Croisière Plongée à l’Île Cocos

Okeanos Aggressor

Okeanos Aggressor

dès US$ 230 / jour
9,0 "Superbe"

Costa RicaUS$4,899 dès

Le MV Okeanos Aggressor long de 33 m offre des croisières toute l'année à l'île Coco. 22 plongeurs peuvent profiter de 10 cabines de luxe avec bain et douche, hublot et climatisation.

    Okeanos Aggressor
    Okeanos Aggressor II

    Okeanos Aggressor II

    dès US$ 247 / jour
    8,6 "Fabuleux"

    Costa RicaUS$5,299 dès

    Le MV Okeanos Aggressor II dispose de 11 cabines de luxe hébergeant 22 plongeurs pour explorer l'île Cocos. Chaque cabine dispose d'une douche et de climatisation.

      Okeanos Aggressor II
      Argo

      Argo

      dès US$ 435 / jour
      9,3 "Superbe"

      Costa RicaUS$6,305 dès

      • Nitrox gratuit

      Découvrez l'île Coco reculée et inviolée à bord du MV Argo, un yacht de luxe de 40 m de long. 18 passagers sont hébergés en tout confort dans 9 cabines de luxe à climatisation individuelle.

      Argo

      Plonger en croisière à l’Île Cocos

      Les bateaux de croisière à l’Île Cocos emmènent les plongeurs à environ 550 kilomètres au large de la côte Pacifique du Costa Rica pour profiter des eaux riches en nutriments et en créatures marines de toutes les tailles et de toutes les formes qui émerveilleront les amateurs de plongée sous-marine les plus férus. L’Île Cocos du Costa Rica offre certains des meilleurs sites de plongée sous-marine d’Amérique Centrale, et étant donné que la région inclut également le Belize, le Mexique et le Honduras, ce n’est pas peu dire. Son isolement et la protection fournie par le gouvernement costaricain (c’est une réserve marine depuis vingt ans) permettent aux sites de l’Île Cocos de rester intacts et à l’écosystème de proliférer. Toutes les espèces tropicales habituelles sont présentes en plus des grands pélagiques. Mais l’attraction principale pour de nombreux plongeurs est la quantité impressionnante de requins, en particulier de requins-marteaux, qui peuvent être observés toute l’année. La seule manière d’atteindre l’île est à bord d’un bateau de croisière pour un circuit d’au moins 10 jours dédiant suffisamment de temps à l’exploration des paysages sous-marins incroyables de ce spot immaculé du Pacifique.

      Faune et flore de l’Île Cocos

      Après un voyage de presque 2 jours à bord, vous serez impatient de vous mettre à l’eau pour découvrir pourquoi on en fait toute une histoire! Heureusement, aucun des sites de plongée de l’Île Cocos ne manque de biodiversité marine. La région mérite sa place sur la liste de tous les plongeurs en raison des grands bancs de requins marteaux qui fréquentent régulièrement de nombreux sites – et dépassent régulièrement les 100 individus! De nombreuses autres espèces de requins sont également présentes comme des requins-soyeux, à pointe noire, à pointe blanche, ainsi que le requin-tigre.

      Des raies manta et aigles sont fréquentes dans le coin, nageant sans effort dans le grand bleu, aussi majestueuses que magnifiques et offrant de merveilleuses opportunités pour les photographes. De grands bancs de carangues traversent le bleu, et grâce à la visibilité qui atteint souvent les 30 mètres, vous ne manquerez rien de toute cette action!

      Sites de plongée à l’île Cocos

      Avec plus de 20 sites de plongée à explorer, il est facile de comprendre pourquoi un bateau de croisière est la meilleure et la seule option pour plonger à l’Île Cocos. Un safari plongée à l’Île Cocos dure au moins 10 jours et l’équipage s’assurera que vous puissiez effectuer plusieurs plongées par jour afin d’inclure tous les sites dans l’itinéraire de croisière à l’Île Cocos.

      Bajo Alcyone est largement considéré comme un des meilleurs endroits au monde pour plonger avec des requins-marteaux. Le trait distinctif de ces animaux est leur forme unique, et les voir en bancs de plus de 100 individus est un spectacle vraiment épatant. Capturer l’image de ces créatures décrivant des cercles au-dessus de vous est l’une des photos les plus emblématiques d’un séjour plongée au Costa Rica. Les sites de Dirty Rock et de Manuelita Deep abritent également des requins-marteaux résidents.

      Manuelita Garden est souvent le premier site visité par les bateaux de croisière à l’Île Cocos. Ce site de plongée offre des conditions idéales pour permettre aux plongeurs de s’habituer à leur matériel et de se remettre dans le bain. Ce jardin de corail est l’un des plus beaux au Costa Rica. Sur le site de Dos Amigos Grande, l’immense arche de pierre naturelle que l’on traverse ajoute un élément intéressant et amusant à la topographie de la plongée.

      Conseils aux voyageurs

      La plongée sous-marine à l’Île Cocos était auparavant limitée aux plongeurs expérimentés et audacieux en raison de la profondeur et des forts courants présents sur certains sites, mais les croisières de plongée de longue durée ont permis l’exploration d’un éventail de sites de plongée convenant à tous les niveaux de plongeurs. Ceci dit, les opérateurs exigent souvent un minimum de 30 plongées et un brevet Advanced Open Water. Ainsi, il est important de vous munir de votre brevet et de votre carnet de plongée.

      Les plongeurs peuvent apporter leur propre matériel, mais en général le matériel peut être loué à bord; veillez toujours à vérifier ce point d’abord avec le tour-opérateur.

      Les distributeurs de billets sont nombreux sur le continent, où la plupart des cartes de crédit principales sont acceptées. La devise est le colon costaricain. Vous devriez bien vous en sortir si vous parlez l’anglais puisque c’est la langue la plus parlée dans le secteur touristique, même si la langue nationale est l’espagnol.

      Comment atteindre l’Île Cocos

      Comme nous l’avons déjà mentionné, l’Île Cocos est située à plus de 500 kilomètres des côtes. Vous devez embarquer sur un bateau de croisière pour les atteindre, et le port de départ habituel est Puntarenas, situé à environ 90 minutes en voiture de San José, la capitale. Les opérateurs de croisière incluent souvent la nuit d’hôtel à San José et le transfert au bateau dans le prix du voyage. D’autres peuvent les organiser pour vous pour un supplément. Quoi qu’il en soit, n’oubliez pas de vérifier les détails de votre itinéraire.

      L’aéroport international de San José est desservi par des vols réguliers en provenance d’Amérique du Nord. Si vous venez d’ailleurs, vous devrez probablement transiter par les USA.

      Cocos Avis sur les plongées

      8,9
      Fabuleux (sur 10) 10
      Note moyenne pour 18 Avis vérifié(s) Seules les personnes ayant réservé et voyagé à travers Liveaboard.com peuvent écrire un avis.
      Gagnez du temps! Inscrivez-vous et nous vous enverrons les meilleures offres de la semaine

      Merci pour votre inscription - vous voulez encore plus d'offres? suivez-nous sur facebook

Cocos Liveaboard Diving

Sea Hunter

from US$ 514 / day
8.5 "Fabulous"

Costa RicaUS$5,645 from

  • Free Nitrox

The purpose built 35m liveaboard, the MV Sea Hunter, is an extremely stable platform for divers, offering comfortable voyages to Cocos Island, Costa Rica. The 10 cabins feature AC and an en-suite.

    Sea Hunter

    Okeanos Aggressor

    from US$ 351 / day
    9.3 "Superb"

    Costa RicaUS$4,735 from

    The 33m MV Okeanos Aggressor offers year-round dive cruises to Cocos Island. Up to 22 divers can be accommodated within 10 luxury staterooms, each with a private bath and shower, port window and AC.

      Okeanos Aggressor

      Okeanos Aggressor II

      from US$ 275 / day
      8.9 "Fabulous"

      Costa RicaUS$5,135 from

      The MV Okeanos Aggressor II is fitted with 11 deluxe staterooms that cater up to 22 guests on their voyage to Cocos Island. Each is equipped with a private bathroom and shower, and climate control.

      Okeanos Aggressor II

      What To Expect On a Cocos Islands Liveaboard

      Cocos Islands liveaboards will take you some 550 kilometres from the Costa Rican Pacific coast, where divers will find nutrient rich waters filled with diverse marine life of all shapes and sizes, guaranteed to wow even the most experienced of underwater addicts. The Cocos Islands of Costa Rica represent some of the best diving opportunities in Central America, and considering this region includes the likes of Belize, Mexico and Honduras, that is certainly saying something. The combination of remoteness and protection afforded to it by the Costa Rican Government (it's been a marine reserve for nearly 20 years), means that the sites at Cocos Island are largely undisturbed which has allowed the ecosystem to thrive. All the usual tropical species are to be found here, along with large pelagics - but the main draw for many visitors are the sheer numbers of sharks, particularly Hammerheads, that can be seen year round. The only feasible way to get here is on a liveaboard dive trip, which tend to last for at least 10 days giving ample time to explore the stunning underwater landscape that exists in this unspoilt spot of the Pacific.

      Cocos Islands Underwater

      Having travelled for nearly 2 days on board, you'll be itching to get in the water to see what all the fuss is about! Thankfully, there's no shortage of life in each of the individual sites at Cocos. The area is deservedly on many diver's bucket dive trip lists due to the large groups of Hammerhead Sharks that are consistently seen in many sites - numbers can regularly top 100! There's plenty of other shark species to be found here as well, including Silkys, Blacktips, Whitetips, and the infamous Tiger Shark.

      Manta and Eagle Rays are always seen, gliding effortlessly through the blue, as majestic as they are beautiful, offering some wonderful photo opportunities. Schools of fish such as Jacks can be viewed in vast numbers, and because the visibility commonly reaches 30 metres you can be sure that none of this action will go unnoticed.

      Dive Sites of Cocos Islands

      With over 20 dive sites to explore, it's easy to see why a live aboard is the best and only way to dive Cocos Island. With each dive safari lasting at least 10 days, the crew will ensure you can undertake a few dives per day in order to include each spot in your itinerary.

      Bajo Alcyone is widely recognised as one of the best places on the planet to dive with Hammerhead Sharks. Their unique body shape is this animal's distinguishing feature, and seeing them as part of groups in excess of 100 is a truly staggering sight. Viewing these graceful creatures circling above you makes for one of the most iconic photographs of any Costa Rican dive trip. Other sites with many resident Hammerheads include Dirty Rock, and Manuelita Deep

      Manuelita Garden is often the first site that liveaboards stop at, giving easy and gentle conditions to allow divers to get used to their equipment and tune up their skills. The coral garden here is one of the finest in Costa Rica. The giant swim through and huge natural arch at Dos Amigos Grande provide an interesting and fun element to the diving here as well.

      Top Tips For Divers

      Diving at the Cocos Islands used to be limited to experienced and daring divers due to the depth and strong currents at some of the sites, however liveaboard dive cruises lasting for many days have allowed exploration of a range of sites that suit many experience levels. Having said that, often operators will require a minimum of 30 logged dives and an Advanced Open Water qualification. As such, it's important to bring your log book and certification.

      Divers are welcome to bring their own equipment, but generally it's available to rent onboard, although this should be checked first.

      ATMs are found fairly easily on the mainland, where most major credit cards are widely accepted. Currency is the Costa Rican Colon. You'll get on fine speaking English as it's commonly spoken especially within the tourism sector, although Spanish is the national language.

      Getting to the Cocos Islands

      As we've mentioned, the Cocos Islands are over 500 kilometres from the mainland. You'll need to get onboard a liveaboard boat to get there, and the common departure point is the port of Punterenas, around a 90 minute drive from the capital San Jose. Commonly liveaboard operators will include a hotel night in San Jose and then transfer to the vessel as part of the tour. Others can arrange this for you as an extra. Either way, please check with your operator.

      San Jose International Airport has regular flights to and from North America; if you are coming from outside the Americas then it's likely you'll transfer through the US.


      Cocos Diving Reviews

      9.0
      Superb (out of 10) 10
      Average score from 13 Verified Review(s) Only people who have booked through Liveaboard.com and joined the Liveaboard can write a review.
      United States
      8.4
      Very good

      Abundance of fish. Great experience. Action and plenty of sharks

      Diving Cocos in November on the Okeanos Aggressor II
      Norway
      8.4
      Very good

      the weather and visibility was not that good. But even tough we didn't have the conditions with us, it was really good.

      Diving Cocos in September on the Okeanos Aggressor
      United States
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Fantastic.

      Diving Cocos in October on the Okeanos Aggressor
      United Kingdom
      9.2
      Superb

      Fabulous, second to none. Schooling hammerheads, tiger sharks and white tips galore. Vis was better and currents more manageable than expected - even the crossing could have been worse.

      Diving Cocos in August on the Okeanos Aggressor
      Spain
      9.2
      Superb

      Absolutely met my expectations. Lots of "big stuff", meaning most kind of sharks, huge hammerhead schools, big tiger sharks, galapagos shark, white and black tips, etc. Not too cold water temperature, except from some funny-cold-as-hell thermoclines :) Strong current at some dive sites, so

      Diving Cocos in August on the Okeanos Aggressor II
      Netherlands
      9.2
      Superb

      Diving in Cocos is "it". The best diving i ever experienced

      Diving Cocos in May on the Okeanos Aggressor II
      Russia
      8.0
      Very good

      Excellent trip overall. Too much rain for my taste.

      Diving Cocos in April on the Sea Hunter
      United States
      8.8
      Fabulous

      To warm for hammerheads, sadly, but nice

      Diving Cocos in March on the Okeanos Aggressor
      Spain
      9.6
      Exceptional

      were expecting more hammer heads but swimming with a whale shark was amazing!!!

      Diving Cocos in February on the Okeanos Aggressor
      Denmark
      9.2
      Superb

      It was very good but we didnt get to see the hammerheads while the watertemp maybe was too high

      Diving Cocos in December on the Okeanos Aggressor
      Sweden
      9.2
      Superb

      Amazing, eventful, hard-core

      Diving Cocos in November on the Sea Hunter
      United Kingdom
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Out of this world

      Diving Cocos in August on the Okeanos Aggressor
      France
      9.2
      Superb

      The visibility was sometimes quite poor (but I expected that anyways), sometimes much better, but whatever the conditions, most dives were fabulous, diversified and very fun !

      Diving Cocos in August on the Wind Dancer Liveaboard
      Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

      Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook