Croisière plongée à Wolf Island

Galapagos Master

Galapagos Master

dès US$ 643 / jour
9,0 "Superbe"

GalapagosUS$5,295 dès

Le bateau d'acier de 32 m de long Galapagos Master est l'un des plus récents à explorer les eaux cristallines des Galapagos. Le salon intérieur spacieux offre des vues épatantes sur le paysage.

    Galapagos Master
    Galapagos Aggressor III

    Galapagos Aggressor III

    9,1 "Superbe"

    Galapagos et BélizeUS$5,295 dès

    Admirez les bancs de thon, requins-marteaux et baleines sur le bateau de croisière de luxe MV Galapagos Aggressor de 32 m de long. 8 cabines de luxe rénovées offrent une expérience de première classe.

      Galapagos Aggressor III
      Nortada

      Nortada

      dès US$ 523 / jour
      9,0 "Superbe"

      GalapagosUS$4,190 dès

      Le Nortada long de 26 m à la coque spéciale assure une plongée facilitée en fendant les vagues des Galapagos. Idéal pour les petits groupes de 8 plongeurs, chaque cabine spacieuse est climatisée.

      Nortada

      Plonger en croisière à l’île de Wolf

      Les îles Wolf et Darwin sont les plus éloignées de l’archipel des Galápagos. Elles sont situées à 160 kilomètres de l’île principale d’Isabella, sur la crête volcanique de Darwin-Wolf. L’île Wolf tire son nom du célèbre géologue Theodor Wolf et est l’île la plus méridionale des deux. Les sites de plongée de l’île de Wolf sont réputés comme étant certains des meilleurs sites de plongée au monde, et un safari plongée aux Galápagos est la seule option pour les atteindre

      La topographie du plancher océanique implique la remontée de courants riches en nutriments autour de l’île, ce qui attire un vaste éventail de créatures, et bien sûr, une parade spectaculaire de grands pélagiques: bancs de milliers de requins-marteaux, requins des Galápagos, requins-tigres, dauphins, et en saison, les magnifiques requins-baleines.

      L’île est interdite de visite terrestre et les eaux qui l’entourent sont strictement protégées. En raison de la menace de pêche illégale, le service du parc national des Galápagos surveille les deux îles à bord d’une barge flottante appelée ‘Tiburon Martillo’ (‘requin-marteau’). Aidée de bateaux de patrouille et d’un avion de surveillance, cette barge aide à décourager les pêcheurs d’ailerons de requins qui sont attirés par le grand nombre de requins de la région.

      Horaire type d’une journée de plongée

      Matinée – la plongée à l’aube est une habitude de tout bateau de croisière aux Galápagos, et vous serez debout avant 6 heures, avec un café et un léger en-cas. Le briefing de la plongée est très informatif mais légèrement déroutant en raison de la liste de créatures à voir telles que ‘bancs de requins-marteaux,’ requins-tigres,’ tortues caouannes,’ ‘bancs de dauphins’ et pourquoi pas ‘un orque de temps en temps.’ Mais concentrez-vous car les conditions à Wolf et Darwin ne sont pas pour les peureux, les courants parfois violents. Si vous n’avez pas de GPS personnel, votre gilet sera affublé d’un système de repérage pour au cas où.

      La mise à l’eau se fait à partir d’un canot pneumatique panga. Les sites visités dépendent de la météo et du courant. Si les conditions sont bonnes, la première plongée est habituellement El Derrumbe (‘The Landslide’ ou ‘L’éboulement’). C’est un immense récif rocheux où des centaines de requins-marteaux passent en pleine eau. La plongée dure habituellement 50-60 minutes et vous ne voudrez pas refaire surface. Mais ne vous inquiétez pas, après un intervalle de surface et un bon petit-déjeuner, vous effectuerez deux autres plongées sur ce site incroyable.

      Après-midi – Si la première partie de la journée s’est passée au site d’El Derrumbe, alors vous passerez à The Cave ou Shark Bay. Le choix des sites dépend des conditions, mais vous ne serez déçu par aucun. Les pangas servent à la mise à l’eau et au retour en surface à chaque plongée.

      Soirée – en saison chaude, la quatrième plongée peut être effectuée de nuit au lieu de l’après-midi. Le reste de l’année, les bateaux de croisière jettent l’ancre la nuit ou naviguent jusqu’à Darwin si les conditions le permettent. Quoi qu’il en soit, restez sur le pont pour admirer les bancs de dauphins très fréquents et milans royaux qui profitent des bastingages pour se reposer.

      Faune et sites sous-marins de Wolf

      Requins-marteaux, requins des Galápagos, requins-tigres, raies mantas, thons, dauphins… et la liste continue. L’île de Wolf est un rêve pour plongeurs. Le site The Landslide est un récif plein de gros rochers éboulés qui plonge dans le bleu; vous pouvez vous tenir au bord et admirer le spectacle aquatique autour de vous. Vous serez entouré de plus de requins, tortues et raies que vous ne pourriez l’imaginer. The Landslide est un site idéal pour s’approcher de requins-marteaux. Si vous restez accroché au récif, ils viennent parfois nager si près que vous pouvez presque les toucher.

      The Cave est une grotte étonnante et une série de passages recouverts de superbes coraux mous blancs. C’est l’endroit idéal pour observer des requins-marteaux et le timide requin des Galápagos. Le courant est fort, ce qui attire les thons et les sérioles limon en chasse.

      Shark Bay offre également des requins-marteaux, des requins-tigres et des légions de tortues. La baie commence à environ 10 mètres de profondeur, ce qui est moins profond que d’autres sites. Les plongeurs peuvent y jouer avec des otaries amicales. Vers 20 mètres, vous pouvez voir des requins marteaux et des bancs de raies. Le courant est fort et la houle aussi, surtout à proximité du rivage, ce qui peut mener à une plongée dérivante inattendue.

      Conseils pour plongeurs

      Les courants sont forts et les récifs recouverts de bernacles, donc portez des gants pour vous protéger les mains. Attention aux capitaines qui aiment déguster ces bernacles, même quand votre main est dans le chemin.

      En présence de requins-marteaux, restez plus bas et aussi immobiles que possible pour que les requins s’approchent de vous.

      Les conditions peuvent être agitées en surface, et remonter sur le panga peut être difficile. Préférez l’arrière du bateau, où le pneumatique est plus bas.

      Si le courant est moins fort, faites votre palier de sécurité en pleine eau pour avoir la chance de voir des bancs de requins et de dauphins.

      Comment se rendre à l’île Wolf

      Wolf Island est habituellement la seconde escale des bateaux de croisière après Punta Carrion, et est rejoint après une nuit de navigation. La mer peut être assez agitée, mais les bateaux de croisière aux Galápagos sont faits pour résister à la tourmente. En arrivant, vous vous rendrez vite compte de l’isolement de cet endroit vraiment spécial. En savourant un café sur le pont, vous aurez la chance de voir des bancs de dauphins, des myriades d’oiseaux de mer, et avec un peu de chance, des raies perçant la surface.

      Île Wolf Avis sur les plongées

      9,2
      Superbe (sur 10) 10
      Note moyenne pour 23 Avis vérifié(s) Seules les personnes ayant réservé et voyagé à travers Liveaboard.com peuvent écrire un avis.
      Gagnez du temps! Inscrivez-vous et nous vous enverrons les meilleures offres de la semaine

      Merci pour votre inscription - vous voulez encore plus d'offres? suivez-nous sur facebook

Wolf Island Liveaboard Diving

Galapagos Aggressor III

from US$ 588 / day
9.3 "Superb"

GalapagosUS$5,795 from

See the huge schools of tuna, hammerheads and whalesharks aboard the 32m luxury MV Galapagos Aggressor III liveaboard. Eight newly renovated staterooms deliver a high class experience.

    Galapagos Aggressor III

    Humboldt Explorer

    from US$ 490 / day
    8.7 "Fabulous"

    GalapagosUS$4,795 from

    Offering 8 air conditioned double cabins, each with a glorious ocean view, the 33m Humboldt Explorer whisks up to 16 guests to one of the best dive locations on Earth, the Galapagos.

      Humboldt Explorer

      Galapagos Sky

      from US$ 698 / day
      9.6 "Exceptional"

      GalapagosUS$5,695 from

      • Free Nitrox

      Relish in the 5 star luxury service provided by the professional crew of the 33m luxury liveaboard, the MV Galapagos Sky. Designed for divers, Galapagos diving has never been so comfortable.

      Galapagos Sky

      Wolf Island

      Wolf and Darwin islands are the most remote in the Galapagos archipelago. They sit over 160 kilometres/100 miles from the main island of Isabella on the Darwin-Wolf volcanic ridge. Wolf Island is named after the famous geologist Theodor Wolfe and is the more southerly of the two. The waters around Wolf Island have been recognised as some of the best dive sites in the world for many years.

      The shape of the ocean floor, means nutrient rich currents flow around the island bringing a huge array of sea life with it including of course the larger pelagics. This spectacular parade of wildlife includes shoals of thousands of hammerheads, Galapagos sharks, tiger sharks, dolphins and, in season, the magnificent whale sharks.

      The island is closed to land visits and the surrounding waters are highly protected. Due to the threat of illegal fishing the Galapagos National Park service has a dedicated floating barge the 'Tiburon Martillo' close to the two islands. Along with a fleet of patrol boats and a surveillance aircraft, this barge helps to deter finning boats who are drawn here by the sheer numbers of sharks in this jewel of the Galapagos Marine Park.

      Getting to Wolf Island

      Wolf is usually the second stop for liveaboards after Punta Carrion and the sail is an evening and overnight sail. The waters can be a little wild in places but don't worry this is what Galapagos liveaboards are built for. When you arrive you will start to get a feeling of just how remote and special this place is. Sitting up on the deck for an early coffee you have the chance to see the pods of dolphins that surround the island, a host of sea birds and if you are lucky rays breaching.

      Daily Schedule

      Morning

      Early mornings are a stable feature of any Galapagos liveaboard and once again you will be up before 6 am for a light breakfast and maybe a coffee. The dive briefing will be highly informative although it might be hard to concentrate when you start hearing things like 'shoals of hammerheads', 'tiger sharks', 'loggerhead turtles', 'dolphin pods' and 'the occasional orca'. Do try and keep up though, the conditions in Wolf and Darwin can be some of the roughest and the currents very strong so you will want to know what is going on. If you haven't already your BCD will be fitted with a GPS location device just in case.

      You will be dropped at the first dive site by panga tender. Which sites you visit are very weather and current dependant. If conditions are good the first up is usually El Derrumbe, The Landslide. Here is a huge rock reef where you can look out into the blue and see the iconic hammerhead shoals passing by, hundreds strong. The dive will normally be around 50-60 minutes and you still won't want to come up. Don't worry, after a proper breakfast and surface interval you will be dropped back at The Landslide for dive two and more amazing diving.

      Afternoon

      If the first half of the day was spent at the Landslide, after lunch you will move on to The Cave or Shark Bay. The choice of sites will of course be at the mercy of the conditions but either way you are in for two amazing dives whichever you visit. The pangas will drop you off and pick you up from the main boat for both dives.

      Evening

      During the warm season the fourth dive can be scheduled as a night dive instead of afternoon. For the rest of the year, the liveaboard will either anchor up for the night or if conditions permit start sailing to Darwin Island. Either way, stay on the deck as much as possible there is always so much to see. Dolphin pods are often still around and huge red kites often come and hitch a ride on the handrails of the boat.

      Wolf Island Underwater

      Hammerheads, Galapagos sharks, tiger sharks, mantas, tuna, dolphins the list goes on. Wolf has everything divers visit Galapagos for, it is truly breath-taking diving. The landslide is a boulder strewn reef which, you guessed it, resembles a landslide. This reef falls into the blue and you can sit on the edge here, hold on and witness one of the most amazing aquatic shows on earth. You will be surrounded by more sharks, turtles and shoals of rays than you ever imagined. The landslide is also a great place to get very close to the hammerheads. If you wait on the reef they often swim up so close you could almost touch them.

      The Cave is a stunning cavern and a series of swim-throughs with beautiful soft white corals. This is a great place to see hammerheads and the shy Galapagos sharks. The current here is strong making the outside of the caves the ideal hunting ground for tuna and almaco jacks.

      Shark Bay is again home to hammerhead sharks, tiger sharks and legions of turtles. The bay starts around 10 meters / 33 ft. shallower than some of the other dives so divers can play with friendly sea lions. Further along around 20 meters / 65 ft. you can see hammerheads and shoals of rays. The current here is high and the swell quite strong especially close to the shore which can often lead to an unexpected drift dive.

      Top Tips for Wolf Island

      Current is strong and the reefs covered in barnacles so wear gloves for protection. Also watch out for hogfish who are always biting at lose barnacles even if your hand is in the way.

      When hammerheads are on the reef stay low and as still as possible and you will get some real close-ups.

      The conditions can be rough on the surface at Wolf and pulling yourself back on the panga is a challenge. Stick to the back of the boat where the inflatable is lower.

      If the current eases, slip out into the blue for your safety stop, chances are you will run into shoals of sharks and sometimes dolphins.

      Wolf Island Diving Reviews

      9.2
      Superb (out of 10) 10
      Average score from 10 Verified Review(s) Only people who have booked through Liveaboard.com and joined the Liveaboard can write a review.
      Netherlands
      8.0
      Very good

      Excellent

      Diving Wolf Island in September on the Humboldt Explorer
      South Korea
      9.6
      Exceptional

      at shark bay we saw lots of hammerhead sharks. land slide was great dive point too but someone said it's menslide because the current was so strong.

      Diving Wolf Island in September on the Humboldt Explorer
      United States
      10.0
      Exceptional

      AMAZING. Big current, but the first spot we started to see the big fish...

      Diving Wolf Island in August on the Galapagos Sky
      New Zealand
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Hammerheads Hammerheads Hammerheads... awesome

      Diving Wolf Island in August on the Galapagos Sky
      United States
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Fantastic

      Diving Wolf Island in June on the Galapagos Aggressor III
      United States
      8.8
      Fabulous

      Fantastic diving, good water temp and above all, great schools of sharks!

      Diving Wolf Island in August on the Humbolt Explorer
      Argentina
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Excelent

      Diving Wolf Island in August on the Humboldt Explorer
      France
      7.2
      Good

      Challenging but rewarding (cold water and very stong current). We saw big schools of hammerheads.

      Diving Wolf Island in July on the Astrea Liveaboard
      Germany
      10.0
      Exceptional

      outstanding

      Diving Wolf Island in July on the Galapagos Master
      Germany
      9.2
      Superb

      Fantastic

      Diving Wolf Island in June on the Galapagos Sky
      Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

      Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook