Gerätetauchen auf den Kokos Inseln

Taucher erwartet auf den, im Pazifik gelegenen, Kokos Inseln einen außergewöhnlichen, beispiellosen Abenteuerspielplatz. Tauchen Sie gemeinsam mit Schwärmen von Hammerhaien, Mantarochen, Walhaien, bedrohten Meeresschildkröten, Buckelwalen und vielen anderen Meeresbewohnern.

Die unbewohnten und zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe erklärten Kokos Inseln befinden sich 550 km westlich der Pazifikküste Costa Ricas auf halbem Wege zu den Galapagos Inseln. Gehen Sie an Bord einer Tauchsafari Tauchreise und entdecken sie die abgelegenen Inseln mit deren üppiger Artenvielfalt an Land sowie unter Wasser.

Tauchreisen zu den Kokos Inseln sind dank der reichhaltigen Inselgeschichte voller Piraten, Walfänger, Sklaven und deutsche Abenteurer eines der Top-Reiseziele für Taucher weltweit. Erkunden sie auf den 3 - 4 täglich stattfindenden Tauchgängen die unterseeischen Felsen sowie eine lebendige Unterwasserwelt.

4 Tauchsafaris in Kokos Inseln

    Okeanos Aggressor

    von US$ 444 / Tag
    9,3 "Hervorragend"

    Costa RicaUS$444 von

    Die 33m lange MV Okeanos Aggressor segelt das ganze Jahr über zu den Kokosinseln. 22 Gäste können auf 10 Kabinen aufgeteilt werden, die mit eigenem Bad, Fenster und Klimaanlage ausgestattet sind.

      Okeanos Aggressor

      Sea Hunter

      von US$ 512 / Tag
      8,5 "Klasse"

      Costa RicaUS$512 von

      • Kostenloses Nitrox

      Das 35m lange Safariboot MV Sea Hunter hat eine stabile Tauchplattform und bietet somit komfortable Tauchreisen zu den Kokosinseln in Costa Rica. Die 10 Kabinen haben ein eigenes Bad und Klimaanlage.

        Sea Hunter

        Argo

        von US$ 571 / Tag

        Costa RicaUS$571 von

        • Kostenloses Nitrox

        Entdecken Sie die abgelegenen Kokosinseln an Bord der 40m langen Luxusyacht MV Argo. Bis zu 18 Gäste können bequem auf 9 Kabinen aufgeteilt werden, die mit individueller Klimaanlage ausgestattet sind.

        Argo

        DIE UNTERWASSERWELT DER KOKOS INSELN

        Die Riffe, die unterseeische Vulkanlandschaft und das nährstoffreiche Wasser, welche die Insel umgeben, sind Heimat für über 300 Fischarten (einschließlich 25 endemische Arten, wie z.B. Rot-Lippen-Seefledermäuse), Korallen und Krebstiere. Jedoch sind es vor allem die erstaunlich hohe Anzahl an Meeresgiganten, welche das Tauchen vor den Kokos Inseln so berühmt gemacht hat.

        Mai bis November ist die beste Zeit um riesige Schwärme von Bogenstirn-Hammerhaien bei Tauchgängen zu beobachten und die beste Zeit die Giganten der Meere, die sogenannten Walhaie, zu sichten, ist von Mai bis August.

        Mantarochen halten sich in den warmen Gewässern in der Zeit von November bis Mai auf, während riesige Schwärme von Gelbflossen-Thunfischen, Fächer- und Speerfische das ganze Jahr über beobachtet werden können.

        Buckelwale, Grindwale und Delfine ziehen ganzjährig an den Inseln vorbei und eine Auswahl an Meeresschildkröten, einschließlich echte Karett-, Suppen- und Oliv-Bastardschildkröten kann ebenfalls bestaunt werden.

        DIE BESTEN TAUCHGRÜNDE DER KOKOS INSELN

        Manuelita Coral Garden wird meist als erstes Tauchrevier auf einer Tauchsafari angesteuert. Das Gebiet hat eine überwiegend ruhige See vorzuweien. Die Korallengärten reichen bis zu einer Tiefe von 21 m hinab und sind bieten u.a. zahlreichen tropischen Fischen, Hummern, Aalen und größeren Meeresbewohnern wie den Schwarzspitzenhaie, Meeresschildkröten, Adlerrochen, Hammerhaien und gelegentlich anzutreffenden Tigerhaien eine Heimat. Und als wäre das alles nicht genug können Sie auf spektakulären Nachttauchgängen die riesigen Schwärme von Weißspitzenhaie beobachten, wie sie auf Nahrungssuche pfeilschnell durch die Gewässer schießen.

        Bajo Alcyone ist DER Tauchgrund um mit hunderten von Bogenstirn-Hammerhaien zu tauchen. Die Taucher begeben sich auf eine Tiefe von 25m hinab und werden an der Spitze des unterseeischen Berges, inmitten der starken Strömung, von Hammerhaien geradewegs umzingelt. Halten Sie außerdem Ausschau nach weiteren Besuchern an diesem Tauchgrund, wie Manta- und Mobularochen oder frei umher schwimmende Muränen.

        Der aus spitzen Felsnadeln und vulkanischen Felsblöcken bestehende Dirty Rock ist ein weiterer exzellenter Tauchgrund der Kokos Inseln. Entdecken sie die unglaubliche Vielzahl an Hammer-, Seidenhaien, Adlerrochen und gewaltige Schwärme von Thunfischen sowie gelegentlich auftauchende Walhaie.

        Silverado ist eine herrlich seichter Tauchgrund mit einer 2m hohen Felsnadel im Zentrum. Silberspitzenhaien warten hier duldsam, um einen Platz in der ‘Cleaning-Station’ zu erhalten. Taucher beobachten das Schauspiel aus einer Tiefe von 13 m, vom sandigen Meeresboden, aus.

        Südöstlich der Küste der Kokos Inseln befindet sich Submerged Rock. Wie der Name schon vermuten lässt ruht der Felsblock nahe der Wasseroberfläche und stellt eine bekannte Gefahr für auflaufende Boote dar. Dieser unterseeische Tafelberg bietet Tauchern eine farbenfrohe Tauch Kulisse mit einem kleinem Felsbogen, den es zu durchschwimmen gilt. Entdecken Sie Thunfische, Hammerhaie, Mobularochen und oftmals auch schwangere Weißspitzenhaie mit deren Nachkommen.

        BESTE REISEZEIT FÜR DIE KOKOS INSELN

        Das Wetter auf den Inseln ist ganzjährig tropisch-feucht. Dank der täglichen Regenschauer bietet sich den Gästen ein üppiger, immergrüner Regenwald. Die Außentemperaturen betragen 33°C im Sommer (Mai - November) und fallen im Winter auf 27°C ab.

        Auch wenn die Wassertemperatur das ganze Jahr über ziemlich konstant ist (26°C - 28°C im Sommer und 24°C - 26°C Winter), können aufgrund aufsteigenden Tiefenwassers, die Temperaturen je Tauchgrund variieren. Um den 3 bis 5 mm dicken Neoprenanzug zu komplettieren wird den Gästen geraten, Neoprenschuhe, -haube(Kopfbedeckung) und -handschuhe mit zu führen.

        Die besten Sichtweiten herrschen in den trockenen Monaten zwischen Dezember und April vor (bis zu 25 m). Die Strömungen sind in diesen Monaten sanftmütig und bieten Tauchern die Möglichkeit, die eindrucksvolle Artenvielfalt zu bestaunen. Trotzdem bevorzugen zahlreiche Taucher die Monate zwischen Mai und November, wenn Meeresbedingungen rauer und die Sichtweiten geringer sind, da in diesem Zeitraum hunderte von Bogenstirn-Hammerhaien beobachtet werden können.

        Walhaie bevölkern die Gegend von Mai bis August und die beste Chance mit Mantarochen zu schwimmen haben Sie in der Zeit von November bis Mai. Zu Beginn eines jeden Jahres ziehen Buckel- und Grindwale an der Insel vorbei.

        WIEVIEL ERFAHRUNG WIRD BENÖTIGT UM AUF DEN KOKOS INSELN ZU TAUCHEN

        Aufgrund der Meeresströmungen und Tiefen-Wirbel sowie der allgemeinen Tiefe der Tauchgründe kann das Tauchen auf den Kokos Inseln zur Herausforderung werden. Einige Tauchsafari Anbieter fordern von ihren Gästen mindestens ein Advanced-Open-Water-Zertifikat sowie eine Mindestanzahl von 50 geloggten Tauchgängen. Aber selbst für Anfänger und Open-Water-Diver gibt es viele Möglichkeiten in den Gewässern von Costa Rica und vielleicht entscheiden Sie sich für ein Advanced-Open-Water Kurs während ihrer Reise.

        ANREISE ZU DEN KOKOS INSELN

        Die einzige Möglichkeit die Unterwasserwelt der Kokos Inseln zu erkunden ist mittels Costa Rica Tauchsafari. Die Anreise nach Costa Rica erfolgt über den ‘Juan Santamaria Airport’(SJO), welcher 17 km nordwestlich der Landeshauptstadt San Jose gelegen ist.

        Melden Sie sich an und erhalten Sie wöchentliche Angebote per E-Mail

        Sie haben sich angemeldet - brauchen Sie mehr Infos? Folgen Sie uns auf Facebook

Scuba diving in the Cocos Islands

The scuba diving in Cocos Island is nothing short of exceptional, with unparalleled shark experiences in a Pacific playground for schooling hammerheads, manta rays, whale sharks, endangered sea turtles, humpback whales, and so much more.

A UNESCO World Heritage site, the uninhabited Cocos Island, 550km (340 miles) west of the Pacific shore of Costa Rica, and halfway to the Galapagos Islands, offers divers unadulterated marine splendor. Liveaboard dive trips from mainland Costa Rica allow divers access to this remote, yet abundant, island brimming with diversity both above and below the ocean waves.

With a colouful history of pirates, whalers, Tongan slaves and German adventurers, scuba diving at the Cocos Islands is now firmly on the world map as a top diving destination, filled with the promise of diving as many as 3 or 4 dives per day, exploring ocean pinnacles amid waters practically exploding with sea life.

On shore, the island is also crammed with species of plants and animals found nowhere else on earth. Insects and birds, including the famous Cocos Island Cuckoo, flit through dense rainforest, only broken up by the many rivers and waterfalls that attracted so many passing sailors to stop in throughout history.

4 Liveaboards in Cocos

    Okeanos Aggressor

    from US$ 444 / day
    9.3 "Superb"

    Costa RicaUS$444 from

    The 33m MV Okeanos Aggressor offers year-round dive cruises to Cocos Island. Up to 22 divers can be accommodated within 10 luxury staterooms, each with a private bath and shower, port window and AC.

      Okeanos Aggressor

      Sea Hunter

      from US$ 512 / day
      8.5 "Fabulous"

      Costa RicaUS$512 from

      • Free Nitrox

      The purpose built 35m liveaboard, the MV Sea Hunter, is an extremely stable platform for divers, offering comfortable voyages to Cocos Island, Costa Rica. The 10 cabins feature AC and an en-suite.

        Sea Hunter

        Argo

        from US$ 571 / day

        Costa RicaUS$571 from

        • Free Nitrox

        Discover the remote, pristine Island of Cocos aboard the 40m luxury yacht, the MV Argo. Up to 18 guests can be comfortably accommodated in 9 stateroom cabins, each with individual climate control.

        Argo

        Marine Life In the Cocos Islands

        The reefs, submerged volcanic landscapes, and deep, nutrient-filled ocean waters around Cocos Island are home to over 300 species of fish (including more than 25 endemic species such as the striking, rosy-lipped batfish), corals, and crustaceans, but it's the astonishing volume of pelagic life that has made scuba diving in Cocos Island world famous.

        May to November is the best time for diving with the huge schools of scalloped hammerhead sharks, while the biggest fish in the sea, the whale shark, only hang around from May to August, feeding off the local plankton.

        Manta rays enjoy the waters for the other half of the year, from November to May, but, really, any time of year is good for checking out the huge populations of yellowfin tuna, marlin and sailfish

        Throughout the year humpbacks, pilot whales and dolphins can be spotted passing through the region, as well as a variety of turtles, including hawksbill, green and olive ridley turtles.

        Best Dive Sites in Cocos Island

        Manuelita Coral Garden is often the first dive spot on Cocos Island trips. With generally calm ocean conditions, the garden ranges in depth from 6 to 21 meters (20 - 70 feet) filled with numerous tropical fish, lobsters, eels, as well as the big stuff such as black and white tip sharks, turtles, eagle rays, hammerheads, and even the occasional tiger shark. If that weren't impressive enough already, a night dive here boasts massive schools of white tip sharks weaving through coral formations in search of food.

        For scuba diving with hundreds of scalloped hammerhead sharks, Bajo Alcyone cannot be beat. Positioning themselves at 25 meters (82 feet) atop a massive, undersea mountain, divers hang on amid the strong currents as they are practically swarmed by hammerheads, while enjoying visitors to the local cleaning station including mantas and mobula rays, and keeping their eyes open for passing free-swimming moray eels.

        Consisting of rock pinnacles and volcanic boulders that break the surface of the Pacific, Dirty Rock is also one of the best dive sites in Cocos Island for checking out an unbelievable volume of schooling hammerheads sharks, as well as silkies, eagle rays, immense schools of jacks and the occasional whale shark.

        Silverado is a wonderfully shallow dive site off Cocos Island where silver tip reef sharks seem to line up patiently for their turn at the local cleaning station on top of a two-meter-high pinnacle. Divers relax on the sandy bottom at 13 meters (40 feet) and watch the shark action unfold before them.

        Off the southeast coast of Cocos Island, Submerged Rock, as its name implies, sits just below the surface, only visible from above at certain times, and presenting a well-known hazard for boats. This flat-topped pinnacle offer divers colourful scenery and a small, arched swim through abounding with a manner of tropical, tuna, hammerheads, mobula rays and often pregnant mother white tip sharks with their miniature offspring.

        Best Time To Dive in the Cocos Islands

        The weather on Cocos Island is humid and tropical all year long, with plenty of rain showers to keep the island eternally lush and green, and temperatures on average around 33C (92F) during the summer months of May to November dropping to around 27C (82F) in the winter, or invierno.Although the island still has a wet and a dry season like mainland Costa Rica, it rains pretty much most days.

        Water temperatures are fairly consistent throughout the year, only changing by a degree or two from summer to winter, staying in the range of 24-28C (76-82F). But because the island is basically out in the middle of the deep Pacific waters, temperatures can also vary from site to site and thermoclines are common, so many people diving in Cocos Island bring along a hood, gloves and booties to compliment their 3 to 5 mm long wetsuit.

        Visibility at dive sites is best during the drier months of December through April (up to 25 meters / 85 feet), and currents generally at their gentlest, offering divers the chance to see an impressive array of marine species. But most divers opt for the more challenging ocean conditions and lower visibility encountered from May to November for their Cocos Island dive trip, as they're here to see the schools of hundreds of scalloped hammerhead sharks.

        Along with these stars of the Cocos Island show, Whale Sharks are also in residence from May to August, while diving during the months of November to May increases the chance communing with Manta Rays. The New Year brings migratory humpback and pilot whales into the area.

        Experience Level for diving in the Cocos Islands

        The scuba diving in Cocos Island can be challenging thanks to ocean currents, surge and deep diving, and some liveaboards ask for divers to be certified Advanced Open Water with 50 logged dives, but there are plenty of opportunities for diving in Costa Rica as an open water diver, or even just snorkeling, and availability to upgrade to an advanced certification during your dive trip. In addition, divers have the chance to dive nitrox and rebreathers.

        How Do I Get To Cocos Islands

        The easiest and most comfortable way to scuba dive the Cocos Islands is from a Costa Rica liveaboard. The main airport serving international arrivals into Costa Rica is Juan Santamaria Airport (SJO), 17km (11 miles) northwest of the country's capital of San Jose, but quite a few Canadian and US airlines are now also flying into the norther airport in Liberia - Daniel Oduber Airport (LIR).

        From either entry airport, it's about a 2 hour ride through the farmlands and plush native jungle to the port city of Puntarenas, the main jumping off point for scuba diving liveaboards in the Cocos Islands. Sailing from Puntarenas, liveaboards sail overnight 32-36 hours out to the spectacularly remote Cocos Island to discover the incredible wonders this unique dive area has to offer.

        Sign up now and get weekly deals in your inbox

        Thank you for joining - want more deals? follow us on facebook