Croisière plongée à Darwin

Galapagos Master

Galapagos Master

dès US$ 643 / jour
9,0 "Superbe"

GalapagosUS$5,295 dès

Le bateau d'acier de 32 m de long Galapagos Master est l'un des plus récents à explorer les eaux cristallines des Galapagos. Le salon intérieur spacieux offre des vues épatantes sur le paysage.

    Galapagos Master
    Galapagos Aggressor III

    Galapagos Aggressor III

    9,1 "Superbe"

    Galapagos et BélizeUS$5,295 dès

    Admirez les bancs de thon, requins-marteaux et baleines sur le bateau de croisière de luxe MV Galapagos Aggressor de 32 m de long. 8 cabines de luxe rénovées offrent une expérience de première classe.

      Galapagos Aggressor III
      Nortada

      Nortada

      dès US$ 523 / jour
      9,0 "Superbe"

      GalapagosUS$4,190 dès

      Le Nortada long de 26 m à la coque spéciale assure une plongée facilitée en fendant les vagues des Galapagos. Idéal pour les petits groupes de 8 plongeurs, chaque cabine spacieuse est climatisée.

      Nortada

      Plonger en croisière à l’île Darwin et l’arche de Darwin

      Nommées d’après le célèbre biologiste Charles Darwin, l’île Darwin et l’arche de Darwin sont les minuscules îlots les plus septentrionaux et reculés des îles Galápagos (Darwin a une superficie d’1 km²). Ils sont situés à 40 kilomètres au nord de l’île Wolf et sur la même crête océanique qui crée cette topographie et ces courants si particuliers à ces îles.

      Ces îles inhabitées sont très isolées et leur accès à terre est interdit. Peu de bateaux de croisière aux Galápagos les visitent, et votre seule compagnie sera la patrouille du parc national et les bateaux de recherche éventuels. La vie sous-marine y est spectaculaire, offrant une abondance de requins-marteaux, thons, requins-soyeux, tortues et la chance de voir des requins-tigres et requins-baleines.

      Sur l’île et l’arche, vous pourrez voir des fous à pieds bleus, des pinsons à becs pointus et des otaries à fourrure. Les eaux entourant l’île sont bien protégées de la pêche illégale qui pourrait menacer les nombreux requins et grands poissons pélagiques. L’île de Darwin sert de base au parc national des Galápagos pour le marquage des requins-baleines et requins-marteaux.

      Horaire type d’une journée de plongée

      Matinée – La journée commence tôt et vous ferez deux plongées sur l’arche de Darwin entrecoupées par un petit-déjeuner. Après le briefing, la mise à l’eau à l’arche de Darwin se fait toujours par canot panga; la traversée peut être rude, la houle et les vagues sont la norme, la mise à l’eau dépendra donc des conditions en surface et du courant.

      Plonger sur l’arche de Darwin n’est pas pour les plongeurs peureux mais est absolument incroyable. Les eaux abondent de requins, de raies, de thons, et de requins-baleines en saison. Les plongées durent normalement 50-60 minutes et le spectacle aquatique est si spectaculaire que le temps passera bien trop vite à votre goût!

      Après-midi – Si les conditions le permettent, vous pourrez effectuer deux autres plongées à Darwin. Après le déjeuner, vous aurez des fourmis dans les jambes et voudrez vous remettre immédiatement à l’eau. Bien que techniquement, il n’y ait qu’un seul site de plongée à Darwin, les différents circuits suivis par le guide offrent des expériences très différentes. Les pangas vous mettent à l’eau à différents côtés de l’arche, et vous ramènent au bateau après votre palier de sécurité, durant lequel vous pouvez admirer les nombreux requins et pélagiques en pleine eau.

      Soirée – En soirée, si les conditions sont idéales, le bateau peut jeter l’ancre à l’abri de l’île, mais il retournera plus que probablement à l’île de Wolf pour passer la nuit. Assis sur le pont, vous pourrez observer les nombreux oiseaux de mer et dauphins, ou passer le temps en regardant vos vidéos de requins!

      Faune et flore sous-marines de Darwin

      L’île de Darwin est un endroit où vous pourrez vraiment voir de tout. Toutes les créatures que vous avez la chance de rencontrer ailleurs sont ici abondantes. Les courants qui circulent autour de Darwin sont un genre d’autoroute à l’heure de pointe empruntée par les pélagiques. Le récif rocheux et le plateau sont une excellente plateforme d’observation des bancs de requins et de raies de toutes tailles. De jeunes requins-marteaux curieux se laissent facilement approcher. Sur le fond sableux, vous pourriez avoir la chance de voir des bébés requins attentivement protégés par de grands requins-marteaux qui préfèrent ne pas être approchés de trop près.

      Le requin des Galápagos patrouille la zone, ainsi que d’innombrables tortues. Durant la bonne saison, vous pouvez croiser des requins-baleines et des requins-tigres, reconnaissables à leurs flancs striés. Comme si ça ne suffisait pas, vous pouvez également rencontrer des dauphins, otaries et pourquoi pas, des orques! Un des signes annonciateurs de l’arrivée des orques est la disparition soudaine de toute la vie aquatique qui vous entoure… Les plongées se font pour la plupart entre 10 et 25 mètres, et le Nitrox est essentiel pour maximiser votre temps passé avec les requins.

      Conseils aux plongeurs

      Les conditions de plongée sous-marine à Darwin sont rudes, donc soyez prêt pour une mise à l’eau en flottabilité négative du panga.

      Les gants de plongée sont absolument nécessaires; les courants sont phénoménaux et les bernacles coupantes.

      Effectuez votre palier de sécurité à 3 mètres en pleine eau si possible pour accroître vos chances d’approcher les bancs de requins et autres requins-baleines.

      Restez tout près de votre binôme et de votre palanquée; ne sous-estimez pas le courant et la distraction apportée par les créatures marines. Vous devrez à l’occasion vous caler dans les rochers pour cesser de dériver.

      Comment se rendre à Darwin

      La plupart des itinéraires de croisière à Darwin s’arrêtent d’abord à l’île de Wolf, mais ça dépend des conditions. Darwin est une île exposée, mais les bateaux peuvent jeter l’ancre et s’abriter derrière l’île. Le trajet ne fait que 40 kilomètre mais peut s’avérer spectaculaire: ouvrez l’œil vers le grand bleu. Des bancs de dauphins, des raies perçant la surface et de nombreux oiseaux peuvent être observés du pont.

      Île Darwin Avis sur les plongées

      9,0
      Superbe (sur 10) 10
      Note moyenne pour 24 Avis vérifié(s) Seules les personnes ayant réservé et voyagé à travers Liveaboard.com peuvent écrire un avis.
      Gagnez du temps! Inscrivez-vous et nous vous enverrons les meilleures offres de la semaine

      Merci pour votre inscription - vous voulez encore plus d'offres? suivez-nous sur facebook

Darwin Island Liveaboard Diving

Galapagos Aggressor III

from US$ 602 / day
9.3 "Superb"

GalapagosUS$5,795 from

See the huge schools of tuna, hammerheads and whalesharks aboard the 32m luxury MV Galapagos Aggressor III liveaboard. Eight newly renovated staterooms deliver a high class experience.

    Galapagos Aggressor III

    Humboldt Explorer

    from US$ 502 / day
    8.7 "Fabulous"

    GalapagosUS$4,795 from

    Offering 8 air conditioned double cabins, each with a glorious ocean view, the 33m Humboldt Explorer whisks up to 16 guests to one of the best dive locations on Earth, the Galapagos.

      Humboldt Explorer

      Galapagos Sky

      from US$ 715 / day
      9.6 "Exceptional"

      GalapagosUS$5,695 from

      • Free Nitrox

      Relish in the 5 star luxury service provided by the professional crew of the 33m luxury liveaboard, the MV Galapagos Sky. Designed for divers, Galapagos diving has never been so comfortable.

      Galapagos Sky

      Darwin Island and Darwin's Arch

      Named after the famous evolutionary biologist Charles Darwin, Darwin Island and Darwin's arch are the most Northerly and most remote outcrops of Galapagos. They sit 40 km/ miles North of Wolf Island and they both sit on the same mid-ocean ridge that makes the bottom topography and current streams so special around the islands. Darwin is incredibly small with only 1 km/ 0.5 mile above water.

      When you are there, the island feels very remote and special with your only company being the Galapagos National Park patrol and research boats. Land visits to Darwin and Darwin's Arch are not allowed and only a very few liveaboard dive boats visit here. The underwater life is spectacular with an unbelievable number of hammerhead sharks, tuna, silkies, turtles and chances to see tiger and whale sharks.

      On the island and the arch you can see red footed boobies, vampire finch and fur seals. The waters around the island are highly protected due to the number of sharks and other large pelagics at risk from illegal fishing. Darwin Island is also a common location for the Galapagos National Park to tag hammerheads and whale sharks which are passing on the ocean currents.

      Getting to Darwin

      Most liveaboards stop at Wolf before sailing on to Darwin although this depends on sea conditions. Darwin is very exposed to the elements but liveaboards can shelter behind the island at anchor. The sail is only 40 km but it can be a spectacular journey if you keep an eye out to sea. Pods of dolphins and sometimes breaching rays along with numerous sea bird can be seen from the deck. Divers will always be dropped at Darwin's arch by panga tender and it can be a wild ride with high swell and wind waves the norm.

      Daily Schedule

      Morning

      The day will start early with two morning dives with breakfast in between. After the briefing you will be dropped by panga tender in the area around Darwin's arch. All the dives will be done around the arch and where you are dropped will depend very much on the surface conditions and the current.

      With high swell and very strong currents Darwin's arch is not for the faint hearted but it is absolutely stunning. The waters are thick with sharks, rays, tuna and during the whale shark season this is your best chance to dive with the giants. Dives normally last round 50-60 minutes and the aquatic show is so spectacular you might find the time seems to go very quickly.

      Afternoon

      If conditions permit you will have another two dives at Darwin. After lunch everyone will be straight down to the dive deck itching to get back in the water. Although there is technically only one dive site at Darwin you will find that the different routes taken by the guides will give you a new experience each time. The pangas will drop you at a different side of the arch and pick you up after your safety stop which with this many sharks and pelagics will no doubt be in the blue.

      Evening

      In the evening if the conditions are very good the boat might anchor in the shelter of the island but more likely it will return to Wolf Island for the night. If you sit up on the deck, there will be a chance to see dolphins and sea birds or you can enjoy looking over your endless shark videos instead!

      Darwin Island Underwater

      Darwin Island is one of those places where you could literally see anything! All the aquatic life you would feel lucky to encounter anywhere else is here in abundance. The current channels around Darwin are like a pelagic highway at rush hour. The rock reef and plateau at Darwin are a viewing platform to see endless schools of sharks and rays of all sizes. Hammerhead juveniles are particularly curious and the chances are good of a close encounter. Down on the sandy bottom is your chance to see hammerhead pups. They are carefully guarded by larger hammerheads and will shy away if approached.

      Galapagos sharks are also around and who knew there could be so many turtles in the one place. During the season you have a good chance of seeing whale sharks and tiger sharks here so keep a keen eye out for those spots and stripes. As if all that wasn’t enough you can also meet passing dolphins, sea lions and even the occasional orca whale. Be aware the first sign of orcas is the sudden disappearance of all the other aquatic life. Most of the dives are between 10 and 25 meters making Nitrox essential to make the most of your time with the sharks.

      Top Tips for Darwin Island

      The conditions at Darwin are rough so be prepared for a negative entry from the panga.

      Gloves are an absolute necessity, the current here his phenomenal and the barnacles are sharp.

      Your 3-minute safety stop should be in the blue if at all possible, it is your chance to really get in the thick of the shark schools and maybe spot a whale shark too.

      Stay close to your buddy and the group the current here is not to be underestimated and it is easy to get distracted by the marine life. You may even have to wedge yourself into the rocks to stop from drifting.

      Darwin Island Diving Reviews

      9.2
      Superb (out of 10) 10
      Average score from 12 Verified Review(s) Only people who have booked through Liveaboard.com and joined the Liveaboard can write a review.
      Netherlands
      8.0
      Very good

      Excellent

      Diving Darwin Island in September on the Humboldt Explorer
      United States
      10.0
      Exceptional

      exquisite, simply the best, over to the top amazing, no words or pics could ever do it justice!!

      Diving Darwin Island in September on the Galapagos Aggressor III
      South Korea
      9.6
      Exceptional

      excellent. u can see whalesharks almost every dives and almost more than once. sometimes u can see dolphins swimming through while your safety stop. dont stop looking around even on your safety stop.

      Diving Darwin Island in September on the Humboldt Explorer
      United States
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Once in a lifetime. Hundreds of hammerheads, galapagos sharks, 200 lb tuna, schools of jacks, and 2 whale sharks!!

      Diving Darwin Island in August on the Galapagos Sky
      Ecuador
      8.4
      Very good

      Above expectations, this was the best dives. We were wowed.

      Diving Darwin Island in August on the Humboldt Explorer
      New Zealand
      9.6
      Exceptional

      tbe best amazing brilliant.. whale sharks on 4/7 dives strong currents, negative entries hundreds and hundreds of schooling hammerheads, also silkies, galapagos sharks

      Diving Darwin Island in August on the Galapagos Sky
      United States
      9.6
      Exceptional

      Incredible

      Diving Darwin Island in June on the Galapagos Aggressor III
      United States
      8.8
      Fabulous

      Spectacular with a full day of diving with whale sharks!

      Diving Darwin Island in August on the Humbolt Explorer
      Argentina
      10.0
      Exceptional

      Excelent wonderfull

      Diving Darwin Island in August on the Humboldt Explorer
      France
      7.2
      Good

      Challenging but rewarding (cold water and very stong current). We saw big schools of hammerheads.

      Diving Darwin Island in July on the Astrea Liveaboard
      Germany
      10.0
      Exceptional

      outstanding - best on the planet

      Diving Darwin Island in July on the Galapagos Master
      Germany
      9.2
      Superb

      Fantastic

      Diving Darwin Island in June on the Galapagos Sky
      Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

      Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook