pacific coast of Costa Rica, is a tropical playground for all manner of species, in particular various different reef sharks which frequent the area constantly.

        The Bat Islands are accessed by a visit to Guanacaste bay in the north west of the country, and have some of the best conditions for diving in Costa Rica. Diving is all year round, and due to the isolated position is rarely visited, allowing divers to enjoy Mantas, Turtles, Sharks, Dolphins and Whales in relative peace.

        Probably THE place to dive, and on all liveaboard itineraries in Costa Rica, is the site of Bajo Alcyone - within the Cocos Islands. It's here that the famous elegant scalloped Hammerhead Sharks can be seen - it's unlikely that you'll visit anywhere else in the world that has a better chance of viewing these odd, yet beautiful creatures.

        When To Go

        Due to it's position near the equator, diving at Costa Rica's best sites is possible year round. There are slight seasonal differences - the dry season is from December to May, thus offering calmer seas and the best visibility. In the rainy season from June to December, the visibility is normally slightly less (although still commonly up to 25 metres!), but the increase in plankton can result in higher numbers of sharks, whales, and other marine life. Water temperature on average is a pleasant 28 degrees Celsius.

        Tips for Travellers

        Spanish is spoken nationally as the main language, but English is widely understood, especially in the tourism industry. ATMs are generally easy to find and will dispense the local currency - the Costa Rican Colon - and most major credit cards are widely accepted. Plug sockets are similar to the US (2 pronged), with a voltage of 110V and frequency 60Hz.

        Gear wise, most liveaboard operators will have equipment available to rent on board, although you'll need to let them know when you book. Divers are welcome to bring their own equipment, and are advised to have their certification and log books on hand.

        How To Get There And Points Of Departure

        Liveaboard dive trips in Costa Rica tend to depart from a few different ports, depending on the operator. Many will leave from Puntarenas, which is around a 90 minute drive from the capital San Jose. Check with your cruise operator, as some will arrange a transfer from San Jose to Puntarenas, which simplifies things. Others actually start the tour in San Jose, and so transport to the relevant harbour is included. San Jose has a well served international airport, with several large airlines flying directly here. Most flights transit through the US, and so it's a good idea to check US transit visa requirements. If you are embarking on a liveaboard tour in the Guanacaste region, you may be able to fly directly into the nearby Daniel Oduber International Airport from overseas.

        A small number of dive cruises through Costa Rica actually start in Panama - at Puerto Pedegral near the city of David, which can be reached via bus (around 7 hours) or domestic flight from Panama City. It's easy to fly into Panama City from many international locations.

        Considerations

        Liveaboard.com has a range of different boats and operators, covering a wide range of budgets, from approximately $250USD to $500USD per person per night. Each liveaboard diving tour operator is different, but often extras that you'll need to bear in mind are marine park fees, emergency evacuation plan, airport departure taxes, and fuel surcharges. Depending on your nationality, you may be able to visit Costa Rica without a visa. However, you should check this well in advance of travelling. It's normally necessary to have 6 months validity on your passport, but again this should be checked.

        Due to the remoteness of several dive sites in Costa Rica, many operators require divers to hold an Advanced Open Water qualification with a minimum of 30 - 50 logged dives.

        As ever, it’s always recommended to purchase suitable travel insurance.

        Costa Rica Diving Reviews

        9.2
        Superb (out of 10) 10
        Average score from 10 Verified Review(s) Only people who have booked through Liveaboard.com and joined the Liveaboard can write a review.
        United States
        9.6
        Exceptional

        Wonderful, minus being seasick on the way to cocos Island.

        Diving Costa Rica in October on the Okeanos Aggressor
        United Kingdom
        9.2
        Superb

        Lovely country, friendly and felt very safe indeed. Beautiful environment, with wildlife everywhere.

        Diving Costa Rica in August on the Okeanos Aggressor
        Spain
        9.2
        Superb

        Fantastic, looking forward to go back at some point.

        Diving Costa Rica in August on the Okeanos Aggressor II
        Netherlands
        9.2
        Superb

        Costa rica is a amazing! People are friendly and nature pristine.

        Diving Costa Rica in May on the Okeanos Aggressor II
        Russia
        8.0
        Very good

        Great country. Excellent hotel. A little bit more sun would be nice. Food in hotels is quite expensive. Prices on the same level as in Switzerland and dining is much more expensive than in Germany

        Diving Costa Rica in April on the Sea Hunter
        Spain
        9.6
        Exceptional

        Friendly people from airport to the boat.

        Diving Costa Rica in February on the Okeanos Aggressor
        Denmark
        9.2
        Superb

        It was great but as i wrote before we didnt get to see the scolling hammerheads

        Diving Costa Rica in December on the Okeanos Aggressor
        Sweden
        9.2
        Superb

        Very good, waters around Cocos are totally different from the coast (Cocos looks like paradise)

        Diving Costa Rica in November on the Sea Hunter
        United Kingdom
        9.6
        Exceptional

        Fantastic, bull sharks at bhats

        Diving Costa Rica in August on the Okeanos Aggressor
        France
        9.2
        Superb

        I also dived at Islas Murcielago and absolutely loved the two, once again, very different dive sites : Gran Susto and Bajo Negro. It would have made sense to dive with nitrox there but I do not think that the option was offered by Playa del Coco dive centers. The local dives at Playa del Coco were not bad at all either and I was actually quite pleasantly surprised by them. I was a little bit disappointed by the two tank dive trip that I took to Isla del Caño though. The two dives were very short (35-40mn) and the sites themselves OK but nothing exceptionnal. I felt a little bit frustrated at the end of the trip and under the impression that we had not been taken to the most interesting sites of Caño (the sites we were taken to are Jardín and Ancla).

        Diving Costa Rica in August on the Wind Dancer Liveaboard
        Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

        Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook