Croisière plongée dans les atolls du Nord

Sea Spirit

Sea Spirit

dès US$ 288 / jour
8,8 "Fabuleux"

MaldivesUS$3,960 dès

Les itinéraires du Sea Spirit incluent le 'Best of the Maldives' aux Atolls Nord et Sud et la baie de Hanifaru. Il peut accueillir 12 plongeurs dans 2 cabines lits doubles & 4 cabines lits jumeaux.

    Sea Spirit
    Blue Voyager

    Blue Voyager

    dès US$ 218 / jour
    8,7 "Fabuleux"

    MaldivesUS$2,520 dès

    • Wifi gratuit

    Le Blue Voyager de 37 m dispose de 13 cabines climatisées avec douche, bar/salon/restaurant à ciel ouvert & Jacuzzi. Il visite les Atolls grand Nord & Sud et les sites des Atolls Rasdhoo, Ari et Malé.

      Blue Voyager
      Amba

      Amba

      dès US$ 265 / jour
      8,6 "Fabuleux"

      MaldivesUS$2,125 dès

      Le bateau de croisière Amba est un yacht de luxe naviguant les Atolls Haa Alifu & Haa Dhaalu. Il dispose de 10 cabines et d'un système stabilisateur intégré à la coque pour empêcher le mal de mer.

      Amba

      PLONGER EN CROISIÈRE DANS LES ATOLLS DU NORD: CE QU’IL VOUS ATTEND

      Les croisières plongée sur les atolls du Nord emmènent les plongeurs au nord des atolls du centre. Les croisières plongée n’y vont pas depuis si longtemps. Les voyageurs peuvent profiter de la plongée sous-marine aux Maldives loin des foules. Les atolls du Nord sont réputés pour leurs caractéristiques uniques et spéciales, ainsi que pour leurs paysages sous-marins très sains remplis de poissons de récif et souvent visités par les habitants du grand bleu.

      LES ATOLLS DU NORD SOUS L’EAU

      Les plongées faites depuis un bateau de croisière plongée sont diverses. On y trouve des pinacles, des passes, des tombants. Une fois à l’eau, vous serez rapidement entourés d’une myriade de poissons de récif multicolores. Certains sites sont également connus pour recevoir la visite régulière de mantas et d’autres pélagiques. Les requins ont leurs habitudes sur les sites de Noonu, Lhaviyani et dans les atolls du Grand Nord. La topographie de certains des sites des atolls du Nord est unique et on y observe des récifs d’une beauté difficilement comparable.

      LES ZONES DE PLONGÉE DANS LES ATOLLS DU CENTRE

      Avec le nombre de sites de plongée et d’atolls existant aux Maldives, un safari plongée est la meilleure option pour explorer la région.

      L’atoll de Baa est réputé pour abriter énormément de poissons d’espèces différentes et pour permettre l’observation des mantas. En plongeant sur le site de Maavaru Kandu, on évolue au milieu de magnifiques coraux mous bleus, verts et jaunes. Les croisières plongée s’arrêtent dans l’atoll de Baa pour profiter à la fois de son importante densité de poissons et de ses passes, pinacles et surplombs. Pour parfaire le tout, la baie d’Hanifaru, classée Réserve Biosphère des Maldives, offre un spectacle hors du commun: d’énormes rassemblements de raies manta et de requins-baleines de mai à décembre, où ils se régalent du plancton abondant.

      L’atoll de Lhaviyani possède un site de plongée sur tombants baptisé Madivaru, connu pour son abondance et sa variété de poissons de récif comme des poissons-papillons, des balistes, des empereurs et des napoléons. Les crevasses et les surplombs sont de formidables terrains de jeu pour trouver d’autres espèces sous-marines, et le grand bleu juste à côté permet la visite de thons et de barracudas. Les sites de plongée de Lhaviyani dans les passes permettent d’observer des requins de récif, moins présents que dans les atolls du Centre et du Sud.

      Les pinacles de l’atoll de Raa abritent également une densité et une diversité de faune marine impressionnante. Les plongeurs cherchant à approfondir leurs connaissances des poissons n’auront pas de quoi s’ennuyer tant les espèces sont nombreuses. Les sites Fenfushi Giri et Reethi Thila sont les deux sites de plongée les plus connus. Les crevasses et les surplombs sont communs dans l’atoll de Raa, et les plongeurs peuvent s’y amuser à trouver des poissons-soldats et poissons-écureuils, et même des napoléons.

      Les amateurs de requins trouveront leur bonheur en plongeant dans l’atoll de Noonu. Le site d’Orimas Thila possède une passe remplie de requins-gris de récif, des juvéniles aux adultes de plus de trois mètres de long. L’atoll de Noonu a également une topographie sous-marine unique. À Christmas Tree Rock, le récif a une étrange forme d’arbre de Noël remplie de poissons colorés dans des nuances roses, jaunes et bleues et de requins de récif. On y observe également souvent des pélagiques. Ce site est pour beaucoup de plongeurs le plus beau des sites des atolls du Nord.

      Les atolls du Grand Nord, Haa Alifu et Haa Dhalu deviennent de très sérieux concurrents en terme de beauté des fonds marins dans les atolls du Nord. Peu de croisières plongée s’aventurent jusqu’au nord des Maldives, mais celles qui y vont sont largement récompensées par l’observation de mantas et de requins en quantité, ainsi que de jardins de coraux mous exceptionnels avec une visibilité parfaite. Les plongeurs qui apprécient la plongée sous-marine aux Maldives feraient mieux de ne pas tarder à réserver leur safari plongée dans les atolls du Grand Nord avant que ses tombants et ses pinacles ne soient trop fréquentés.

      INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES

      Une taxe écologique de 6 USD par personne et par nuit a récemment été mise en place aux Maldives. La langue officielle est le Maldivien, ou Dhivehi.

      Apportez votre masque, vos bottillons, vos palmes ainsi que votre ordinateur de plongée. Nous ne recommandons pas de les louer. Un masque ou des palmes mal ajustés peuvent rendre la plongée impossible, et l’ordinateur de plongée est indispensable pour votre sécurité.

      ATOLLS DU NORD: COMMENT Y ALLER

      Comme pour le reste des Maldives, la croisière plongée est le meilleur moyen d’explorer les atolls du Nord. Impossible autrement d’accéder à autant de sites de plongée, aussi loin des terres et autour d’îles inhabitées. Les itinéraires des croisières dans les atolls du Nord durent de 7 à 10 nuits avec un budget variant entre 200 et 400 euros par nuit. Certains s’arrêtent dans des atolls du Centre comme à Malé, Ari, Vaavu et d’autres passent l’intégralité de l'itinéraire au nord.

      La plupart des croisières pour les atolls du Nord partent de Malé. Certaines partent depuis Hanimadhoo à Haa Dhalu ou depuis Baa (aussi appelé Dharavandhoo). Baa et Hanimadhoo se rejoignent en hydravion depuis Malé. On se rend facilement à Malé avec des vols directs depuis Dubaï, Singapour et Colombo. Les vols venant de plus loin font souvent escale dans ces aéroports.

      Il est possible de plonger toute l’année dans les atolls du Nord mais l’océan peut être agité entre mai et novembre, durant la mousson du sud-ouest. Les meilleures conditions sont réunies de décembre à avril. Mais les mantas et les requins-baleines sont davantage présents entre août et novembre, donc si vous rêvez de rencontrer ces géants, c’est à cette période qu’il faut réserver. Dans les atolls du Nord, la température de l’eau est entre 27°C et 30°C et la visibilité entre 10 et 30 mètres.

      Aurores boréales Avis sur les plongées

      8,4
      Très bien (sur 10) 10
      Note moyenne pour 3 Avis vérifié(s) Seules les personnes ayant réservé et voyagé à travers Liveaboard.com peuvent écrire un avis.
      Gagnez du temps! Inscrivez-vous et nous vous enverrons les meilleures offres de la semaine

      Merci pour votre inscription - vous voulez encore plus d'offres? suivez-nous sur facebook

Northern Atolls Liveaboard Diving

Orion

from US$ 257 / day
8.8 "Fabulous"

MaldivesUS$1,608 from

  • Free Nitrox

Emperor Orion Maldives has 10 cabins & 2 lavish suites onboard. Jacuzzi and massage available. All diving takes place from a large tender dhoni allowing for much greater space on the liveaboard

    Orion

    Virgo

    from US$ 133 / day
    8.6 "Fabulous"

    MaldivesUS$1,072 from

    • Free Nitrox

    The Emperor Virgo is a luxury floating resort. She has eight comfortable cabins with en-suite bathrooms & individual climate control. The Virgo Maldives schedules diving cruises from August through May.

      Virgo

      Carpe Vita

      from US$ 304 / day
      9.6 "Exceptional"

      MaldivesUS$2,440 from

      The Carpe Vita is a 38m yacht with 10 cabins accommodating 20 guests. She visits Kudarah Thila, Manta Point, Maaya Thila, Fish Head, and Machafushi wreck.

      Carpe Vita

      What To Expect On A Northern Atolls Liveaboard

      Northern Atoll liveaboards take divers to the large expanse of ocean north of Maldives' Central Atolls which opened to liveaboard diving in the not-too-distant past. Visitors can enjoy the quintessential Maldives diving experience without the crowds. The Northern Atolls contain some dive sites that are famous throughout the country for unique and special characteristics or reef inhabitants. However, the area is equally recognized for offering a high-quality, well-rounded underwater scene, with abundant reef fish, interactive topography, and blue-water visitors.

      Northern Atolls Underwater

      Liveaboard dive cruises to the Northern Atolls is diverse. It's got pinnacles, channels, walls, and bays. The marine life that surrounds you as you descend from your dive dhoni will probably be equally diverse. Some areas are known for large and plentiful reef fish, and some get regular visits from mantas and other pelagics. Sharks have their special spots within Noonu, Lhaviyani, and the Far North Atolls. In addition, the Northern Atolls hold many sites with particularly unique topography, making for memorable dives, either because of the quantity and variety of interactive features, or because the reef simply looks unlike any other.

      Dive Areas Of The Northern Atolls

      Due to the variety of dive sites and atolls available to divers a Maldives dive liveaboard is the best option to explore the area.

      Baa Atoll
      is known for having loads and loads of fish, great variety of species, interactive topography, and good manta-viewing. Baa also lays claim to one of the Northern Atolls unique offerings: a famous underwater landscape of blue, green, and yellow soft corals at the dive site Maavaru Kandu. Dive cruises visit Baa's various channels and pinnacles for the chance to mix seriously impressive fish biomass with fun swim-throughs and overhangs. To top it off, Baa's World Biosphere Reserve Hanifaru Bay offers an incomparable sight from May through December: huge aggregations of manta rays and whale sharks going wild in a plankton-eating frenzy.

      Lhaviyani Atoll offers a wall dive called Madivaru, known for abundance and variety of reef fishes, including multiple butterflyfish species, triggers, emperors, and Napoleon wrasse. The crevices and overhangs of Madivaru's vertical topography present great opportunities to check for additional reef life, while the adjacent blue water often offers tuna and barracuda. Dive sites in Lhaviyani's channels are good spots for finding reef sharks, which are rarer in the Northern Atolls than in the Central and Southern Atolls.

      Raa Atoll's pinnacles, like Baa Atoll dive sites, host impressive fish biomass and diversity. Divers who like to know and study their fish will enjoy the sheer variety of species at Raa, made even more exciting by their abundance. Fenfushi Giri and Reethi Thila are the two most famous sites; divers here have a good chance of being absolutely surrounded by fish. Crevices and overhangs are common at Raa, like in many areas of the Northern Atolls, and divers should be sure to explore them for soldierfish and squirrelfish, and even Napoleon wrasse.

      Shark-lovers in the Northern Atolls will be happy to dive at Noonu Atoll. At a dive site called Orimas Thila, there is a channel where grey reef sharks swarm in communities of twenty or more, from small juveniles to adults over three meters long. Noonu Atoll also claims a star for unique topography; at Christmas Tree Rock, large, life-encrusted shelves are ornamented with colorful dancing fish in vibrant shades of pink, yellow, and blue. The Christmas tree imagery is uncanny, and the resting reef sharks and pelagic visitors further recommend this site to divers, many of whom cite it as one of their favorite Northern Atolls dive sites.

      Lastly, the Far North Atolls, namely Haa Alifu and Haa Dhalu, are serious contenders for the best Northern Atolls underwater sights. Hardly any liveaboards make it all the way north to these atolls at the top of the Maldives, but those who do are rewarded with plentiful mantas, loads of sharks, some hard coral gardens, and incredible visibility. Serious Maldives divers should consider booking a liveaboard dive cruise to the Far North's walls and pinnacles before it gets too crowded.

      Top Tips For Divers

      In the Maldives, a new Green Tax of 6 USD per person per night applies for every tourist in the country. The official language is Maldivian, also called Dhivehi.

      Gear to bring includes your own mask, booties, fins, and dive computer. These are personalized pieces of equipment which we donít recommend renting. An ill-fitting mask or pair of fins can make diving virtually impossible, and a dive computer is your most-important piece of safety equipment.

      Getting To The Northern Atolls

      Like anywhere in the Maldives, the Northern Atolls are best dived by liveaboard; in no other way can you access so many dive sites, often near uninhabited islands or far from land. The length of most Maldives liveaboard itineraries in the Northern Atolls ranges from 7 to 10 nights, with budgets from 200 to 400 euros per night. Some trips include Central Atolls destinations like Male, Ari, and Vaavu, and others spend all their time in the North.

      Many Northern Atolls liveaboards depart from Male. However, some depart from Hanimadhoo on Haa Dhalu or from Baa (also called Dharavandhoo). Baa and Hanimadhoo can be reached by domestic sea plane from Male. Male is easily reached by direct flights from Dubai, Singapore, and Colombo. Longer international flights from Europe, America, China, India, and Australia are all readily available, often connecting through the airports mentioned above.

      Northern Atolls dive area can be visited year-round, though the southwest monsoon from May to November sometimes makes the seas a bit choppy; December to April is the season with the best conditions. However, the mantas and whale sharks are most plentiful from August to November, so consider a trip during that time of year if the giants are your number one priority. In the Northern Atolls, the water temperature usually ranges from 27-30 C and visibility from 10-30 meters.

      Northern Atolls Diving Reviews

      8.2
      Very good (out of 10) 10
      Average score from 2 Verified Review(s) Only people who have booked through Liveaboard.com and joined the Liveaboard can write a review.
      Germany
      8.0
      Very good

      Great!

      Diving Northern Atolls in August on the Adora Liveaboard
      Canada
      8.4
      Very good

      Stunning, with tons of fish!

      Diving Northern Atolls in August on the Blue Voyager
      Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

      Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook