Croisière plongée à Abu Nuhas

Snefro Pearl

Snefro Pearl

dès US$ 102 / jour
9,3 "Superbe"

EgypteUS$997 dès

  • Nitrox gratuit
  • Wifi gratuit

Lancé en 2012, le MV Snefro Pearl de 29 m est parfait pour les petits groupes de 12 plongeurs. L'agencement intelligent utilise l'espace et maximise l'éclairage, ofrant un voyage en Mer Rouge idéal.

    Snefro Pearl
    Emperor Superior

    Emperor Superior

    dès US$ 110 / jour
    9,2 "Superbe"

    EgypteUS$939 dès

    • Nitrox gratuit
    • Wifi gratuit

    L'Emperor Superior offre une sélection d'itinéraires de croisière pour garantir la meilleure expérience de la Mer Rouge possible: The Famous Five, Simply the Best, Reefs & Wrecks, et Classic Cruise.

      Emperor Superior
      Excellence

      Excellence

      dès US$ 117 / jour
      10,0 "Exceptionnel"

      EgypteUS$1,174 dès

      • Nitrox gratuit
      • Wifi gratuit

      Les itinéraires de croisière du MY Excellence incluent les célèbres sites de Tiran, les îles Brothers, Daedalus et Elphinstone en Mer Rouge. Il dispose de 11 cabines avec douche.

      Excellence

      Plonger en croisière à Abu Nuhas, en Egypte

      Le spot de plongée sous-marine d’Abu Nuhas n’est pas appelé le ‘cimetière des bateaux’ pour rien! Ce paradis pour amateurs de plongée épave est situé à environ 2 heures au nord d’Hurghada. Abu Nuhas, qui signifie ‘Père de la malchance,’ est un récif submergé ayant causé l’échouage d’au moins 5 bateaux, y compris l’épave la plus ancienne de la Mer Rouge, le cargo britannique Carnatic.

      Les épaves d’Abu Nuhas sont idéalement explorées à bord d’un bateau de croisière. Nos yachts de safari plongée à Abu Nuhas explorent le nord de la Mer Rouge et le Sinaï au départ de Charm el-Cheikh ou d’Hurghada, incluant les meilleurs sites de plongée et épaves de la région.

      Faune et flore sous-marine d’Abu Nuhas

      Le point fort d’un séjour plongée à Abu Nuhas est évidemment les épaves. Ayant passé pas mal de temps sous l’eau, les épaves sont à présent colonisées par de magnifiques coraux colorés et abritent une faune marine abondante.

      Sites de plongée d’Abu Nuhas

      Les 4 épaves suivantes sont l’attraction principale des plongeurs à Abu Nuhas. Les voici, de la plus ancienne à la plus récente…

      Le Carnatic est le favori des plongeurs en Mer Rouge. Le cargo faisait route vers l’Inde en septembre 1869 quand il s’est échoué avec sa cargaison d’or, de porto et de cuivre. Il est d’abord resté en équilibre sur le sommet du récif avant de se briser en deux et de couler à une profondeur d’environ 25 mètres. Le ravitailleur de 90 mètres de long gît sur son flanc bâbord et est en bon état. Plus de cent ans plus tard, vous pouvez plonger toute la longueur du Carnatic et admirer les barrots incrustés d’alcyonaires et d’hydroïdes, et colonisés par des nudibranches, rascasses, poissons-hachettes, poissons de verre et Platax.

      Le Kimon M était un cargo transportant des lentilles de la Turquie jusqu’à Bombay quand, voyageant à plein régime, il a heurté le coin nord-est du récif d’Abu Nuhas en décembre 1978. Heureusement, le cargo ‘Interasja’ qui passait par là a immédiatement répondu aux appels de détresse et a pu secourir l’équipage et le ramener à Suez. Le Kimon M gît à présent à environ 32 m de profondeur sur son flanc tribord. Il est presque complètement intact et est un site excitant à explorer, offrant passages et traits intéressants.

      Lors de son dernier voyage, en août 1981, le Chrisoula K, ou ‘l’épave du carrelage’, s’est échoué à Abu Nuhas. Ce cargo grec transportait du carrelage italien vers la ville de Djeddah quand il a heurté le coin nord-est du récif à plein régime. Heureusement, tout l’équipage a été secouru et le Chrisoula K repose à présent dans une position presque verticale sur un banc de sable dégagé. L’épave est facilement accessible aux plongeurs, à une profondeur maximale de 26 mètres et minimale de 3 mètres sous la surface. Elle est à présent incrustée de coraux durs abritant vers plats, rascasses volantes, balistes et girelles bossues, et offre des tas de passages et la possibilité de pénétrer dans la salle des machines.

      Enfin, le célèbre Giannis D, un cargo transportant du bois de construction ayant coulé en 1983. Il gît à un angle de 45 degrés à 24 mètres de profondeur en eau claire, et la poupe et la proue sont toujours intactes. Les plongeurs peuvent facilement explorer les pièces et passages pour découvrir bancs de poissons de verre, rascasses, gobies, nudibranches, pieuvres et murènes géantes; sa cheminée et son célèbre ‘D’ ont souvent été photographiés.

      Il y a des vestiges d’autres épaves dans la zone, ce qui n’est pas surprenant vu la position du récif d’Abu Nuhas dans le chenal de navigation, mais les 4 épaves ci-dessus sont les plus accessibles aux plongeurs loisir.

      Conseils aux plongeurs

      Descendez et remontez le long d’un bout si possible. Le bout vous emmène généralement au début de la plongée. Parfois, la visibilité peut être mauvaise, et faites attention au courant qui peut vous emmener dans le bleu.

      Faites attention lors de la pénétration des épaves. Ecoutez bien le briefing de la plongée; le guide sait où vous pouvez et ne pouvez pas entrer pour votre propre sécurité. Certaines parties de l’épave pourraient être endommagées, ce qui peut être dangereux, et il pourrait y avoir du verre cassé, des clous ou des objets pointus.

      Surveillez fréquemment votre consommation d’air et votre temps fond. C’est facile de perdre la notion du temps en plongeant sur épave, mais également de plonger à multi-niveaux pour rester dans la courbe de non-décompression; veillez à remonter quand votre ordinateur vous le signale.

      Emportez un parachute de palier. En plongeant sur épave, il est possible de remonter à un endroit différent que les autres membres de votre palanquée. Un parachute permet de signaler votre position au bateau situé en surface.

      Comment se rendre à Abu Nuhas

      La meilleure option pour explorer Abu Nuhas est à bord d’un bateau de croisière en Mer Rouge qui démarre soit de Charm el-Cheikh, soit d’Hurghada; deux villes ayant un aéroport international et également desservies par des vols intérieurs à partir du Caire.

      Abu Nuhas Avis sur les plongées

      9,2
      Superbe (sur 10) 10
      Note moyenne pour 18 Avis vérifié(s) Seules les personnes ayant réservé et voyagé à travers Liveaboard.com peuvent écrire un avis.
      Gagnez du temps! Inscrivez-vous et nous vous enverrons les meilleures offres de la semaine

      Merci pour votre inscription - vous voulez encore plus d'offres? suivez-nous sur facebook

Abu Nuhas Liveaboard Diving

Emperor Superior

Emperor Superior

from US$ 89 / day
9.5 "Exceptional"

EgyptUSD973 from

  • Free Nitrox
  • Free WiFi

The Emperor Superior offers a great selection of itineraries to ensure the best possible Red Sea experience including The Famous Five, Simply the Best, Reefs & Wrecks, and the Classic Cruise.

    Emperor Superior
    Snefro Love

    Snefro Love

    from US$ 104 / day
    10.0 "Exceptional"

    EgyptUSD953 from

    • Free Nitrox
    • Free WiFi

    This fantastic Red Sea liveaboard, the Snefro Love, features 10 well-equipped cabins, each with their own en-suite and air conditioning. She will comfortably hold 20 guests for a relaxing cruise.

      Snefro Love
      Snefro Pearl

      Snefro Pearl

      from US$ 108 / day
      9.3 "Superb"

      EgyptUSD950 from

      • Free Nitrox
      • Free WiFi

      Introduced in 2012, the 29m MV Snefro Pearl is perfect for smaller groups of divers, up to 12. The clever design utilises space and maximises light, offering guests a magnificent Red Sea voyage.

      Snefro Pearl

      Egypt Dive Area : Abu Nuhas

      Abu Nuhas, also known as 'the Ships Graveyard' is a wreck divers delight. Located around 2 hours north of Hurghada, the name Abu Nuhas means "Father of Bad Luck", and with good reason! This submerged reef has caused the sinking of at least 5 ships here, including the oldest ship wreck available to divers in the Red Sea, the British cargo ship, the Carnatic.

      The easiest way to dive the wrecks at Abu Nuhas is by liveaboard. Our dive safari yachts to the northern Sinai, departing from Sharm el Sheikh or Hurghada, include this fabulous dive area in their itineraries.

      Abu Nuhas Underwater

      The highlights of diving Abu Nuhas are of course the wrecks, but due to the amount of time the wrecks have been underwater (the Carnatic sank in 1869), there is abundant marine life and beautiful vibrant corals that have encrusted the wrecks over the years.

      Dive Sites Of Abu Nuhas

      The 4 wrecks below are the main reason people dive Abu Nuhas. Starting from oldest to newest....

      The Carnatic is a favourite amongst Red Sea divers. She was en-route to India when in September 1869 she ran aground laden with gold, port wine and copper. She was initially balanced on top of the reef, but didn't stay there for long before breaking in half and resting next to the reef at around 25m/82ft. The 90m (297ft) passenger supply vessel lies on her port side, and is in good condition. Over 100 years later you can dive the whole length of the Carnatic, and her beams encrusted with soft coral and hydroids, whilst common inhabitants are nudibranchs, scorpionfish, sweepers, glassfish and batfish.

      The Kimon M was a cargo ship transporting lentils from Turkey to Bombay when she met her fate on the Abu Nuhas reef in December 1978. She was travelling at full speed when she hit the north-east corner of the reef. Fortunately the passing cargo ship the 'Interasja' immediately responded to the distress calls and was able to take all the crew to safety to Suez. Now the Kimon M rests at around 32m/106ft on her starboard side. She is almost fully intact so makes an excellent dive with swim-throughs and interesting features.

      On her final journey, the Chrisoula K, also known as the 'Tile Wreck', met her end in August 1981. She was a Greek freighter transporting Italian tiles to Jeddah, when she also collided with the the north-east corner of the Abu Nuhas reef at full speed. Fortunately, all the crew were rescued and the Chrisoula K now rests in an almost upright position in an open sandy area. She is extremely accessible for divers, with the deepest point being in 26m/86ft of water, and the shallowest part is only 3m/10ft below the surface. She is now encrusted with hard corals harboring flatworms, lionfish, triggerfish and clown sand wrasse and offers plenty of swim-throughs and penetration opportunities to her engine room.

      Last, but certainly not least, is the famous Giannis D, a cargo vessel transporting timber when she sank in 1983. She lies at a 45 degree angle in 24m of clear water with the stern and bow still intact. Divers can easily explore the rooms and passageways, to discover schools of glassfish, scorpionfish, gobies, nudibranchs, octopus and giant moray eels, whilst her funnel with its famous "D" has been much photographed.

      There are remnants of other wrecks in the area, which is no surprise as the Abu Nuhas reef is right in the shipping canal lane, but the above 4 are the most accessible for recreational divers.

      Top Tips For Divers

      Use the descent line if one is available. The line generally will take you to the start of the dive. Sometimes the visibility can be stirred up and if there is strong current the line will take you right to the start point

      Be careful with wreck penetration. Make sure you listen carefully to the dive briefing as your guide will know where you can and can not go for your own safety. Some parts of the wrecks may be falling apart which can cause hazards, or there may be broken glass, nails or sharp objects around.

      Monitor your air supply and watch your no-deco time more frequently. It is easy to lose track of time when diving a wreck, but easy to multi-level your dive to stay within no-deco limits, so make sure you come shallower when your dive computer tells you to.

      Be sure to have an SMB. When exploring a wreck your surface point may not be at the same place as everyone else. Having an SMB means the boat will be able to spot you and your buddy and come and pick you up.

      Getting There

      The best way to get to Abu Nuhas is by Red Sea liveaboard which will depart from either Sharm El Sheihk or Hurghada. Hurghada and Sharm El Sheikh both have international airports and also serve domestic flights from Cairo.

      Abu Nuhas Diving Reviews

      9.3
      Superb (out of 10) 10
      Average score from 15 Verified Review(s) Only people who have booked through Liveaboard.com and joined the Liveaboard can write a review.
      South Africa
      10.0
      Exceptional

      incredible - those wrecks were something to see

      Diving Abu Nuhas in March on the Emperor Superior
      United States
      10.0
      Exceptional

      great!

      Diving Abu Nuhas in February on the Red Sea Adventurer
      United Kingdom
      8.4
      Very good

      Rough and an experience but that's just the weather. Getting to the sites on the rhib was an adventure but at all times the crew made it safe and enjoyable. The wrecks were great and easy to navigate.

      Diving Abu Nuhas in December on the Emperor Elite
      Germany
      9.6
      Exceptional

      We did three of the four wrecks. My favourite: the 'Carnatic'.

      Diving Abu Nuhas in November on the Emperor Superior
      Sweden
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Great!

      Diving Abu Nuhas in June on the Snefro Love
      Norway
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Good

      Diving Abu Nuhas in April on the Emperor Superior
      Sweden
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Good!

      Diving Abu Nuhas in April on the Emperor Asmaa
      Canada
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Amazing Visibility. Lots of life and things to see.

      Diving Abu Nuhas in April on the Snefro Pearl
      United States
      9.2
      Superb

      Good introduction to the week

      Diving Abu Nuhas in March on the Blue Fin Liveaboard
      United Kingdom
      9.2
      Superb

      Good

      Diving Abu Nuhas in March on the Emperor Superior
      China
      10.0
      Exceptional

      It's amazing

      Diving Abu Nuhas in February on the Red Sea Adventurer
      China
      7.2
      Good

      It is ok.

      Diving Abu Nuhas in February on the Red Sea Adventurer
      Norway
      8.8
      Fabulous

      Fantastic soft corals

      Diving Abu Nuhas in December on the Emperor Asmaa
      United States
      8.4
      Very good

      Excellent

      Diving Abu Nuhas in December on the Blue Pearl Liveaboard
      Canada
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Excellent

      Diving Abu Nuhas in October on the Snefro Love
      Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

      Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook