Croisières plongée - Îles Similan

À quoi s’attendre lors d’un séjour plongée aux îles Similan

Les croisières aux îles Similan vous emmènent découvrir le spot de prédilection de cette destination de plongée si recherchée qu’est la Thaïlande. Les îles Similan sont définitivement considérées comme un incontournable absolu de la plongée sous-marine. Archipel de 9 îles de granite situé à 100 km au nord-ouest de Phuket et 65 km au large de la province de Phang Nga en mer d’Andaman, les Similans furent déclarées Parc National en 1982, ce qui entama d’apporter à la région son statut de “plongée d’exception”. Au cours d’un safari aux îles Similans vous aurez la chance de profiter d’une grande variété de tableaux sous-marins dépeignant un écosystème incroyablement diversifié. Ces tableaux enchanteurs incluent grands blocs rocheux, cavernes intimes, récifs sublimes et passages intrigants, dont les pensionnaires représentent plus de 500 espèces animales ; depuis coraux durs et mous jusqu’aux imposants pélagiques. La côte est peut se vanter d’une visibilité exceptionnelle avec des courants faibles à modérés, en revanche, les eaux de la côte ouest sont plus profondes et plus fortes en courant. Avec une telle variété de sites, il est évident que le meilleur moyen de rendre honneur aux îles Similan est de pouvoir en faire l’exploration à bord d’un confortable bateau de croisière plongée.

Les îles Similan sous l’eau

Les paysages des îles Similan sont un véritable régal pour les yeux, aussi bien sous la surface qu’au dessus. Plages de sables fins, mer incroyablement turquoise et rochers de granite épousant le tout… un véritable décor de carte postale. On comprend volontiers pourquoi ce petit paradis difficile à égaler est l’un des sites de plongée favoris au monde. Les bateaux de séjour plongée sont préférés car ils rendent l’accès à ces îles reculées plus facile et leur exploration plus agréable et décontractée. Les paysages aquatiques de ces îles regorgent d’une foisonnante vie marine qui comprend communément requins léopards, requins guitares, pointes blanches, raies pastenagues à points bleus, balistes clowns, sigans, poissons scorpions, vivaneaux, lethrinidaes, carangues à grosse-tête et poissons anges. Les tortues et poissons perroquets à bosses font d'opportunes apparitions, quant aux plongeurs méticuleux ils pourront trouver de petits poissons-fantômes (solenostomus), crevettes-mantes, crabes porcelaine, ou crevettes nettoyeuses. Vous pourrez admirer paisiblement ces adorables créatures tout en flânant dans un décor fabuleux de massifs blocs rocheux dont la taille est tout simplement spectaculaire.

Les sites de plongée des îles Similan

Les itinéraires de croisière aux Similans peuvent varier mais les sites les plus visités incluent :

Anita’s Reef sur la côte est, juste au large de la 4ème île des Similans, offre de superbes formations coralliennes et rocheuses abritant une époustouflante biodiversité : depuis les carangues bleues, surmulets à nageoires jaunes et demoiselles bleues cyan jusqu’aux symbiotiques gobies/crevettes. Le courant faible donne à ce site un attrait idéal pour une première plongée de safari.

West of Eden situé au nord-ouest de l’île 6, consiste en un fructueux récif de corail dur ainsi que de grands blocs de granite si caractéristiques de la région. Les résidents permanents du récif incluent poissons chauve-souris, tortues et pieuvres ; dans les galeries rocheuses ont peut aussi trouver poissons grenouilles, murènes ruban, murènes géantes et barracudas. Gardez toujours un oeil tourné vers le grand bleu pour les grands pélagiques.

Elephant Head Rock, nommé d’après un imposant rocher perçant la surface, il le plus large pinacle des Similans et est percé de superbes passages sous-marins. Il s’agit d’un site plus difficile en raison de forts courants. Vous pourrez peut-être voir requins pointes blanches, poissons chauve-souris, carangues et barracudas circuler aux alentours pendant que les photographes assoiffés de macro se rueront sur les superbes crevettes-mantes, gobies de feu, crabes porcelaine ou crevettes nettoyeuses.

Donald Duck Bay - d’après l’un des rochers qui ressemble au personnage - est localisé au nord-ouest de l’île 8. Très populaire pour les plongées de nuit, le site sera aussi tout particulièrement apprécié des amateurs de macro. Dans les interstices de granite l’on trouve crevettes impériales, crabes rouges, crabes décorateurs, tritons géants et conus, pieuvres rouges, seiches et tortues vertes.

Boulder City est un large bloc granitique en forme d’éperon submergé à environ 1 km au large de la côte est de l’île 3 ; son sol sablonneux est jonché d’une pêle-mêle de rochers éparpillés. Un site pour les plongeurs plus avancés. Le courant y amène parfois requins baleines et raies mantas.

Shark Fin Reef Une nouvelle série d’amas rocheux - typiques de la région - recouverts de gorgones et de corail dur, dont l’opulente faune marine compte, entre autres, labres napoléon, tortues, poissons coffre, balistes clowns, bancs de poissons chauve-souris, barbarays jaunes, chirurgiens bleus, poissons-anges à front jaune et poissons-cochers.

Honeymoon Bay s’étend au nord-ouest de l’île 5. Sa situation protégée en fait un endroit idéal pour le mouillage et les plongées de nuit pendant lesquelles crabes de récif, crevettes, langoustes, seiches et requins nourrices abandonnent leurs cachettes pour trouver de la nourriture. Le récif, d’une profondeur moyenne de 15-20 m, est parsemé de coraux durs. Ne manquez pas les timides anguilles-jardinières qui pointent leur nez rond au dehors des fonds sablonneux.

Christmas Point, fidèle à son nom, est l’un des sites les plus colorés et pittoresques des îles Similan, situé au large de l'île 9. Ce décor féérique dévoile d’immenses arches dont la topographie exceptionnelle forment parmi les plus beaux passages sous-marins des Similans.

D’autres sites de plongée incluent : Three Trees, Beacon Point, Breakfast Bend, Chinese Wall, Coral Reef, Deep Six, Hideaway, Deep six, North Point and Stonehenge.

Conseils Pratiques pour Plongeurs

Les croisières de plongée en Thaïlande desservant les îles Similan sont disponibles de novembre à mai. Les îles sont fermées au public le reste de l’année. La fin-février présage souvent d’une intensification du courant attirant de ce fait de larges créatures marines comme les requins baleines et raies mantas. À cette période la visibilité est de 25 à 40 m et la température de l’eau varie entre 26 et 29°C. Une combinaison de plus de 3 mm devrait être suffisante mais gardez conscience qu’après 3 plongées ou plus par jour, vous pouvez avoir froid. Si vous apportez votre propre équipement, pensez à ajouter un adaptateur DIN car la Thaïlande utilise le système standard à étrier.

Se rendre aux îles Similans

Veuillez vérifier votre itinéraire soigneusement afin d’être informé du port de départ car il peut être spécifique à votre croisière. Les bateaux partent habituellement de Chalong Pier à Phuket ou Thap Lamu à Khao Lak dans la province de Phang-Nga. Des transferts vers le port sont disponibles depuis l’Aéroport International de Phuket ou depuis votre hôtel. Veuillez noter que certaines croisières partent d’un port et peuvent revenir à un autre, ex : départ de Phuket et retour à Khao Lak. Des vols internationaux desservent Phuket ou vous pouvez obtenir un vol transfert via Bangkok.


Îles Similan Avis sur les plongées

  • 9,1 Superbe
  • 109 Commentaires Vérifiés
  • 9.6 Exceptionnel
  • YU S
  • 中国 中国

看到了很多种鱼类,以及豹纹鳗,🐙,乌贼<□:≡,傻傻的泰坦扳机鱼等,不过现在环境恶化很厉害,死珊瑚太多了,让人💔,呼吁潜水员不要用防晒霜下水,努力保护我们共同的家园。

Plonger Îles Similan dans January sur Manta Queen 1

Similan Islands Liveaboard Diving

The Junk

The Junk

from US$ 163 / day
9.1 "Superb"

ThailandUSD811 from

The Junk underwent a renovation transform it into a 33m authentic sailing vessel to explore the best dive sites of the Thai Andaman Sea from November-April. She has 6 AC cabins with en-suite bathrooms

    The Junk
    Hallelujah

    Hallelujah

    from US$ 202 / day
    9.2 "Superb"

    ThailandUSD1,011 from

    Explore the Similan Islands aboard the MV Hallelujah liveaboard. She is one of the most comfortable & largest dive liveaboards cruising the Andaman Sea from November - April. She has 13 en-suite cabins to cater to 25 guests

      Hallelujah
      Sawasdee Fasai

      Sawasdee Fasai

      from US$ 149 / day
      9.4 "Superb"

      ThailandUSD800 from

      • Free Nitrox

      The recently renovated Sawasdee Fasai liveaboard offers dive and snorkel cruises in the Andaman Sea. Explore the Similan Islands and Richelieu Rock in comfort with AC cabins, huge sun dfeck and outdoor lounge area

      Sawasdee Fasai

      What To Expect On a Similan Islands Liveaboard

      Liveaboards in Similan Islands will take divers to the most well known dive areas in the amazing dive destination of Thailand. The Similan Islands are ranked as one of the top dive destinations in the world. Made up of 9 granite islands, located 100 km Northwest of Phuket and 65km offshore from Phang Nga Province in the Andaman Sea, the Similan Islands were declared a National Park in 1982 and offer scuba divers exceptional diving adventures. Similan Island liveaboards will visit dive sites that feature varied landscapes and vibrant marine life. Massive boulders, caves, reefs and passages are home to over 500 species of hard and soft corals and astonishing pelagic life. The East Coast boasts exceptional visibility and weak to moderate currents while the West Coast waters are deeper with stronger currents. With such varied dive sites, the best way to enjoy the Similan Islands is on a premier dive liveaboard.

      Similan Islands Underwater

      The landscape of the Similan Islands are a feast to the eyes both above and underwater. From the tropical white sandy beaches and clear blue waters to the granite boulders on land and underwater, it is a paradise difficult to surpass and understandably one of the most popular dive locations in the world. It is becoming ever more popular to take a dive safari on a liveaboard due to easy access to these remote islands. An abundant marine life roams the subterranean landscape of these islands. It is common to see leopard sharks, guitar rays, whitetip sharks, blue spotted stingrays, clown trigger fish, rabbit fish, scorpion fish, snappers, emperor fish, giant trevally and angelfish. Turtles and giant bumphead parrotfish make their appearances and the sharp eyed diver may find tiny ghost pipefish, mantis shrimps, porcelain crabs or cleaner shrimp. To dive amongst the boulder formations and see their impressive size underwater is truly wondrous.

      Dive Sites Of Similan Islands

      Similan Liveaboard itineraries may vary but some popular dive sites include:

      Anita's Reef on the east coast, just off Similan Island No.4 boasts impressive coral formations, boulders this subterranean landscape provides a sanctuary for a very diverse marine life. From hunting Bluefin trevally, yellowfin goatfish, blue damsels to the very common shrimpgobies, the easy currents allow for a great first dive option for most dive trips.

      West of Eden, also known as West of Six for its location to the north-west corner of Island number 6, enjoys a healthy hard coral reef and massive granite boulders. Batfish, Turtles and Octopus are common residents to the reef. Through the rocky channels, frogfish, ribbon eels, giant morays and barracudas can also be seen. Keep an eye out in the blue for passing larger pelagics.

      Elephant Head Rock, named after a rock that jets out of the water visible from the surface, this is the biggest pinnacle in the Similans and has some fantastic swim-throughs. A more challenging dive site due to strong currents, you may see white tip reef sharks, batfish, trevally and barracuda can often be seen on the perimeter of the boulders and the avid macro photographer can look out for smashing mantis shrimp, fire gobies, porcelain crabs and cleaner shrimps.

      Donald Duck Bay, is a popular night dive spot on the north-west corner of Island no.8. Named after a rock resembling the cartoon character, this site is great for macro lovers. The boulders are home to emporer shrimps, red round crabs, decorator crabs, triton shells and cone shells, bull crabs, red octopus and cuttlefish and green turtles

      Boulder City, is a large submerged granite outcropping, about 1km off the east coast of island no.3 with jumbles of boulders scattered around a flat sandy bottom. A slightly more advanced dive site, the current can sometimes bring the whale sharks and manta rays.

      Shark Fin Reef - As is prevalent in the Similans, this dive site consists of another series of granite boulders covered in gorgonians and hard corals with a great diversity of marine life including the Napoleon wrasse, turtles, boxfish, clown triggerfish, schools of batfish, yellow goatfish, palette surgeonfish, blue-faced angelfish and bannerfish amongst others.

      Honeymoon Bay lies to the northwest of Island 5. Its sheltered location, it is a popular place for boats to moor and include a night dive. This is when the Reef crabs, shrimps, lobsters, cuttlefish and nurse sharks all come out, leaving their crevices looking for food. With an average depth of 15-20 meters, the reef is decorated with hard corals, keep an eye out for shy garden eels on the sandy bottom.

      Christmas Point, true to its name, is one of the most colourful, scenic dives in the islands on the far west side of Similan Island 9. This outcropping is home to several giant archways which provide superb topography and forms some of the best swim-throughs in the Similans.

      Other dive sites include: Three Trees, Beacon Point, Breakfast Bend, Chinese Wall, Coral Reef, Deep Six, Hideaway, Deep six, North Point and Stonehenge.

      Top Tips For Divers

      Thailand liveaboard trips to the Similan Islands run from November through to May. The Islands are closed for the rest of the year. The end of February often sees an increase in currents attracting the larger marine creatures like whale sharks and manta rays. Visibility ranges from 25-40m during this period and water temperatures range between 26-29c. You may not need more than a 3mm neoprene shorty or full body wetsuit bearing in mind after a 3 or more dives a day, you may get cold. If you are bringing your own equipment, consider bringing a DIN adapter (if you have DIN regulators) as Thailand uses the standard yoke system.

      Getting To Similan Islands

      Please check your individual liveaboard itinerary carefully and be aware of different departure ports depending on your liveaboard chosen. Liveaboard cruises may depart from Chalong Pier in Phuket, Thap Lamu Pier in Khao Lak, Phang-Nga Province. Transfers to the port is provided from Phuket International Airport or your hotel. Please notice some liveaboards may even depart from one port and return into another, i.e depart from Phuket and return to Khao Lak. Some International flights fly directly to Phuket or you can get a connecting flight from Bangkok.

      Similan Islands Diving Reviews

      9.1
      Superb (out of 10) 10
      Average score from 30 Verified Review(s) Only people who have booked through Liveaboard.com and joined the Liveaboard can write a review.
      United States
      8.8
      Fabulous

      The best dive trip that we have taken to date!

      Diving Similan Islands in April on the Similan Explorer
      Netherlands
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Wonderful, not too far from the mainland but far enough to deter day trips, very nice little islands, beautiful reefs and beaches.

      Diving Similan Islands in March on the Deep Andaman Queen
      Sweden
      10.0
      Exceptional

      beautiful

      Diving Similan Islands in March on the Thailand Aggressor
      New Zealand
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Amazing topography, granite rocks, really diverse dive sites. Lots of fish to see. Saw sharks, turtles and stingrays

      Diving Similan Islands in March on the Similan Explorer
      Germany
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Great place to dive, lucky to see sharks, turtles and a lot more

      Diving Similan Islands in March on the Similan Explorer
      United States
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Beautiful intro dive. We saw a sea turtle, clownfish, tons of other fish, feather sea stars, gorgonian coral fans. This was a shallower dive that allowed us to get our feet wet since it had been awhile since either of us had been diving. There were a couple of swim throughs. We did a night dive here and saw an octopus.

      Diving Similan Islands in February on the Manta Queen 1
      Canada
      9.2
      Superb

      Fantastic

      Diving Similan Islands in March on the Dolphin Queen
      Austria
      7.6
      Good

      Great visibility, saw Mantas, sting rays, beautiul corals, - all in all wonderful dives.

      Diving Similan Islands in March on the Dolphin Queen
      Austria
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Korallenwachstum und Fischreichtum sind top. Sichtweiten waren sehr gut

      Diving Similan Islands in March on the Sawasdee Fasai
      Canada
      6.8
      Review score

      very good in March

      Diving Similan Islands in March on the Similan Explorer
      Belgium
      9.2
      Superb

      Great + very good visibility

      Diving Similan Islands in March on the Manta Queen 1
      United Kingdom
      8.0
      Very good

      Plenty of life to see both day and night diving

      Diving Similan Islands in February on the Sawasdee Fasai Liveaboard
      Germany
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Perfekt für den Anfang, Geringer Schwierigkeitsgrad und doch beeindruckende Tierwelt

      Diving Similan Islands in February on the Similan Explorer
      South Korea
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Clear view, amazing big size of aquatic life

      Diving Similan Islands in February on the The Junk
      France
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Check dive in chanel between 5 and 6 - not much to see on that one - except perhaps underwater sculptures which are entirely missable. Turtle Rock (Similan 8) was fun - finding passage ways among boulders. Outside Similan 9 (Three trees) was good

      Diving Similan Islands in February on the The Junk
      Chile
      8.8
      Fabulous

      Amazing, got over 30 mt visibility and almost no currents exept 2 dives, got to aee big mantas.

      Diving Similan Islands in February on the Similan Explorer
      France
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Excellent! 1 first/check dive at The Channel 1 dive at Elephant Head Rock 1 dive at Three trees 1 visit at Donald Duck Bay 1 night dive at Bommies 1 dive at Christmas point

      Diving Similan Islands in February on the The Junk
      Brazil
      8.0
      Very good

      Great visibility and plenty of marine life. Visit to two fantastic beaches.

      Diving Similan Islands in February on the Hallelujah Liveaboard
      France
      8.8
      Fabulous

      Nice dives, a bit too much current sometimes ( Tachai pinnacle) My favorite were Elephant head rock and I like Boonsoon wreck also.

      Diving Similan Islands in February on the Dolphin Queen
      Denmark
      9.6
      Exceptional

      5 out of 5

      Diving Similan Islands in February on the MV Pawara
      Italy
      9.2
      Superb

      One word, to be done again

      Diving Similan Islands in February on the Manta Queen 6
      China
      9.2
      Superb

      Good, not the best I've ever had. No whale shark but that's just nature. Did encounter a big female Manta ray thought!

      Diving Similan Islands in January on the Diva Andaman
      United States
      8.4
      Very good

      Pretty good - better than most other dive sites I've done in Koh Chang and Koh Lipe.

      Diving Similan Islands in February on the Hallelujah
      Singapore
      8.4
      Very good

      Good, no large fishes, but plenty of marine life. Beach visits were a good addition.

      Diving Similan Islands in January on the Similan Explorer
      United Kingdom
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Great, so many fish. We even saw whales!!! And manta

      Diving Similan Islands in January on the Similan Explorer
      China
      9.6
      Exceptional

      看到了很多种鱼类,以及豹纹鳗,🐙,乌贼<□:≡,傻傻的泰坦扳机鱼等,不过现在环境恶化很厉害,死珊瑚太多了,让人💔,呼吁潜水员不要用防晒霜下水,努力保护我们共同的家园。

      Diving Similan Islands in January on the Manta Queen 1
      Canada
      8.8
      Fabulous

      awesome and varied

      Diving Similan Islands in January on the MV Pawara
      Taiwan
      8.0
      Very good

      Pretty beautiful corol. Large amount of fishs. But there was no big fish to see.

      Diving Similan Islands in January on the Manta Queen 5
      Australia
      9.2
      Superb

      Great deep dives, good visibility

      Diving Similan Islands in January on the Manta Queen 3
      Portugal
      8.8
      Fabulous

      Wonderful. One of my best diving experiences.

      Diving Similan Islands in January on the Manta Queen 5
      Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

      Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook